Peterborough City Hospital

Telephone: 01733 678000
Address: Edith Cavell Campus, Bretton Gate, Bretton, Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, PE3 9GZ
Website: http://www.peterboroughandstamford.nhs.uk

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 140 ratings for this hospital

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 140 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(140 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(142 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(143 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(138 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(114 ratings)

Reviews

206 total

Anonymous gave Orthopaedics at Peterborough City Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Good but oh so much staff chatter and noise at shift change!

The ward seemed to run smoothly during my stay with the exception of morning shift changeovers. Oh the noise! What seemed like endless excited personal chatter and too long for staff to settle down into their shift! Otherwise the shifts seemed to run fairly smoothly with efficient and caring staff, but during the changeover call buttons were not answered for long periods, mine for over 45 minutes, necessitating going against advice and moving myself to the bathroom rather than waiting for help, having settled back on my bed in day clothes before anyone came to see me and not because there were no available staff, they were just too absorbed in their personal lives and holiday plans to hear the bells above the noise created.
Only other problem was a very loud and demanding patient who screamed and swore and sobbed beginning at any and every quiet time, disrupting all the other patients and from what I heard and saw, had staff scared to attend her, though mostly there were numerous staff in attention for long periods. Perhaps such a disruptive and attention seeking patient unsettling both staff and other pateints should have been moved off a ward where everyone is going through very difficutl and painful recoveries? The patient was attended for about an hour to indulge in a very long shower, boasting loudly in the common area outside rooms of all the beauty treatments she had indulged in with donated toiletries, forgetting the pain which had her screaming and swearing the rest of the time! I gave up waiting for someone to help me wash my back and got a relative to do this for me at visiting time. My advice is to scream and swear and sob and get agressive and threatening and you will get 5 star personal attention! ( mind I thought the hospital said such behaviour will not be tolerated........?) Don't be dignified pateint who waits quietly for a call for pain relief to be answered in the knowledge you will be one of many- just go for it, get loud and aggressvie and it will become your ward!
Otherwise I was very impressed by the thoroughness of the girl who cleaned my room, the friendliness of the waiter and the standard of care given by the HCAs. The night staff were efficient and kind in particular and did their best in the difficulties caused by the disruptive pateint, not once criticising or complaining about their conflicts in dealing with all patients ( though could be overheard doing so in the corridor) in their care whilst trying to help the disruptive one in turn. Plenty of other staff and doctors were summoned to the disruptive one and stayed with her for very long periods, so no one can say the problem was not under discussion, but as a patient I was so so pleased to get home and escape another night of her disruption.

Visited in August 2014. Posted on 17 August 2014

Report as unsuitable

Peterborough City Hospital has not yet replied.

Jane gave General Surgery at Peterborough City Hospital a rating of 5 stars

A and E and ward A3

I was admitted to A and E with a sceptic abdomen. The care I received in A and E was exceptional. They were efficient, caring and kept me informed of what was happening to me. Admission to hospital is always a scary thing, but I felt safe and looked after in this environment. Thank you everyone, staff levels are obviously stretched, but on this occasion it did not detract from my care. This is a true reflection of the professionalism of the staff involved.
I was admitted to Ward A3. Once again my care was exemplary. All of the team kept me fully informed of my condition and what needed to be done. My stay lasted 2 and half weeks so a lot of patience was needed on both sides! All medical staff were caring and understanding and very professional.
The nursing staff were brilliant! They too were obviously stretched at times, but their caring attitude and compassion was much appreciated. They also gave me a few good laughs at times, greatly needed! I cannot thank them all enough.
If this gets read, please pass on to the departments and staff involved. People are so quick to complain, that hopefully something positive feedback will help them to carry on the amazing work they do. Thank you once again .

Visited in July 2014. Posted on 12 August 2014

Report as unsuitable

Peterborough City Hospital has not yet replied.

Cooper gave Accident and emergency services at Peterborough City Hospital a rating of 4 stars

wonderful

My elderly father was admitted twice in a week due to mini strokes,then a 3rd time in the same week with two infections.I cannot praise the staff in Aand E and also Ward A9 highly enough.They all went the extra mile to make sure myDad was treated with dignity and care.He is still there,but I know he is in wonderful hands even though they are under so much pressure with the the amount of staff they have.Well done every one and Thank you.

Visited in August 2014. Posted on 09 August 2014

Report as unsuitable

Peterborough City Hospital has not yet replied.

Damo667 gave Accident and emergency services at Peterborough City Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Treatment of my best friend.

My best friend suffers with asthma she was struggling for breath, inhalers were not helping so she went to a and e waited to see somebody and they told her she was having a panic attack. She pleaded with them to give her a nebuliser but they refused and sent her home. About 3 hours later that evening she was worse and could no longer string more than a few words without struggling for breath. An ambulance was called and she was given back to back nebulisers of two different medications in the ambulance. They took her to boston. They went through their list of checks and determined there was nothing wrong. Big mistake they didn't do a blood gas. If they had they would've seen straight away her blood co2 through the roof and she would've never got close to the point I'm about to explain. They discharged her at 5.30am after she fell over trying to stand, couldn't pull herself up from the floor and the nurses response was 'now you're just being silly aren't you'. She said she couldn't breathe. The nurse then said 'we've done everything (they hadn't done a blood has) what do you want us to do?' My best friend said find out what's wrong with me. The nurse tutted and walked off. About 11am the same morning she went to her gp he gave her more nebulisers back to back and he phoned an ambulance when they were ineffective. The ambulance took her back to Boston pilgrim as she didn't want to go near pch. She was put straight onto back to back nebulisers in a and e which were ineffective and finally a doctor decided to do a blood gas. They have their own test equipment next door in resus so within 45s of taking it they were back wheeling her into resus. Her body was basically suffocating itself slowly as she couldn't breathe out the co2. In the next few hours they gave her everything they had 3 times and at 9.30pm she was giving up and unresponsive in my arms. Itu wouldn't move her to incubate her because she was too unstable. I thought the end was coming but finally something clicked and she started to slowly perk up. At midnight they moved her to the critical care unit continuing back to back nebulisers and blood gas tests. She was also on pure oxygen throughout this. 2 days later she came off the critical list into high dependency then into a normal ward the day after and we brought her home that evening. She hasn't smoked since the problems started so some good has come from it. My experiences of it also made me realisei don't want her to see me like that (I've had kidney failiure since 2008) and I decided there and then to put myself forward for transplant. Her lungs are permanently scarred and won't fully recover. Had Peterborough done a blood gas and gave her the proper care she should've had they would've cured it and not got close to the point she did. Thank god she pulled through.

Visited in January 2014. Posted on 06 August 2014

Report as unsuitable

Peterborough City Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Peterborough City Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Lower Jaw Surgery

My son has recently had lower jaw surgery and the care and professionalism shown to him has been great. Every member of staff from the first consultation almost a year and half ago right through to his operation and the days that followed have been approachable, helpful and extremely efficient at what they do.

We have also had elderly family members admitted over the last couple of years and they too have had a good experience.

Obviously there are problems from time to time and the press are very willing to publicise them but credit where credit is due our experience has been a really good one and we would really recommend Peterborough Hospital.

Special thanks goes to all in the Head and Neck Department and also to the nurses in ward A2.

Visited in August 2014. Posted on 05 August 2014

Report as unsuitable

Peterborough City Hospital has not yet replied.

Jo Gilbert gave Orthopaedics at Peterborough City Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Care for my daughter who has Downs Syndrome

When my daughter who has Downs fell and smashed both the bones in her leg
she was admitted to the Peterborough city Hospital.
She was given a large single room with on-suit facilities.But being an adult there was no provision for a carer to sleep in her room and she needed care 24 hours as she would not be left and needed constant attention which the nurses could not provide.
I spent several nights sleeping on a mattress on the floor which was VERY difficult for me as I had both my knee joints replaced and find it very difficult to get from so low a position. There should be some better provision for carers in this situation as we save the nurses hours of work,
The medical care for my daughter was excellent and we could not praise the surgeon enough for the skill and care. The surgeon made a fantastic repair of a very damaged leg needing complex procedures, and she is now walking again. We cannot thank them enough for what he achieved.

This was also the surgeon who operated on my knees earlier in the Edith Cavell Hospital .The surgery was carried out on both knees at the same time and has proved very satisfactory.

Visited in August 2012. Posted on 28 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Peterborough City Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Peterborough City Hospital a rating of 5 stars

operation on hand

My husband was admitted through a&e all I can say is from the moment we arrived to after his operation the care and treatment he received was second to none they are doing a great job the place was clean tidy, staff very helpful. He is home know resting thank you to all on b5
The nurses there are great, carry on the good hard work you are all doing.

Visited in July 2014. Posted on 27 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Peterborough City Hospital has not yet replied.

lisia harvey reviewed Accident and emergency services at Peterborough City Hospital

absolutley the worst place ever

I went to a & e last night for my eye i was sat waiting for three hours people who had been there ten minutes where going through before me there was a lady who had cancer her doctor called to tell them she was coming they made the poor ladt wait for over three hours its a disgrace i had ago at them and walked out there system is complete waste of time the staff are rude i am putting in a offical complant about them. Do not reccamend.

Visited in July 2014. Posted on 22 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Peterborough City Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Peterborough City Hospital a rating of 5 stars

A and e department

I visited A and E today with my 90 year old mother after she had a fall. I cannot thank the staff enough for their care and attention. From the porters, ambulance staff, nurses, doctors, fall assessment team, social services, do I need to go on. Not only did they treat my Mum with respect but went out of their way to make her feel at ease. She even had a quick kiss goodbye to the assessment gentleman. Many thanks for making her day end much happier than it started xxx

Visited in July 2014. Posted on 09 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Peterborough City Hospital has not yet replied.

Matt C gave Gastrointestinal and Liver services at Peterborough City Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Gall Bladder via ED

I had 2 overnight stays at this hospital recently after suffering from Cholecystitis (inflammation of the gallbladder) and ultimately resulting in surgery.

Outstanding Hospital - the staff were second to none, friendly and professional.

The only slight criticism I had was that I had very little information during my first stay, I didn't really know what had happened to me and what to expect. Perhaps a leaflet could be given to patients to explain their situation.

Visited in April 2014. Posted on 02 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Peterborough City Hospital has not yet replied.