Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus

0115 924 9924 Derby Road , Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, NG7 2UH
http://www.nuh.nhs.uk

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 339 ratings for this hospital

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 339 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(334 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(341 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(338 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(338 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(264 ratings)

Reviews

474 total

Grateful relative xxx reviewed Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus

Without exception everyone was kind and caring

My husband had an op today ad came home feeling well cared for by the attentive and kind staff. Without exception everyone was kind and caring, provided him with tea, biscuits, sandwiches and called a taxi for him so he could go home. The attention to detail was extraordinary with many checks to ensure safety. I am so grateful to the brilluant staff who, because of their prompt action, have saved his sight in that eye. Needless to say I am extremely grateful and cannot thank you all enough, or praise you highly enough. Thank you

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 02 August 2017 using Care Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus replied on 03 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to get in touch. I’m pleased to hear that you felt that your husband was well cared for and hope he is recovering well following his surgery.

Thank you once again for your kind message, which I have shared with staff.

Best wishes to you both,

Sue Mazengarb.

ENT Sister.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Ear, Nose & Throat at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus a rating of 1 stars

Operation

I have been waiting since march for a thyroid removal operation , initially being told this would be in mid April . Eventually I got a date for today 11th August . I rang the hospital as requested to see if a bed was available and was told , yes come in . I arrived at the hospital and was taken to the ward . A nurse admitted me and got me gowned up and ready for my op . The anaesthetist then came and told me what would be happening . A little later the surgeon came and told me my operation would have to be cancelled , as there was no theatre staff for the afternoon . Why go to the trouble of getting me all prepared and then cancel . Surely the must have known there would be no staff . I have been in pain with this for months now and thought it was finally going to be over .. to say I am disappointed is an understatement .. I am meeting with the surgeon next week to sort something out , but my trust in the NHS and this hospital is nil at the moment

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 11 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus replied on 11 August 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your surgery was cancelled so late in the day. This can happen for a number of reasons, for example someone needing emergency surgery, and is only done when absolutely necessary. Please contact the patient experience team so we can look into this further. They can be contacted on: 0115 924 9924 ext. 66623 alternatively you can email QMCPET@nuh.nhs.uk.

Warm regards,
Adam Brooks, Divisional Director.

Report as unsuitable

John Humphreys gave Accident and emergency services at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus a rating of 4 stars

My trip to A&E

I had to attend the A&E at the QMC yesterday Sunday 14th August 2017.
I am in a wheelchair and needed to park in the disabled parking which my wife and I managed to find a space which is fantastic.
We were greeted at the A&E reception and advised that the wait would be around 45 minutes which is really quick. We went round to the waiting area to find that it was very busy, the first problem arose when I had to get through the waiting room door which was being held open by a bin. I had to place a wheel on the opening mechanism to get access as my wheelchair was bigger than the space to get through. We got through the door to find that the only place to wait for a wheelchair was at the side of the chairs in the way of others. A snotty nurse told me I was in the way and told me to wait near the desk.
I didn't move I stood my ground (Well sat my ground) my name got shouted and a nice nurse showed me the way to get round to the room I needed to get to.
We were met by a really nice pair of nurses/doctors who examined me and advised that I needed an x-ray. My wife and were showed the way by another nice nurse and I waited in x-ray for about 5 minutes then had that done and needed to go back and see the same doctor/nurse.
When we got back to the waiting room I asked a member of staff on the desk the best place for me to park and they asked who I originally saw and I said which cubicle. And as quick as that I was back in the cubicle.
I was advised that my problem wasn't serious and my hand wasn't broken which was great news.
Then we were advised that we were able to go.
All in all we were there probably there for about 90 minutes total, which was very fast in my opinion.
I would be grateful if this could be passed on to the people who dealt with me as they are a credit to the NHS A%E services.

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 14 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus replied on 15 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to get in touch to share details of your recent experience of your care in our Emergency Department (ED). I’m sorry to hear of the difficulties you experienced when entering the department and the way in which one nurse spoke to you. This really isn’t good enough. I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you about your experience so we can learn from this and address the issues you have raised. Please contact the patient experience team on 0115 924 9924 ext: 66623 alternatively you can email QMCPET@nuh.nhs.uk if you wish us to do so. I also note the many positive comments about our staff, which I will also share with the ED team.

Best wishes,
Jane Newton, Emergency Department Matron.

Report as unsuitable

Andrew Dodd gave Major trauma at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus a rating of 5 stars

My experiences of Ward C30 - Major Trauma

In June of 2017 I was unfortunate to have a motorcycle accident in France, resulting in serious injury. After twelve days in a wonderful hospital in France, I was transferred to Ward C30 at QMC.

In the following 19 days spent in C30 I felt such a sense of care and support, it felt uplifting and gave me a great sense of a positive outcome to the forthcoming many months of rehabilitation.

This was in no small part to the fabulous expertise of the consultants, doctors, surgeons, nurses, occupational therapists and physiotherapists who looked after me. I must also pay great compliment to the wonderful support staff who cleaned, fed, supported and befriended me - they were wonderful. You are all physicians of the soul as well as the body.

The experience left me feeling that despite my circumstances, I was blessed to have been in Ward C30. Call it serendipity or maybe just good fortune, but I felt I would not have been better looked after anywhere on this planet.

Thank you to all my new found friends at QMC, for your kindness, care and first class medical support. I will never forget what you did for me and you will all remain in my heart and mind for the rest of my days.

How lucky we are that live in Nottingham and surrounding area to have such an incredible facility within our reach.

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 03 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus replied on 04 August 2017

Thank you very much for this lovely feedback. It's good to know that you felt that we looked after you so well. I've shared your comments with all of my colleagues in major trauma. Wishing you well in your recovery.

Kind regards
Caroline Wise
Matron, Major Trauma & Orthopaedics

Report as unsuitable

Pam Parkin gave Neurosurgery at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus a rating of 5 stars

Sub arachnoid haemorrhage and subsequent embolisation

This is the second surgery I have had for the treatment of X 2 blood vessels in my brain.
I am most grateful for the treatment I was fortunate to receive from my consultant, who is amazing with both their consultation skills and also their radiological skills.I cannot praise my consultant highly enough and words won't cover the gratitude I feel.
The whole team are utterley brilliant and nothing is too much trouble.
At a time when the public are worried about the state of the nhs I can honestly say I could not have received better care anywhere in the country.
I congratulate the hospital on the most excellent delivery of care medical nursing domestic and administration.
Thank you most sincerely
Pamela Parkin

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 11 July 2017

Report as unsuitable

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus replied on 20 July 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience in our care Pamela. I am pleased that your consultant and his team took good care of you. I have passed on your feedback to all members of the team.

Best wishes,

Adam Brooks, Divisional Director

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus a rating of 5 stars

excellent care

i went to the emergency department twice within just over a week, ambulance came quickly and paramedics were good both times! all staff in the ED were caring and hardworking. they were easy to talk to and they ensured i knew everything regarding my care and what was being done, which was very good. everything was also very well coordinated - i had to have assessments done by the department of psychological medicine which was organised quickly. the nurse from the department of psychological medicine who assessed me was the same both times and was a credit to the department, very calm and understanding and they made sure i was involved in making decisions. the outcome of the later visit was that i was to be admitted to a psychiatric ward, and they made me and my family feel at ease during a very stressful time. overall, very happy with the care i received. thank you to all the staff in both the emergency department and department of psychological medicine.

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 20 July 2017

Report as unsuitable

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus replied on 21 July 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback. I’m pleased you’re so happy with each aspect of the care you received. I have shared your kind comments with my colleagues in the Emergency Department and with our partners at East Midlands Ambulance Service (EMAS) and Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust (who manage the Department of Psychological Medicine).

Thanks and best wishes,

Jane Newton.

Matron, Emergency Department.

Report as unsuitable

LTP59 reviewed Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus

Staff in A&E were truly amazing

My elderly mum was admitted to A&E yesterday with severe chest pains. The staff in A&E were truly amazing, and treated Mum with great sensitivity and respect. They showed kindness and managed to calm her down when she was agitated about her pain.
Throughout all the procedures and each member of a great team we met, without exception, they were all lovely. Mum remembers all of their names.
She was later admitted to ward B3. It was light, bright, modern and very clean and again we met your brilliant staff members, especially the Portugese nurse, whose name we didn't get. Thank you all for everything you did for Mum yesterday. It was a very worrying time for us but you managed to put us at our ease.

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 21 July 2017 using Care Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 24 July 2017

Thank you for your kind words, which I’ve shared them with the Emergency Department team and my colleagues on Ward B3. We’re glad to hear your mum was well cared for and that our staff put you at ease. Please pass on our best wishes to your mum.
Kind regards
Jane Newton
Matron, Emergency Department

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Anonymous reviewed Accident and emergency services at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus

Treatment of suspected broken ankle/leg bone

I badly sprained my ankle on Friday 2 June 2017 - my GP assured me no bones broken. Some weeks later I returned to the practice (on 13 July ) to be told I had broken a bone and I needed to make an "Emergency" X-ray appointment. Unfortunately I didn't get one until 20 July and endured a very painful week.

However once I got to Queens everything went perfectly: X-ray, A&E, Fracture Clinic (where I was fitted with a boot and a frame) and the following day I attended the consultant's Clinic.

My daughter and I were very impressed by the professionalism and compassion of every single member of staff that we encountered. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was clearly explained. Their behaviour made a frightening experience bearable.

Thank you all. Yvonne Marsden







Th

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 22 July 2017

Report as unsuitable

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus replied on 24 July 2017

Thank you, Yvonne. I’m pleased to hear our staff made your experience more bearable. I’ve shared this with my colleagues in the Emergency Department as well as the teams in X-Ray and the Fracture Clinic.

I hope you’re recovering well and your ankle is healing nicely.

Wishing you well,
Jane Newton.
Matron, Emergency Department.

Report as unsuitable

James Ian Wragg gave Accident and emergency services at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus a rating of 5 stars

A & E as we hope to experience it

I was instructed to attend A & E by my surgery as a blood test revealed a D- Dimer score of 10878. I received excellent, thorough treatment, and though admitted later to ward B3, was discharged without an overnight stay. All the staff were pleasant and efficient, but in particular, the consultant was exceptional in manner, skill, efficiency and liaison with colleagues. My family and I felt that I could not have been better treated. No one looks forward to a visit to A & E, but everything was done to make my experience as bearable as possible.

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 23 July 2017

Report as unsuitable

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus replied on 24 July 2017

I appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback.

Best wishes to you and your family,

Jane Newton.

Matron, Emergency Department.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus a rating of 5 stars

Great A & E service

Just wanted to say a big thank you to A & E staff who dealt with me the other night. I had stomach pains and they completed a scan and test within a hour of me arriving. Although there was a wait for results we were kept upto date and the Dr's and Nurses did a great job in providing treatment and reassurance when needed. A big thank you

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 26 July 2017

Report as unsuitable

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - Queen's Medical Centre Campus replied on 27 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. I have shared your feedback with the team in our Emergency Department.

Warm regards,

Jane Newton, Matron, Accident and Emergency.

Report as unsuitable