BMI Woodlands Hospital

01325 341700 Morton Park , Darlington, Durham, DL1 4PL
https://www.bmihealthcare.co.uk/hospitals/bmi-woodlands-hospital

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 10 ratings for this hospital

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 10 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

5 out of 5 stars

(10 ratings)

Staff co-operation

5 out of 5 stars

(10 ratings)

Dignity and respect

5 out of 5 stars

(10 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4.5 out of 5 stars

(10 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(9 ratings)

Reviews

19 total

Ehlrids gave Gynaecology at BMI Woodlands Hospital a rating of 5 stars

An excellent example of care

Been today as a day case. Everything faultless. The doctor lovely and reassuring. Food was really nice. Nursing staff were great. Nothing was too much trouble. Whatever you all doing you are doing it right. Highly recommended

Visited in June 2016. Posted on 20 June 2016

Report as unsuitable

BMI Woodlands Hospital has not yet replied.

Wendy Clements gave Gynaecology at BMI Woodlands Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Wendy's review

I have just returned home after spending 3nights at the woodlands.I would highly recommend this hospital. The care and attention I received was exemplary. The food and hygiene was faultless. To consultant, Aneathatist, Doctor on call, All Nursing Staff, &Hostesses are all truly dedicated to their profession!

Visited in May 2016. Posted on 23 May 2016

Report as unsuitable

BMI Woodlands Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Orthopaedics at BMI Woodlands Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent hospital treatment and stay

Excellent. My consultant is brilliant. The staff make you feel so at ease. Everyone who was involved with me was excellent. There is nothing they could have done any better.

Visited in April 2016. Posted on 05 April 2016

Report as unsuitable

BMI Woodlands Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Ear, Nose & Throat at BMI Woodlands Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Consultants fees

Check Consultants Fees as some charge independently of BMI and it is for each visit - so you can find that if you have to return for the same problem unresolved, you receive several invoices for consultation fees even though the problem has not been fully resolved in the first place and works out extremely expensive and you still left with a problem which is extremely expensive, frustrating and upsetting. I would not return to BMI for this reason

Visited in January 2016. Posted on 18 March 2016

Report as unsuitable

BMI Woodlands Hospital has not yet replied.

Helen Taylor gave Gynaecology at BMI Woodlands Hospital a rating of 5 stars

fantastic hospital

Just been discharged from Woodlands. And I can't thank all staff enough for the excellent care I received. I was in as a day case but was too ill to leave so stayed overnight. Was made to feel like there was no rush to leave as in some other hospitals I have been in. Was kept informed all throughout my treatment what was happening. And given excellent discharge leaflets. Would highly recommend this hospital.

Visited in December 2015. Posted on 22 December 2015

Report as unsuitable

BMI Woodlands Hospital has not yet replied.

Steph reviewed Gynaecology at BMI Woodlands Hospital

Never again at this hospital

This was the first time I was to use Woodlands on a NHS choose and book system. I selected Woodlands as it had the shortest waiting list. I made the appointment online with choose and book after selecting an appointment day and time suitable to my needs. I rang Woodlands the week before my appointment day to confirm my appointment as had not received a letter. I spoke to a member of staff who informed me yes I was on the computer, I had the appointment and also who I would see, I turned up for my appointment after the journey from Stockton during rush hour traffic. Upon arrival I was told I was not on the clinic list, upon looking on the computer they could see my appointment but then said there must have been an admin error and that they would have to see if I could be seen but there would be no notes as the staff had gone home. Now firstly what is the point of seeing a consultant who doesn't actually have your notes and why was I told I had an appointment when I didn't. I was extremely annoyed about this and feel sure if I had been a paying customer things would have been different. I was given a number to ring the next day to try to make an appointment. Why should I have to ring when it is was your mistake. No offer of we will call you. I have had to wait until today to get in touch with choose and book and also my own GP practice to tell them about this. I am not impressed with the service at this hospital, would not recommend and now I am having to go through the process of choose and book again when I get a new reference number and start all over again at a choice of different hospitals. Woodlands has wasted my time and by the incompetence has increased my waiting time now at a different hospital. If this is what a private hospital is like you can keep it. Will keep on using NHS hospitals as I always have from now on.

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 22 July 2015

Report as unsuitable

BMI Woodlands Hospital has not yet replied.

Barry Dee gave Ophthalmology at BMI Woodlands Hospital a rating of 1 stars

commitment to keeping appointment times by consultants

I had an appointment for a yag laser capsulotomy arranged for 8.30 am on Saturday 6 June but the consultant did not put in an appearance at the hospital until approaching
9 am
There was no apology for their late arrival by the consultant themself or members of the hospital staff
It was just as well I had not had my pretreatment eye drops due 20 minutes before the appointment time otherwise I would have had to have them again
On my follow up appointment on 16 June arranged for 10.30 am which was carried out to closer 11.am which lasted not more that about 5 minutes the consultant afterwards asked me to wait about 5 minutes in reception and they would then arrange for the billing of their time
After a wait of approximately 25//30 minutes I informed reception that I could wait no longer because I had a prearranged appointment in Stockton for 12 noon
At no time was any apology given, for what I would describe as total indifference to the needs of the patients
The consultant seemed to be a law unto themself and in my opinion thought that only their time is valuable and as a result their patients are left waiting
At the time of my follow up appointment there were other people waiting to see the the same consultant and one of them who had an appointment for 10.25am had still not seen the consultant at 11.30am despite making several approaches to Reception
I think that this was an experience that I would not like to be repeated
Incidentally I was a self pay patient

Visited in June 2015. Posted on 19 June 2015

Report as unsuitable

BMI Woodlands Hospital has not yet replied.

Mxmarkb gave General Surgery at BMI Woodlands Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Great Hospital and wonderful staff.

I attended woodlands for a hernia repair under the NHS. From entering the door, the staff were helpful and respectful. I was shown to my own room, which was very clean. The staff were excellent throughout my whole stay, all the way from the catering nurse, my personal nurse right through to my surgeon. I was kept fully informed of the full procedure.
As this is not a mainstream hospital, the staff have more time to give you the care, without the hustle and bustle that I have seen in other hospitals. This means a lot and gives you the impression that they care for your treatment and feelings.
I send a big thank you to all of the staff. It was much appreciated.

Visited in January 2015. Posted on 21 January 2015

Report as unsuitable

BMI Woodlands Hospital replied on 02 February 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very pleased that your stay with us was pleasant and comfortable. We'll share your kind comments with the rest of the hospital team.

Report as unsuitable

David Little gave General Surgery at BMI Woodlands Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Hidden costs

Beware going to a BMI hospital, there are hidden costs compared to a Nuffield Hospital, you are charged for a premed, crutches some medication etc which are normal built in to your procedure at Nuffield .
Physio is normally built in to your procedure at Nuffield not at Woodlands
I was not offered a drink, not even water in my room after surgery, had to ask for food and pain killers after being in my roomfor 3 hrs
Had only one visit from a nurse in 3 hrs
Worst experience in 36yrs of being a private patient

Visited in January 2015. Posted on 03 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

BMI Woodlands Hospital has not yet replied.

MOZ gave General Surgery at BMI Woodlands Hospital a rating of 5 stars

total knee replacement

outstanding nothing is to much for any of the staff from the beginning of my appointment seeing the doctor to the end of my knee replacement outstanding you can not improve on exerllance and that is what the staff are thank you so much

Visited in July 2014. Posted on 05 May 2015

Report as unsuitable

BMI Woodlands Hospital replied on 10 June 2015

Thank you for sharing your feedback, which we are really pleased to read. We have passed on your kind comments to the hospital team.

Report as unsuitable