Castle Hill Hospital

Telephone: 01482 875875
Address: Castle Road, Cottingham, HU16 5JQ
Website: http://www.hey.nhs.uk

4.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 177 ratings for this hospital

4.5 Stars

4.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 177 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(181 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(187 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4.5 out of 5 stars

(186 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(180 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(157 ratings)

Reviews

304 total

amanda gave Cardiology at Castle Hill Hospital a rating of 1 stars

total shambles

What I liked

whilst I couldn't fault my care during my admission to hospital the aftercare has a lot to be desired. I was prescribed a drug that required me to consult a doctor before taking due to an existing condition. When calling back the ward I was advised that cardiology couldn't help me at all in telling me whether I should take this medicine and I would have to refer to my gp or 'call boots'. After ringing my gp I was told to speak to cardiology as they had given me the medicine. Once again I was told by a doctor that they couldn't give me an answer. I am therefore left without been able to take medicines I need as no one is prepared to put their head on the block and give me even the slightest answer.
Patient care 10/10 patient aftercare 0/10 unless you want to speak to boots!

Visited in November 2014. Posted on 21 November 2014

Report as unsuitable

Castle Hill Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Plastic surgery at Castle Hill Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Disappointed, badly treated, would not recommend to a friend

What I liked

I arrived on Monday at 4pm was left in the ward lounge, had no evening meal or even a drink, ward 8. My operation was scheduled for 9am next morning, the surgeon confirmed this. I had one cup of water till 5pm. When I was informed my op had been cancelled. I rang the following day to rearrange the date for my op, 6 days later I'm still waiting!
The whole experience has been like a comedy of errors. No one seems to know what's happening, I was mis-informed, left waiting a whole day before being told the truth, moved from a cubicle I was told I needed for my op and put on the ward. I was having a breast op so didn't want putting on a mixed ward! So I was put on a mixed ward!
I tried to rearrange a new date for my op, a week after first entering castle hill I am still waiting for a new date!!!
I am tied by work schedules so need my op very soon! Or I will have to call it of for 6 months.

Visited in November 2014. Posted on 21 November 2014

Report as unsuitable

Castle Hill Hospital has not yet replied.

Dee gave Urology at Castle Hill Hospital a rating of 5 stars

8 Years of Illness 8 Years of treatment

I have been with Castlehill since I finished my chemotherapy and radiotherapy in 2008 and I have had 1 problem in all that time which was dealt with as soon as I put the complaint in.
I have spent a Lot of time in Castlehill on a number of wards and have had a lot of operations including a couple of life saving operations and I can honestly say they have been brilliant with me. I am disabled and in a chair so they try to give me a side room to make life a bit easier for me and my dignity, the treatment from the staff has always been so kind and helpful and I've even made friends with some of the staff that I hold close to my heart. Ward 11 has probably had me on their ward the most and they have been great, not only with my general care, but with my mental care too as I suffer with clinical depression and get very low at times because of my health.
Before I became ill with radiation disease and ended up in a wheelchair I was a very active person, walking all the time up mountains, hill walking, and walking 15 miles plus each time. I just loved to be out in the fresh air especially around the winter months, as I loved nothing more than the crunch of frozen leaves and grass under my feet, not being able to do any of the things I used to be able to do has left me very scared, however Castlehill were great with me, they helped us get sorted with the right home for my wheelchair, they made sure I had everything to help me with a wet room etc. and they had my wheelchair made to fit so it was comfortable for me.
I wouldn't say they were perfect, there's always a bad pea in a crowd of people, however they are as close as they can be. The new cancer building is brilliant and my stays there have also been wonderful and I have been cared for to the highest standard. My surgeons have always been wonderful and I have been under 2 of them for around 6 years now. They have done everything they can do to try and help me live a life comfortably and though I am still having problems they are always there to support me if we ring.
Some people expect 5* treatment, if that's what they expect when they go to an NHS hospital and with all the struggles with nursing etc that is happening at the moment, they should maybe think of going private, to me Castlehill is a great place and through my experience everyone has done what they can for me when I have needed it.

Visited in November 2014. Posted on 03 December 2014

Report as unsuitable

Castle Hill Hospital has not yet replied.

M K Foster gave Gastrointestinal cancer services at Castle Hill Hospital a rating of 5 stars

A credit to the NHS

My partner was in Castle Hill Ward 10 in April for an ileostomy and again just recently for a reversal, all in all something like three weeks. Having had some experience of various hospitals both in this region, in Essex, London and Oxford I have to say say that in my view this is one of the best, if not the best, hospitals I have experienced. The cleanliness and infection control is second to none as their results show, the helpfulness, friendliness and willingness of the staff on Ward 10 was faultless, indeed one would be hard pushed to believe one could get better had one gone private. The hospital itself is a credit to the NHS and the staff on Ward 10 a credit to their profession. My partner tells me that my view is echoed by himself and that what was a very worrying and at times scary process was made easier by the professionalism of the staff. I for one will be eternally grateful for all they have done and continue to do, both in hospital stays and regular clinics, for my partner

Visited in October 2014. Posted on 27 October 2014

Report as unsuitable

Castle Hill Hospital replied on 20 November 2014

Thank you for adding you comment to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we will ensure that the staff concerned are made aware of these.
If you would like to become more involved in decisions about local healthcare, we are recruiting members. By becoming a member you receive our quarterly newsletter, find out more about your local NHS and help us improve local services. You can also attend our ‘medicine for members’ sessions and respond to questionnaires. You don’t need any special skills or experience to become a member; you just need an interest in local health services. There is no commitment, you can get involved as much or as little as you choose.
For more information please either email foundation.trust@hey.nhs.uk or telephone the Corporate Affairs office on (01482) 675165.
If you need to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service on (01482) 623065 or email on pals@hey.nhs.uk as we are always striving to improve our patients experience.
Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Team
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

Iris Lockwood gave Respiratory Medicine at Castle Hill Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Lung function test

I had a lung function test at Castle Hill last week and I wish to say how smoothly everything went and how well I was treated by the staff on the unit. My appointment was on time and everything was explained thoroughly to me before the procedure by the Physiotherapist conducting my test.
The hospital was clean and also provides well for visiting out patients and accompanying friends with the coin operated machines for refreshments in addition to a shop and coffee and snack bar.

The only criticism I would make is the parking whoch, although plenty provided with each separate building, because of the number of stints and visitors it was impossible to find a space, resulting in parking out of the hospital itself.

I am wish to say how pleased I was at this, my first visit to the hospital and I shsll have no concerns in attending again soon for further tests.

Visited in October 2014. Posted on 29 October 2014

Report as unsuitable

Castle Hill Hospital replied on 20 November 2014

Dear Iris, Thank you for adding you comment to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we will ensure that the staff concerned are made aware of these.
If you would like to become more involved in decisions about local healthcare, we are recruiting members. By becoming a member you receive our quarterly newsletter, find out more about your local NHS and help us improve local services. You can also attend our ‘medicine for members’ sessions and respond to questionnaires. You don’t need any special skills or experience to become a member; you just need an interest in local health services. There is no commitment, you can get involved as much or as little as you choose.
For more information please either email foundation.trust@hey.nhs.uk or telephone the Corporate Affairs office on (01482) 675165.
If you need to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service on (01482) 623065 or email on pals@hey.nhs.uk or Patient Experience on (01482) 675189 as we are always striving to improve our patients experience.
Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS)
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Haematology at Castle Hill Hospital a rating of 2 stars

Left Hand - Right Hand?

I was admitted to Castle Hospital in January after a major spine operation to remove a tumor. This was followed up with 5 weeks intensive radiotherapy (daily), 2 operations to remove separate halves of my thyroid (which could have been avoided with a blood test) and Radio Iodine treatment.

At every stage the co-ordination of the treatment (inter-departmental) has been abysmal. The after care from MacMillan has been non-existent and the same for the hospital after care (do they have any?)

We have never seen the same doctor/consultant twice. My wife has had to chase appointments, arrange scans etc. In particular the 'Junior' or 'Trainee' Sister on ward 31 was at best uncaring - at worst down right rude.

I am currently awaiting a PET scan as there is a possibility of a new tumor on my spine, this was marked as an 'emergency scan' by the Consultant who saw us with a follow up 4 weeks later (earlier if he could get the scan earlier.) This seems to now be denied by the receptionist and we may have to wait even longer to find out if the tumor is active.

On one occasion we were left waiting several hours in a waiting room when we came to discuss the results of a scan - only to be told that they did not have the results.

I was left for 6 hours in a 'public' waiting room to await transport - this at a time when I had just undergone Radio-Iodine treatment and was instructed (I still have the paperwork) not to be in contact with the public!! I eventually got a taxi as I felt so ill.

This Hospital really needs to sort itself out!!!

Visited in October 2014. Posted on 29 October 2014

Report as unsuitable

Castle Hill Hospital replied on 20 November 2014

Thank you for placing your posting on the NHS Choices website. We are sorry to read of your recent experience and we will ensure that the staff concerned are made aware.
If you would like to discuss this matter further with us, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service on (01482) 623065 or email on pals@hey.nhs.uk or Patient Experience (01482) 675189.
If you would like to become more involved in decisions about local healthcare, we are recruiting members. By becoming a member you receive our quarterly newsletter, find out more about your local NHS and help us improve local services. You can also attend our ‘medicine for members’ sessions and respond to questionnaires. You don’t need any special skills or experience to become a member; you just need an interest in local health services. There is no commitment, you can get involved as much or as little as you choose.
For more information please either email foundation.trust@hey.nhs.uk or telephone the Corporate Affairs office on telephone number (01482) 675165.
Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Team
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

betty wilson gave Gastrointestinal and Liver services at Castle Hill Hospital a rating of 5 stars

wonderful staff.! wonderful hospital.!

I was discharged from ward 27 on Wednesday 29th October following surgery .Everyone was amazing and so professional during my 15 day stay.I am so grateful to the consultant and his team for the care given during and after my op.Thank you all so much!Then,of course,there are the ward staff.The Sister and her team are wonderful.they are all so hard working and very encouraging to patients.i had a particularly difficult and tragic family crisis but the support offered was over and above the call of duty but was extremely gratefully received.There were times I needed to talk and times I needed to be on my own and the staff always seemed to get it right .Every single member of ward staff was amazing and I will always remember your kindness..Thank you again to the consultants and all theatre staff, the Sister and all the staff I cant recall at the moment but are no less important..finally...I must thank the catering staff...the food was mostly excellent.! my gratefull thanks to all Mrs Mary Wilson (betty) .

Visited in October 2014. Posted on 01 November 2014

Report as unsuitable

Castle Hill Hospital replied on 20 November 2014

Dear Betty, Thank you for adding you comment to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we will ensure that the staff concerned are made aware of these.
If you would like to become more involved in decisions about local healthcare, we are recruiting members. By becoming a member you receive our quarterly newsletter, find out more about your local NHS and help us improve local services. You can also attend our ‘medicine for members’ sessions and respond to questionnaires. You don’t need any special skills or experience to become a member; you just need an interest in local health services. There is no commitment, you can get involved as much or as little as you choose.
For more information please either email foundation.trust@hey.nhs.uk or telephone the Corporate Affairs office on (01482) 675165.
If you need to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service on (01482) 623065 or email on pals@hey.nhs.uk as we are always striving to improve our patients experience.
Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Team
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

mary wilson(betty) gave Cardiothoracic surgery at Castle Hill Hospital a rating of 5 stars

wonderful staff/ wonderful hospital!

on reading my review printed a few days ago I realised I had the wrong surgical department!I was actually a patient on cardiothoracic ward.Sorry about the mix up...though I am sure I would be equally impressed wherever I had been treated

Visited in October 2014. Posted on 06 November 2014

Report as unsuitable

Castle Hill Hospital replied on 20 November 2014

Thank you for adding you comment to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we will ensure that the staff concerned are made aware of these.
If you would like to become more involved in decisions about local healthcare, we are recruiting members. By becoming a member you receive our quarterly newsletter, find out more about your local NHS and help us improve local services. You can also attend our ‘medicine for members’ sessions and respond to questionnaires. You don’t need any special skills or experience to become a member; you just need an interest in local health services. There is no commitment, you can get involved as much or as little as you choose.
For more information please either email foundation.trust@hey.nhs.uk or telephone the Corporate Affairs office on (01482) 675165.
If you need to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service on (01482) 623065 or email on pals@hey.nhs.uk as we are always striving to improve our patients experience.
Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Team
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Immunology at Castle Hill Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Very efficient and caring

Attended outpatient clinic on two occasions for an appointment and allergy testing. All staff were kind, friendly, and helpful, and performed the procedures sensitively and with care.

Visited in October 2014. Posted on 17 October 2014

Report as unsuitable

Castle Hill Hospital replied on 20 November 2014

Thank you for adding you comment to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we will ensure that the staff concerned are made aware of these.
If you would like to become more involved in decisions about local healthcare, we are recruiting members. By becoming a member you receive our quarterly newsletter, find out more about your local NHS and help us improve local services. You can also attend our ‘medicine for members’ sessions and respond to questionnaires. You don’t need any special skills or experience to become a member; you just need an interest in local health services. There is no commitment, you can get involved as much or as little as you choose.
For more information please either email foundation.trust@hey.nhs.uk or telephone the Corporate Affairs office on (01482) 675165.
If you need to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service on (01482) 623065 or email on pals@hey.nhs.uk as we are always striving to improve our patients experience.
Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Team
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

charliesteve gave Castle Hill Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Care of my mother

My mother is currently in the hospital and at 9 pm sunday night was moved from one ward to another. The ward she was moved to was on the first floor which meant going into an elevator. My mother is 79 years old and is petrified of closed spaces and elevators and was forced in. When the kids in the family were ill and in Hull Royal my mother walked up the stairs rather than the lift. This treatment of my mother was disgusting and I would like to know who I should contact regarding this issue.
Steve mums eldest son

Visited in October 2014. Posted on 20 October 2014

Report as unsuitable

Castle Hill Hospital replied on 20 November 2014

Thank you for placing your posting on the NHS Choices website. We are sorry to read of your recent experience and we will ensure that the staff concerned are made aware.
If you would like to discuss this matter further with us, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service on (01482) 623065 or email on pals@hey.nhs.uk or Patient Experience (01482) 675189
If you would like to become more involved in decisions about local healthcare, we are recruiting members. By becoming a member you receive our quarterly newsletter, find out more about your local NHS and help us improve local services. You can also attend our ‘medicine for members’ sessions and respond to questionnaires. You don’t need any special skills or experience to become a member; you just need an interest in local health services. There is no commitment, you can get involved as much or as little as you choose.
For more information please either email foundation.trust@hey.nhs.uk or telephone the Corporate Affairs office on telephone number (01482) 675165.
Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Team
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable