Burnley General Hospital

Telephone: 01282 425071
Address: Casterton Avenue, Casterton Avenue, Burnley, Lancashire, BB10 2PQ
Website: http://www.elht.nhs.uk

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 102 ratings for this hospital

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 102 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(100 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(101 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(101 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(98 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(73 ratings)

Reviews

165 total

Anonymous gave Dermatology at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Everyone was fantastically friendly and helpful

I took my son to the Dermatology Clinic (14.00 appointment on Tues 15th April 2014). All the staff were so helpful and polite (especially the assistant nurse). All the other nurses we met were so friendly. I really appreciate this. Thanks. (We had to get my son back to school for a re-scheduled GCSE controlled assessment and so we were a bit frantic timewise. )

Visited in April 2014. Posted on 17 April 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital has not yet replied.

jill bullock gave Orthopaedics at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

total knee replacement

after feeling very scared coming up to my operartion once I was here that all changed.these nurses were absolutely fantastic.ward 15 was very calming every one politely chatting away.nothing was too much trouble.after surgery my medication was explained to me and I felt I had a say in things.quiet at night too .got loads of rest!!! so clean but best of all a good cup of tea.seriously though a first class team thank you

Visited in March 2014. Posted on 14 April 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital has not yet replied.

Mary Toland gave Urgent care centre at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Pleasantly surprised....lovely enviroment...

My appointment was done through NHS 111 helpline. They refered me to Burnley at an appointment time agreed. I found the urgent care centre (this was a Friday night at 11.00 pm) easy to find. When I asked the reception how long we would be waiting....approx. 45 mins but went in to the doctors room in the 30 mins. The centre is newly adapted and the surroundings pleasant. I was very impressed with service all the way through and felt very assured. I think it is a great reassuring service

Visited in April 2014. Posted on 13 April 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital has not yet replied.

mgarrard gave Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

xray outpatients

visited today 7th april 2014 greeted with a friendly smile, appointment was dead on time this department is run so well i cannot praise it enough.

Visited in April 2014. Posted on 07 April 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Maternity service at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Planned c section turned into ECS from Spontaneous Labour

Booked in for 14/2/14 c/section however went into spontaneous labour early morning on the same day. Was accepted at burnley and allowed to labour at my request. Staff was great, midwifes, ward Clark ect. All very polite, helpful & really helped me have a beautiful birth. Ended up with an emergency section again, however this time it was so calm & the theatre staff were superb! Special thanks to the neonatal surgeon for delivering our beautiful girl - and to the theatre staff for making the whole process smooth & wonderful. The staff on the ward afterwards were so lovely and helpful and really made my stay for 48 hours a really positive experience. I would really recommend burnley LWNC to anyone..

I know not everyone's experiences are so positive. However in defence of the staff there & having witnessed second hand that there are some very demanding patients out there, please be open minded that the negatives reported maybe of individuals that demand more than can be given .... Well Done to the team at Burnley.. xxx

Visited in February 2014. Posted on 06 April 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Urgent care centre at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Rude receptionist

Arrived at burnley general, welcomed by a rude rude woman. Advice would be to sort out her attitude problem! Sarcasm is not a nice trait and her attitude wads appalling.
Hospital very clean, luckily not overly long waiting.
Doctor very thorough

Visited in March 2014. Posted on 29 March 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Urgent care centre at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Urgent Care Centre March 2014

We knew that the urgent care centre had moved and in practice (as long as you go in the Briercliffe Road entrance) the signage is just adequate. The place itself is easy enough to spot. There is a pay and display car-park which had spaces just across the road.

We were seen by a slightly huffy receptionist who was just not quite that interested.
We must have said some right things though Maybe concussion after a fall downstairs, a broken nose, wrist, and multiple bruising did the trick as we were in triage rapidly. Through to a doctor who did a great job and then off for an x-ray.

The X-ray staff were great, and they only took a few minutes. Back to the waiting room, then the plaster room and out of the door having already obtained an appointment at the fracture clinic for the next week. We were stopped by a lady not in uniform who offered us a leaflet for aftercare service from age concern. A shock as the patient is only 59!! We declined the offer of their services but it was nice of them to be so supportive.

I had no problems at all with UCC but the receptionist needed to group a smile and a nicer tone.

Visited in March 2014. Posted on 22 March 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital has not yet replied.

Stephen Whitaker gave Rheumatology at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Super service from the Rheumatology dept

I have been under the care of rheumatology for over 20 years. I have always been more than satisfied with the treatment that I have received. The nursing staff, especially the specialist nurses are, as the job title indicates, very knowledgeable within their field.
Great service from a great team. Thanks for all your hard work.

Visited in March 2014. Posted on 18 March 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital has not yet replied.

Tony W gave Urgent care centre at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Shambolic care

I attended with a nerve problem in my shoulder to be told to access physio i need to go via my GP....the self same GP that you can only ring at 8.30 in the morning for an appt 2 or 3 days later..thats if you can get passed the GP reception... Even after getting an app with a GP I am still told its 10 days wait to get access to physio.

This is utterly disgusting and appalling in this day and age.

Visited in March 2014. Posted on 17 March 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital has not yet replied.

JOAN quy gave Ophthalmology at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Cataract surgery

I would like to say a big 'Thank You' to the surgeon, his theatre team and Staff of the Day Care Unit, Ward 6, for their kindness and efficiency during my cataract surgery on my left eye on Wednesday, 5th March, 2014. I can't believe the difference to my eyesight and ..look forward to having my left eye done as soon as possible. Joan Quy

Visited in March 2014. Posted on 14 March 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital has not yet replied.