Can you help us improve NHS Choices?

Take part in our survey to share your views

Burnley General Hospital

Telephone: 01282 425071
Address: Burnley General Hospital, Casterton Avenue, Burnley, BB10 2PQ
Website: http://www.elht.nhs.uk

4.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 151 ratings for this hospital

4.5 Stars

4.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 151 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(149 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(151 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4.5 out of 5 stars

(149 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4.5 out of 5 stars

(146 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(116 ratings)

Reviews

271 total

Kerianne gave Maternity services at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Burnley birthing centre

I came here on the 11/08/2015 to deliver my baby - couldnt of asked for a better experience. I heard so many horrible reviews but for me it was great. The midwifes are amazing people and really really supported me through my labour and delivery, even one student midwife was lovely and was doing a great job! I gave birth too my little girl at night not once did they force me of to another ward let me stay in the same room kept a close eye on me and everything I asked them they had given me advice and also looked after me very well.. Would just like too say thankyou to all the lovely midwifes that helped me that night and everyone who works in the labour and delivery ward! You all need a lot more credit for what you do there.. Thankyou :)!

Visited in August 2015. Posted on 15 August 2015

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 17 August 2015

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of the Birth Centre at Burnley General Hospital and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the teams who will be delighted to hear that the experience you had with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

If you would like to talk through your experience with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand what made this such a positive experience for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals. You can either contact me (Melissa Almond) on 01254 734087 or email me on Melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk

Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes.
Melissa Almond, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Gastroscopy

Had the procedure on Friday and was my second at Burnley.
The first time I had sedation and did not remember anything about the test.
This time I think I must have had a lower dose of sedation as I was aware of everything that was being done.
No problems at all and the staff were first class - they explained everything in detail and talked through the process.
Had the throat spray as well, had biopsies taken but didn't experience any discomfort

Visited in August 2015. Posted on 18 August 2015

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 19 August 2015

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent gastroscopy procedure at Burnley General Hospital and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team who will be pleased to hear that your experience was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

If you would like to speak with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand what made this such a positive experience we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals. You can either contact me (Melissa Almond) on 01254 734087 or email me on Melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk

Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes.
Melissa Almond, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Maternity services at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

baby boy

Arrived at Burnley birth centre on 3rd August at 4cm. The staff were lovely and really understanding, can't fault the service. Heard a few bad reviews previously so was anxious to have my little boy here. My baby was delivered by an amazing midwife and a student, they both kept me very calm and gave me lots of confidence in labour. Delivered in a pool which was a suggestion of the midwife and this really helped. Amazing experience and will definately return and recommend to friends. Following delivery I stayed overnight in the birth centre and met more midwives and health care assistants who couldn't do enough to help me

Visited in August 2015. Posted on 18 August 2015

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 20 August 2015

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent experience of the Birth Centre at Burnley General Hospital and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team who will be delighted to hear that your experience was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

If you would like to speak with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand what made this such a positive experience we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals. You can either contact me (Melissa Almond) on 01254 734087 or email me on Melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk

Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes.
Melissa Almond, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Maternity services at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent experience - 2nd time

This week my wife had her 2nd Caesarean at Burnley Maternity Centre and I wanted to say how hardworking, efficient and professional the staff were.

They were clearly overworked and short staffed, but they worked tirelessly, often without taking a break to eat or drink themselves (who I spoke to on the ward anyway), but were dedicated to the ladies in their care.

The operation itself was like clockwork, with us being kept updated the whole time. We were informed at the birth that our baby was a girl, but on double checking he was very much a boy! But that wasn't an issue.

Post care again was excellent and my wife was discharged after two nights, with full instructions on medication and aftercare.
She was on a mixed ward, which I had my slight concerns about (amenity rooms are available at a cost), but i had needn't have worried, as it was four ladies to a ward, all with plenty of privacy.

Our first child was an emergency Casaerean followed by a brief stint in NICU (with everything turning out ok), and although again, our care then was excellent, it was nice to have a straightforward birth experience.

Visited in August 2015. Posted on 23 August 2015

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 25 August 2015

Congratulations on your new arrival !

Many thanks for your feedback on your family’s experience at our Maternity Services at Burnley General Hospital and thank-you for taking the time to do so .... as I am sure you have lots to do. I have already passed this on to the teams and they will be delighted …..thank you.

I am very pleased to hear that your experiences have been so positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care. We would be keen to hear more from you, if you would like to talk through your family’s experience with one of our Patient Experience team we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me, Meg Davey on 01254 733698 or email me on Margaret.davey@elht.nhs.uk.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Urgent care centre at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

How lucky are we to have the NHS

Late Sunday evening I had something in my eye that was somewhat worrying thought it was a piece of glass so of I went to the A&E Casterton Avenue to get it checked out. From the moment I walked in through the doors I was dealt with quickly and efficiently by a very pleasant receptionist and was told to sit down to wait my turn. It wasn't long before I was called in to the triage nurse who took all my details and assessed my problem I was then sent out to the waiting room to wait my turn to see the doctor. After only a short time I was called in and escorted to the treatment room where I had my eye thoroughly examined for any object that may have been causing my problem. The doctor was really lovely and put me at ease and explained to me exactly what the were going to do lucky for me the problem was solved there and then and I walked out of there thinking just how lucky we are to have the NHS so a big thank you to all the doctors and nurses who are there for us all 7 days a week.

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 27 July 2015

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 27 July 2015

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience when you visited the Urgent Care Centre at Burnley General Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team who will be delighted to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Melissa Almond) on 01254 734087 or email me on Melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes.

Melissa Almond, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Rita Witt gave Urgent care centre at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

111 referred me for 21:45 appoint

Arrived on time was seen promptly
The doctor was very thorough and diagnosed my problem quickly, they treated me with courtesy and respect I was very impressed with the whole experience from calling 111 to leaving after my appointment its a service I would definitely use again

Thank you

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 28 July 2015

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 30 July 2015

Many thanks for your feedback on your recent visit to the Urgent Care Centre at Burnley General Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team who will be delighted to hear that the experience you had with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

If you would like to talk through your visit with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Melissa Almond) on 01254 734087 or email me on Melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes.

Melissa Almond, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Outstanding professional care

I attended the colposcopy clinic for a procedure today. The care I received from the Clinical Nurse Specialist and assisting Health Care Assistant was superb, they were so kind and considerate, respected my privacy and dignity and delivered highly professional care. I can't thank them enough.

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 31 July 2015

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 03 August 2015

Many thanks for your feedback on your recent visit to the Colposcopy clinic at Burnley General Hospital Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the teams who will be delighted to hear that the experience you had with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

If you would like to talk through your visit with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Melissa Almond) on 01254 734087 or email me on Melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes.
Melissa Almond, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

maddie gave Gynaecology at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Gynaecology day care centre

Just want to thank the doctor and their team involved in the gynaecology department for the procedure done today on my sister in law. Thank you very much for the support and kindness. I can't praise the nurse enough, they are so lovely and many thanks to another nurse as well who again was really lovely!! Thank you!
Lots of love.... p.s the girl who rang whilst sat in the waiting area..

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 01 July 2015

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 03 July 2015

Dear Maddie

Many thanks for your feedback on your sister-in-law's experience of our Gynaecology service at Burnley General Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team who will be delighted to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care- I'm sure they'll remember you too from the hint!

If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Melissa Almond) on 01254 734087 or email me on Melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk
Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes to your sister-in-law on her continued recovery
Melissa Almond, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Wendy Murphy gave Ophthalmology at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Ward 6 Cataract surgery 6th July 2015

Many thanks to all the staff on Ward 6 and in Theatre yesterday. What an almost miraculous procedure is cataract surgery. I am astounded, the day after surgery, to be seeing clear bright colours and have distance vision in my right eye as probably never before. I'm 66, have worn glasses since primary school, and now can't wait to have surgery on my left eye. Thank you very much Doctor, for your wonderful care and skill. As if this wasn't enough, I was also looked after at every stage by a most delightful team of dedicated professionals, charming, friendly, efficient and caring without exception. Please pass on my regards and thanks to three particular members of staff, and all yesterday's staff. I'm sorry I can't remember all your names, but think about you all today.

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 07 July 2015

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 08 July 2015

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our ophthalmology service, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team. I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me, Melissa Almond on 01254 7340876 or email me on melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Urology at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Very professional staff

I received great care from the wonderful professional staff.

Visited in June 2015. Posted on 28 June 2015

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 29 June 2015

Dear Anonymous

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our Urology service at Burnley General Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team who will be very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Melissa Almond) on 01254 734087 or email me on Melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk
Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes
Melissa Almond, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable