Burnley General Hospital

Telephone: 01282 425071
Address: Burnley General Hospital, Casterton Avenue, Burnley, BB10 2PQ
Website: http://www.elht.nhs.uk

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 119 ratings for this hospital

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 119 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(116 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(119 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(117 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(114 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(89 ratings)

Reviews

189 total

coral gave Gynaecology at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

appointments at gynaecology

I would like to make acknowledgement of the excellence care and service i receive from my gynaecologist. He is a fantastic brilliant man who always gives me the upmost care when i attend my appointments. He listens, sympathetic honest and very trustworthy. He is a wonderful consultant and im glad hes mine. I really think to many people are highlighted when things go wrong and not enough care professionals are acknowledge when things goes great.

I really want to make it known how excellent this consultant is and he should be praised for it i will always be grateful for the care he provides to me.

Visited in September 2014. Posted on 14 September 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 15 September 2014

Dear Coral
Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our Gynaecology service, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team but would really appreciate you getting in touch- either by phone or email- to confirm your consultant's name so that I can pass on your thanks personally to him and his team? I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk
Regards
Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Faciliator

Report as unsuitable

coral gave Urgent care centre at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

visit to urgent care centre 12.09.14

I attended urgent yesterday morning following a visit to my GP who thought i had suspected pulumonary embolism in my lung. The doctor who treated me in urgent was fantastic. He gave me the up most care was very polite and has excellent people skills. I could not fault him at all. If all doctors was like him there would never be any complaints. Im just sorry i cant remember his name i think he should be acknowledged for his excellence. What a wonderful man, he listened to me he carried out all investigations quickly and gave me reasurance. Excellent care received.

Visited in September 2014. Posted on 13 September 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 15 September 2014

Dear Coral
Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our Urgent Care Centre at Burnley General Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team and do hope you are recovering well? I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care and sometimes our most busy areas of the hospital can make this more difficult to do; so it's really pleasing to hear your feedback.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk
Once again many thanks for taking the time to comment
Regards
Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Tim Forster gave Urgent care centre at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

treatment at urgent care centre

Had to go there because I crushed and broke my finger on a Saturday. Got straight in snd registered and within 10 minutes was assessed. All staff were extremely efficient and polite taking my mind off what was a painful injury. The place was spotless and all staff I encountered we're professional and efficient Major thanks to the sister she was superb! !!!!

Visited in August 2014. Posted on 30 August 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 03 September 2014

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our Urgent Care Centre at Burnley , and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team and I'm very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care. Your comments about staff and the environment are especially pleasing to hear, and I will make sure the sister in particular is aware of your very positive comment about her.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Many thanks once again for taking the time to comment and I hope the finger is recovering well
Regards
Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Sue Mead gave Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Simply the best !

I have just had surgery after having breast cancer found during routine screening. Within the week I had an appointment with the breast clinic and an appointment for surgery within three weeks. Its devastating to hear that you have breast cancer but the team are my heros. Everyone from the nurses on the breast care ward who with such care and dignity carried out my biopsy and then on the day of my surgery inserted my guide wires through to my wonderful breast care team , surgery team and now my oncologist have all been marvellous. The NHS is often in the news for all the wrong reasons but I cannot fault the care I have been given by the doctor and her fantastic team. The fact that you have breast cancer is devastating news for anyone but my journey has been been made so much easier by the support and care I recieved whilst having my surgery at Burnley General Hospital and following that my continuing care from the breast care team and oncology. Many thanks to everyone who has been involved.

Visited in June 2014. Posted on 14 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 23 July 2014

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our breast cancer service, and thank-you for taking the time to do so especially when I am sure you are still coming to terms with your diagnosis, the treatment you've had and the impact of all of this on yourself and your family. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team who I know will be really pleased that you had as good an experience as possible.

If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient throughout our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.

Once again many thanks and best wishes for your recovery and future treatment

Report as unsuitable

George Edgington gave Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Thank you Ward 15 Orthopaedic Dept

I underwent two hip replacement operations at the hospital - one last November and the other this June. I can't praise everyone involved enough for their care, consideration and professionalism. I was able to leave after two days and have rapidly progressed since then. Thank you. George

Visited in June 2014. Posted on 11 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 11 July 2014

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation are passed onto the team. We are very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient throughout our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.

Report as unsuitable

Mrs Eatough gave Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

The care I recieved was delivered safely and effectively

I was admitted on to the Gynaecology and Breast Care ward for an operation in June.
The ward is situated in a new building and is bright, modern and clean. I was made to feel welcome by the nursing team and all my initial questions were answered proficient.
I was seen by various professionals prior to my operation including the Consultant and the Anaesthetist, the later both explained thoroughly the procedure that would be undertaken in theatre.
Throughout my stay of four days I always felt that I was in safe hands and involved in any decision making around my care. As in all hospitals a nurse call bell was positioned within my reach and when pressed a nurse appeared quickly to assist me..
Throughout my stay I was encouraged to aid my own recovery in a careful and measured way.
Any problems I encountered were dealt with efficiently with support being given by all grades of staff. This ward delivers a very high standard of care in a professional and effective manner.
Any woman reading this prior to admission can rest assured they will receive a very high standard of care from all members of the team on this ward.
On my discharge I was giving all the information I needed and also the ward telephone number to call if I had any difficulties .Therefore on discharge I felt safe and supported.
I feel privileged to have been a patient on this ward.
As a retired registered nurse I like to think I have high professional standards this team went beyond my expectations, hospital managers please take note.

Visited in June 2014. Posted on 07 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 11 July 2014

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation are passed onto the team. We are very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient throughout our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Burnley General Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Urgent Care

went into urgent care at burnley after needing urgent care, treatment and support. went out feeling very hurt and upset at the care that the nurses are offering. i would not recommend going to Burnley Urgent Care centre.

Visited in July 2014. Posted on 05 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 11 July 2014

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our XXXX service, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your concerns are passed onto the team. We are very sorry to hear that your recent experience with us wasn't what you expected as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this a poor visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to improve it for every patient throughout our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.

Or if you would like to discuss further any concerns you may have about our services please contact our Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.

Report as unsuitable

Malcolm Bell gave Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

hip replacement

From nurses to surgeon, could not have expected to be treated any better. Felt relaxed and at ease. highly recommended.

Visited in November 2013. Posted on 03 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 11 July 2014

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation are passed onto the team. We are very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient throughout our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.

Report as unsuitable

jane gave Ophthalmology at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

couldn't have asked for better

I was a little apprehensive about my cataract surgery for my right eye but I had no need to worry , I was put at ease by the staff and my surgeon talked me through the whole procedure so I knew what was happening. they were very patient and kind throughout my time in their care. And so when I came to have my left eye operated on I was at ease from the start and I was treated with courtesy the whole time.

Visited in March 2014. Posted on 29 June 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 04 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we will pass your comments on to the team. Which I am sure they will really appreciate.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Urgent care centre at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 2 stars

Burnley Urgent Care Centre

I was feeling very ill, I called 111. they managed to book me an appointment within one hour to see the out of hours GP, who is based at the Urgent Care Centre.

I arrived on time and waitied for 15-20 mins to see the GP, which was fair enough considering there were other patients in the waiting room. When I saw the GP, they kept interrupting when I was talking, it was very annoying as they wouldn't let me finish what I had to say. When I related my concerns and asked if it is possible that I may have X issue, they said no. When I asked once more if it was possible, but it may take longer to find out. They laughed and even made jokes about it, which I found to be ridiculing, draining and very irritating considering the fact I was very ill.. that is something I'm unhappy about.

The GP prescribed me medication and gave me a prescription, but didn't inform me that I will be sent a letter in the post asking to pay for medication. I received this letter and had to pay for the medicine.

However, the medication they gave did seem to improve my symptoms and it did seem to help. In terms of the medication side, I was satisfied.

Visited in June 2014. Posted on 25 June 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 27 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very sorry that your recent appointment with us wasn't what you expected, we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care. If you would like to discuss your concerns with us further please contact our Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns.

Report as unsuitable