Burnley General Hospital

Telephone: 01282 425071
Address: Burnley General Hospital, Casterton Avenue, Burnley, BB10 2PQ
Website: http://www.elht.nhs.uk

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 116 ratings for this hospital

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 116 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(113 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(116 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(114 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(111 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(86 ratings)

Reviews

186 total

Sue Mead gave Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Simply the best !

I have just had surgery after having breast cancer found during routine screening. Within the week I had an appointment with the breast clinic and an appointment for surgery within three weeks. Its devastating to hear that you have breast cancer but the team are my heros. Everyone from the nurses on the breast care ward who with such care and dignity carried out my biopsy and then on the day of my surgery inserted my guide wires through to my wonderful breast care team , surgery team and now my oncologist have all been marvellous. The NHS is often in the news for all the wrong reasons but I cannot fault the care I have been given by the doctor and her fantastic team. The fact that you have breast cancer is devastating news for anyone but my journey has been been made so much easier by the support and care I recieved whilst having my surgery at Burnley General Hospital and following that my continuing care from the breast care team and oncology. Many thanks to everyone who has been involved.

Visited in June 2014. Posted on 14 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 23 July 2014

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our breast cancer service, and thank-you for taking the time to do so especially when I am sure you are still coming to terms with your diagnosis, the treatment you've had and the impact of all of this on yourself and your family. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team who I know will be really pleased that you had as good an experience as possible.

If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient throughout our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.

Once again many thanks and best wishes for your recovery and future treatment

Report as unsuitable

George Edgington gave Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Thank you Ward 15 Orthopaedic Dept

I underwent two hip replacement operations at the hospital - one last November and the other this June. I can't praise everyone involved enough for their care, consideration and professionalism. I was able to leave after two days and have rapidly progressed since then. Thank you. George

Visited in June 2014. Posted on 11 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 11 July 2014

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation are passed onto the team. We are very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient throughout our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.

Report as unsuitable

Mrs Eatough gave Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

The care I recieved was delivered safely and effectively

I was admitted on to the Gynaecology and Breast Care ward for an operation in June.
The ward is situated in a new building and is bright, modern and clean. I was made to feel welcome by the nursing team and all my initial questions were answered proficient.
I was seen by various professionals prior to my operation including the Consultant and the Anaesthetist, the later both explained thoroughly the procedure that would be undertaken in theatre.
Throughout my stay of four days I always felt that I was in safe hands and involved in any decision making around my care. As in all hospitals a nurse call bell was positioned within my reach and when pressed a nurse appeared quickly to assist me..
Throughout my stay I was encouraged to aid my own recovery in a careful and measured way.
Any problems I encountered were dealt with efficiently with support being given by all grades of staff. This ward delivers a very high standard of care in a professional and effective manner.
Any woman reading this prior to admission can rest assured they will receive a very high standard of care from all members of the team on this ward.
On my discharge I was giving all the information I needed and also the ward telephone number to call if I had any difficulties .Therefore on discharge I felt safe and supported.
I feel privileged to have been a patient on this ward.
As a retired registered nurse I like to think I have high professional standards this team went beyond my expectations, hospital managers please take note.

Visited in June 2014. Posted on 07 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 11 July 2014

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation are passed onto the team. We are very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient throughout our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Burnley General Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Urgent Care

went into urgent care at burnley after needing urgent care, treatment and support. went out feeling very hurt and upset at the care that the nurses are offering. i would not recommend going to Burnley Urgent Care centre.

Visited in July 2014. Posted on 05 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 11 July 2014

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our XXXX service, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your concerns are passed onto the team. We are very sorry to hear that your recent experience with us wasn't what you expected as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this a poor visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to improve it for every patient throughout our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.

Or if you would like to discuss further any concerns you may have about our services please contact our Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.

Report as unsuitable

Malcolm Bell gave Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

hip replacement

From nurses to surgeon, could not have expected to be treated any better. Felt relaxed and at ease. highly recommended.

Visited in November 2013. Posted on 03 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 11 July 2014

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation are passed onto the team. We are very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient throughout our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.

Report as unsuitable

jane gave Ophthalmology at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

couldn't have asked for better

I was a little apprehensive about my cataract surgery for my right eye but I had no need to worry , I was put at ease by the staff and my surgeon talked me through the whole procedure so I knew what was happening. they were very patient and kind throughout my time in their care. And so when I came to have my left eye operated on I was at ease from the start and I was treated with courtesy the whole time.

Visited in March 2014. Posted on 29 June 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 04 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we will pass your comments on to the team. Which I am sure they will really appreciate.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Urgent care centre at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 2 stars

Burnley Urgent Care Centre

I was feeling very ill, I called 111. they managed to book me an appointment within one hour to see the out of hours GP, who is based at the Urgent Care Centre.

I arrived on time and waitied for 15-20 mins to see the GP, which was fair enough considering there were other patients in the waiting room. When I saw the GP, they kept interrupting when I was talking, it was very annoying as they wouldn't let me finish what I had to say. When I related my concerns and asked if it is possible that I may have X issue, they said no. When I asked once more if it was possible, but it may take longer to find out. They laughed and even made jokes about it, which I found to be ridiculing, draining and very irritating considering the fact I was very ill.. that is something I'm unhappy about.

The GP prescribed me medication and gave me a prescription, but didn't inform me that I will be sent a letter in the post asking to pay for medication. I received this letter and had to pay for the medicine.

However, the medication they gave did seem to improve my symptoms and it did seem to help. In terms of the medication side, I was satisfied.

Visited in June 2014. Posted on 25 June 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 27 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very sorry that your recent appointment with us wasn't what you expected, we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care. If you would like to discuss your concerns with us further please contact our Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns.

Report as unsuitable

Michelle Shaw gave Orthopaedics at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Metalwork removal to right knee

I was booked into ward 15 of Burnley General Hospital on 24th June 2014 for removal of metal work to my leg.
The consultant who performed the operation on the day and his team of aneasthatists, doctors , nurses and staff were fabulous, kind, caring and professional at all times.
The ward was clean and well run by staff who were kind and considerate at all times,i cant thank them enough.The food was of a good standard too.
All I can say is that as far as I am concerned this is a fantastic hospital that deserves a better rating than some would give it credit for.

Many thanks to everyone x

Visited in June 2014. Posted on 25 June 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 27 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we will pass your comments on to the team. Which I am sure they will really appreciate.

Report as unsuitable

Diane S. gave Urology at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Wonderful consultant

I was under the care of the Urology team. The consultant is the most wonderful, understanding and caring consultant I have ever met. Respect and dignity was held upmost at every occasion. The nursing staff, and aneathatists that work with his patients carry his high standards with them also, providing me with a very 'cared-for' treatment, which is especially important in an area such as urology - where there are potentially 'embarrasing' parts of the body examined and treated. I wouldn't want to be treated anywhere else! Well done East Lancashire Hospitals!

Visited in May 2014. Posted on 24 June 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, we will pass your comments on to the team. Which I am sure they will really appreciate.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

I was not looking forward to this.

My 87 year old mother was referred to the Gynaecology outpatient department.
I was dreading the visit...for her and for myself.
It was a worrying time, her having cancer in the past, so we were thinking the worst.
She was booked in to seethe doctor.
I have to say that the visit was far less stressful than I thought.
Checking in, we were welcomed by a smiling receptionist. The waiting area was clean, bright and airy.
We did not have to wait too long before the nurse came and showed us through to the clinic room.
The doctor was patient and very kind to my mother(he treated her like she was his mother - and you can't do better than that).
An examination was required and I am told that this was performed with gentleness and with respect for my mums age and dignity.

The whole visit was marked by the helpfulness of all the staff that we had contact with.
To the Staff...I would like to extend my sincere thanks and tell them Well Done!

We will need to visit again in September. this time there will be far less trepidation

Visited in June 2014. Posted on 17 June 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 27 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we will pass your comments on to the team. Which I am sure they will really appreciate.

Report as unsuitable