Burnley General Hospital

Telephone: 01282 425071
Address: Burnley General Hospital, Casterton Avenue, Burnley, BB10 2PQ
Website: http://www.elht.nhs.uk

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 126 ratings for this hospital

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 126 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(124 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(125 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4.5 out of 5 stars

(124 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4.5 out of 5 stars

(122 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(94 ratings)

Reviews

196 total

Anonymous gave Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

full marks Urgent Care Unit

Very helpful and friendly staff. The unit is very, very clean and bright. I was very satisfied with the treatment I received and was given all the information about my problem and what was going to happen next.

Visited in October 2014. Posted on 02 October 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 06 October 2014

Dear Anonymous
Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our Urgent Care Centre at Burnley General Hospital service, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team. I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like thisfor every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Many thanks again for taking the time to comment
Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Barry gave Urology at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Urology investigation unit Burnley Hospital

Many thanks to the staff at the unit at for their care the shown though out my treatment, Was treated with greatest of respect and thoughtfulness.

Wonderful staff

Visited in October 2014. Posted on 03 October 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 06 October 2014

Dear Barry
Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our Urology service at Burnley General Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team. I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Many thanks again for taking the time to comment and best wishes on your recovery
Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

susan gave Diagnostic Endoscopy at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Endoscopy day has arrived

I came for my routine endoscopy today and have to say was feeling quite nervous. Had no need to be though because all the staff involved, before and after were superb. I opted for sedation, but they froze my throat too. I don't remember much and soon seemed to be in recovery which I'm told was around an hour. I do need another one in 3 months but will not be worried at all next time, great team, thank you all.

Visited in September 2014. Posted on 29 September 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 07 October 2014

Dear Susan
Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our Endoscopy service, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team who will be really pleased to hear your kind words about their care. I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes for your next visit to us in December/ January.
Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

coral gave Urgent care centre at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

visit to urgent care centre 12.09.14

I attended urgent yesterday morning following a visit to my GP who thought i had suspected pulumonary embolism in my lung. The doctor who treated me in urgent was fantastic. He gave me the up most care was very polite and has excellent people skills. I could not fault him at all. If all doctors was like him there would never be any complaints. Im just sorry i cant remember his name i think he should be acknowledged for his excellence. What a wonderful man, he listened to me he carried out all investigations quickly and gave me reasurance. Excellent care received.

Visited in September 2014. Posted on 13 September 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 15 September 2014

Dear Coral
Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our Urgent Care Centre at Burnley General Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team and do hope you are recovering well? I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care and sometimes our most busy areas of the hospital can make this more difficult to do; so it's really pleasing to hear your feedback.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk
Once again many thanks for taking the time to comment
Regards
Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

coral gave Gynaecology at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

appointments at gynaecology

I would like to make acknowledgement of the excellence care and service i receive from my gynaecologist. He is a fantastic brilliant man who always gives me the upmost care when i attend my appointments. He listens, sympathetic honest and very trustworthy. He is a wonderful consultant and im glad hes mine. I really think to many people are highlighted when things go wrong and not enough care professionals are acknowledge when things goes great.

I really want to make it known how excellent this consultant is and he should be praised for it i will always be grateful for the care he provides to me.

Visited in September 2014. Posted on 14 September 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 15 September 2014

Dear Coral
Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our Gynaecology service, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team but would really appreciate you getting in touch- either by phone or email- to confirm your consultant's name so that I can pass on your thanks personally to him and his team? I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk
Regards
Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Faciliator

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Urology at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

exceptional care throughout Urology departments.

We cannot fault the totally professional, yet completely compassionate treatment received during a very worrying period of investigation for possible cancer. Every appointment from initial outpatient clinic to final biopsy procedures were accompanied by detailed explanations, inspiring confidence in treatments etc. With sincere thanks to all staff.

Visited in September 2014. Posted on 19 September 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 22 September 2014

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our Urology service at Burnley General Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so at what I am sure has been a worrying and stressful time for you and your family. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team and I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Many thanks again and best wishes
Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Carol gave Urgent care centre at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Pleasantly surprised in Urgent Care

Took my very elderly mum to Urgent Care after a fall at home. We were seen in triage almost immediately, by a lovely nurse who treated mum very nicely and put her at ease. Very shortly afterwards we were seen by a doctor who questioned and examined mum very thoroughly and arranged immediate X-rays. Throughout the examination he was very respectful towards mum and said thank you on every occasion that she followed an instruction or answered a question. He consulted an expert because of some difficulties analysing mum's xrays and was concerned to be absolutely sure that there was no real damage, since mum was in pain. The new Urgent Care is very clean, bright and modern and the cubicles allow for privacy and dignity. All the doctors and nurses looked very young, but that probably says more about me! Despite her pain, mum was pleased that she had been well looked after and commented on the politeness of the young doctor.

Visited in September 2014. Posted on 24 September 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 25 September 2014

Dear Carol
Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our Urgent Care Centre at Burnley General Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team and do hope that your mother is recovering well after her fall? I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience for the care of your mother with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk
Once again many thanks for commenting and best wishes to your mother
Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Tim Forster gave Urgent care centre at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

treatment at urgent care centre

Had to go there because I crushed and broke my finger on a Saturday. Got straight in snd registered and within 10 minutes was assessed. All staff were extremely efficient and polite taking my mind off what was a painful injury. The place was spotless and all staff I encountered we're professional and efficient Major thanks to the sister she was superb! !!!!

Visited in August 2014. Posted on 30 August 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 03 September 2014

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our Urgent Care Centre at Burnley , and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team and I'm very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care. Your comments about staff and the environment are especially pleasing to hear, and I will make sure the sister in particular is aware of your very positive comment about her.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Many thanks once again for taking the time to comment and I hope the finger is recovering well
Regards
Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

janelledarwen gave Surgery - Breast at Burnley General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Felt like it was a private hospital.

The treatment and respect i received when undergoing tests there recently was amazing. It was even better than a private hospital. The staff are so friendly and the specialist explained everything to me in great detail.

Visited in July 2014. Posted on 13 October 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 13 October 2014

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our Breast Surgery unit at Burnley General Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team. I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Many thanks for taking the time to comment
Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Burnley General Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Urgent Care

went into urgent care at burnley after needing urgent care, treatment and support. went out feeling very hurt and upset at the care that the nurses are offering. i would not recommend going to Burnley Urgent Care centre.

Visited in July 2014. Posted on 05 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Burnley General Hospital replied on 11 July 2014

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our XXXX service, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your concerns are passed onto the team. We are very sorry to hear that your recent experience with us wasn't what you expected as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this a poor visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to improve it for every patient throughout our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.

Or if you would like to discuss further any concerns you may have about our services please contact our Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.

Report as unsuitable