Royal Stoke University Hospital

01782 715444 Newcastle Road , Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, ST4 6QG
http://www.uhnm.nhs.uk

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 167 ratings for this hospital

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 167 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(162 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(162 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(163 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(162 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(139 ratings)

Reviews

198 total

Thomas ryan gave Royal Stoke University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Extremely helpful and pleasant staff

I went to a and e at around 7pm following a crash on my push bike and damage to my knee. From the moment I arrived the staff were all extremely helpful and pleasant. I was told that because it was my knee I would be able to be seen quicker and I was in and out within 2 hours, including xray and dressing. Thankfully there was no serious damage (breaks) to my knee but at no point did anyone make me feel like I was wasting their time and I felt supported and relaxed throughout my visit. Just wanted to say a huge thanks again

Visited in July 2016. Posted on 08 July 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Stoke University Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Royal Stoke University Hospital a rating of 3 stars

Ward 102

Fairly ok ward. Movement of patients is high which probably leads to the lack of personal touch with staff to patients. No communication with family, even when visiting the ward. Some ataff a bit condescending.

Visited in July 2016. Posted on 08 July 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Stoke University Hospital has not yet replied.

Aida HR gave Royal Stoke University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Thanks to everybody!

Very grateful with the people who attend me today at the hospital, specifically one person in particular a nice and brilliant professional.

Visited in July 2016. Posted on 21 July 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Stoke University Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Royal Stoke University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Critical care pod5...excellent!

Absolutely wonderful medical and personal care. I cannot thank my father's support enough. My dad felt honoured and respected. They saved his life and his dignity. Thank you ever so much.

Visited in June 2016. Posted on 08 July 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Stoke University Hospital has not yet replied.

Judith turner gave Colorectal cancer services at Royal Stoke University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

The bowel screening service

Not enough words to say how brilliant in every way this team is. First class delivery of service. All the staff are wonderful. They saved my husbands life. Thank you. The Hospital has to up there with the best in the Country. Well done everyone. From cleaners, porters admin. Professionals and ancilliary staff. The food however has to stop being sent from Wales.

Visited in June 2016. Posted on 12 July 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Stoke University Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Stroke services at Royal Stoke University Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Horrified by the level of patient care.

My 93 year old Gran endured a 6 day stay on this ward after suffering a slight stroke. She was given anti-biotics that she was allergic to despite it being in her records and having a red band on her wrist highlighting the medication. This resulted in her becoming even more unwell and needing the toilet desperately while I was with her. Myself and the domestics asked staff for assistance to get her to the toilet several times, but no one came to help, saying there was only one member of staff available as the others were on a break. In the end I had to tell my Gran to go to the toilet in the bed and she had to lie in the diarrhoea for 10 mins before staff came to help. I cannot begin to tell you how undignified this was for an elderly lady and I could not believe that this was allowed to happen! On three of the 5 days that I visited my Gran on the stroke ward, she did not have a call bell within her reach and I had to put it there for her, so she had no way of alerting staff if she needed them. I pushed to get my Gran out of this ward in the end, as I was convinced if she had stayed any longer, she would have deteriorated further.

Visited in June 2016. Posted on 14 July 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Stoke University Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Gastrointestinal cancer services at Royal Stoke University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent nursing care appalling food

We cannot fault the professionalism, speed, care, treatment and cure of the cancer service in anyway st all. From a pre screening test, my Dad was diagnosed with bowel cancer and the exceptional fast track appointment system has resulted in his cancer being removed totally with no need for evasive surgery, cholostomy bag or chemo therapy xxx thank you to his consultant and all of the amazing support staff pre and post op.

On a totally negative point, the catering facilities and food provided for the patients is appalling. A tasty and nutritious diet is a critical part of aiding a speedy and full recovery. We therefore fail to see how prepackaged, tasteless and uninspiring luke warm food sent from Wales, is deemed as acceptable by those who came up with this ridiculous strategy. Unable to warm food up brought from home, leaves patients with no alternative choice but to practically starve, as the thought of eating literally makes poorly patients physically sick. We appreciate that the hospital is vast, but maybe some of the money spent on the car parking fees could be put to better use on patients food. We plead that this be addressed, as we are convinced that my dads post op recovery and mental state of mind having to stay in longer than planned is because he has practically starved and now battling with eating anything. As I type this, my dad is regretfully back on a drip rather than being home to recover,

Visited in June 2016. Posted on 25 June 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Stoke University Hospital has not yet replied.

Greg Wrench gave Cardiology at Royal Stoke University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Continual Excellent Care

Have been a Heart patient at this hospital for 9 years and I have always had excellent care. The facilities are very clean and we'll designed. My recent visit was June 2016. I visited the Heart and Lung Department (Cardiac) the booking in system was quick and efficient I was greeted by pleasant, professional and friendly staff who made feel at ease. I received excellent medical treatment and everything was explained in a way that I totally understood. Although this department can get very busy it always in my views operates in a professional manner and they endeavour to see you as quick as they can.

Visited in June 2016. Posted on 27 June 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Stoke University Hospital has not yet replied.

Helen Latham gave Urology at Royal Stoke University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Ward 107

My husband is receiving BCG treatment at ward 107 well to cut a long story short the main person we deal with is so caring professional and pleasant they deserve a medal from the NHS people like this don't get the thank you that they deserve. At this moment in time we are both feeling low and as if why us but we feel when we get to the hospital the department are waiting for us ready to delver the best that they can. We leave feeling satisfied and that there are a lot worse off people there than my Rob, we still would rather not have to be there but that's life. Please give our nurse a reward they are invaluable.

Visited in June 2016. Posted on 29 June 2016

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals of North Midlands NHS Trust replied on 13 July 2016

Dear Mrs Latham
Thank you for your feedback about University Hospitals of North Midlands NHS Trust. We are very pleased that you are satisfied with the level of care your husband continues to receive and that you feel you are having a positive experience.
To recognise the special role they have performed in providing excellent care, the Trust runs a 'Your UHNM Hero' award, which promotes an individual's or team's dedication. The team or person get/s a certificate signed by our Chief Executive and have their work promoted on the Trust's website and beyond.
If you would like to nominate the member of staff you have mentioned for this award, please email your nomination to universityhospital@uhns.nhs.uk
Kind regards
Rachel Harrop

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo

Mick Baylis gave Royal Stoke University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

I attended A and E on Saturday evening with dislocated thumb

I arrived last Saturday evening with a dislocated thumb. All the staff were helpful and diligent . I was referred to the trauma ward, where I was attended by nurse. They were brilliant. They anaesthetised the area and relocated the thumb joint. I was on my way back home within 2 hours , and that included X rays before and after relocation. . I have no complaints about my treatment.

Visited in June 2016. Posted on 08 June 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Stoke University Hospital has not yet replied.