Royal Stoke University Hospital

01782 715444 Newcastle Road , Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, ST4 6QG
http://www.uhnm.nhs.uk

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 156 ratings for this hospital

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 156 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(151 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(151 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(152 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(151 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(128 ratings)

Reviews

188 total

Mick Baylis gave Royal Stoke University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

I attended A and E on Saturday evening with dislocated thumb

I arrived last Saturday evening with a dislocated thumb. All the staff were helpful and diligent . I was referred to the trauma ward, where I was attended by nurse. They were brilliant. They anaesthetised the area and relocated the thumb joint. I was on my way back home within 2 hours , and that included X rays before and after relocation. . I have no complaints about my treatment.

Visited in June 2016. Posted on 08 June 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Stoke University Hospital has not yet replied.

Paul Layland gave Cardiothoracic surgery at Royal Stoke University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent care

I was recently admitted to the Royal Stoke for Cardiac surgery .I cannot praise the department enough,from critical care to ward 223,the surgeon and their dedicated staff, gave excellent care to myself, from admission to discharge The surgeon explained the procedure explicitly, leaving me with no illusions which gave me confidence to have the operation. I can only thank them profusely for their concern professionalism and for saving my life..

Visited in June 2016. Posted on 16 June 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Stoke University Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Gastrointestinal cancer services at Royal Stoke University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent nursing care appalling food

We cannot fault the professionalism, speed, care, treatment and cure of the cancer service in anyway st all. From a pre screening test, my Dad was diagnosed with bowel cancer and the exceptional fast track appointment system has resulted in his cancer being removed totally with no need for evasive surgery, cholostomy bag or chemo therapy xxx thank you to his consultant and all of the amazing support staff pre and post op.

On a totally negative point, the catering facilities and food provided for the patients is appalling. A tasty and nutritious diet is a critical part of aiding a speedy and full recovery. We therefore fail to see how prepackaged, tasteless and uninspiring luke warm food sent from Wales, is deemed as acceptable by those who came up with this ridiculous strategy. Unable to warm food up brought from home, leaves patients with no alternative choice but to practically starve, as the thought of eating literally makes poorly patients physically sick. We appreciate that the hospital is vast, but maybe some of the money spent on the car parking fees could be put to better use on patients food. We plead that this be addressed, as we are convinced that my dads post op recovery and mental state of mind having to stay in longer than planned is because he has practically starved and now battling with eating anything. As I type this, my dad is regretfully back on a drip rather than being home to recover,

Visited in June 2016. Posted on 25 June 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Stoke University Hospital has not yet replied.

Greg Wrench gave Cardiology at Royal Stoke University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Continual Excellent Care

Have been a Heart patient at this hospital for 9 years and I have always had excellent care. The facilities are very clean and we'll designed. My recent visit was June 2016. I visited the Heart and Lung Department (Cardiac) the booking in system was quick and efficient I was greeted by pleasant, professional and friendly staff who made feel at ease. I received excellent medical treatment and everything was explained in a way that I totally understood. Although this department can get very busy it always in my views operates in a professional manner and they endeavour to see you as quick as they can.

Visited in June 2016. Posted on 27 June 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Stoke University Hospital has not yet replied.

m.kirkham gave Cardiology at Royal Stoke University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Thanks for my recent treatment on ward 220, 31st May 2016

I was, for the fist time in my life, taken into the Royal Stoke under a blue flashing light recently, having suffered a heart attack near home, at the age of 71 years.
I was, on arrival, immediately taken into the caring hands of the cardiologist and within 40 mins had received a stent to one of my heart arteries, the direct cause of my attack, thereby ending the immediate crisis.
During my overall stay of 4 days I was looked after by the consultant with their quite, confidence building, ever present and pleasant smile, until eventually I was released.
The care and attention given to me by this consultant and by all of the nursing staff on ward 220 was first class during what was a quite frightening, serious and uncertain period of my life.
My thanks also go to all the support staff, from the cleaning personnel and the staff proving food and refreshment and ensuring my comfort and many cups of tea.( just how I like it.!.) ( though the food must be an acquired taste.)
However, regardless of the food I was treated like a part of family by all who attended me.
So may I say to you all, my heartfelt thanks.
M.Kirkham.

Visited in May 2016. Posted on 16 June 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Stoke University Hospital has not yet replied.

David gave Cardiothoracic surgery at Royal Stoke University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Total satisfaction with my stay on ward 223

My treatment, general care and well being were al of the highest standard.the staffs attitude friendliness and technical skill could not be faulted. I would recommend the hospital to anyone.

Visited in May 2016. Posted on 11 May 2016

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals of North Midlands replied on 26 May 2016

Dear 'David'
Thank you for leaving feedback on your experience at University Hospitals of North Midlands.
We really appreciate the feedback on our staff and pleased your were cared for at such a high standard.
Thank you and best wishes

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo

unclescare reviewed Royal Stoke University Hospital

Concerns about my uncle's care in critical care

My uncle has been in critical care for about a month now after his bowl ruptured and he had to have an ileostomy. He was ventilated after surgery and the staff had trouble waking him up off the ventilator so a tracheotomy was done.
He was woken up and doing well until he stared having episodes of uncontrollable fast breathing causing his heart rate and other things to race up. this keeps resulting in the staff sedating him again. The staff are puzzled to what is causing this after doing many tests and x rays and finding nothing. However when he is awake he keeps telling us it happens, then the staff do the suctioning procedure. It put him in awful pain and the staff are very rough despite being told to be gentle.
He has also worn a red band around his wrist warning that he is allergic to penicillin since he was admitted. However we have been informed today that he is 'not in fact allergic to penicillin as he has been on it for 5 days with no reaction' but he has had diarrhea and breathing difficulties, which I am now thinking could be due to the penicillin he has been given.
I don't know whether it's because the staff on critical care are used to dealing with sedated patients but it seems like they aren't listening to him or us and are really rough when turning him an doing suction.
He was also given a speaking valve not long after he was woken up but after being sedated the first time the valve has not been given back to him. It seems they are sedating him the first chance they get. I feel that they don't give him chance to calm these episodes himself first. As he has calmed himself down before and they have sedated him anyway. I am worried he is not been cared for properly.

Visited in May 2016. Posted on 18 May 2016 using Patient Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo

Royal Stoke University Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Royal Stoke University Hospital a rating of 3 stars

a and e

wife came in with broken leg a and e staff good but waiting for doctors waiting for bed had to go home at 2.30 am as needed to get son still my wife had no bed left in waiting area, talked to her next day and she got bed at 9.30 am no one cared just kept telling use we have done are job its up to some one else wife and I very upset .

Visited in May 2016. Posted on 23 May 2016

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals of North Midlands replied on 26 May 2016

Dear 'Anonymous'
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your experience of University Hospitals of North Midlands.
If you would like to contact our PALS Team (Patient Advice and Liaison Service) so that they can investigate the issues that you have raised further. The PALS Team can be contacted on 01782 676450 or 01782 676455 or by emailing patient.advice@uhns.nhs.uk.
Thank you and best wishes

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo

Stephanie gave Nephrology at Royal Stoke University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent Service by the Nephrology Team

Hi, I would like to thank everyone who works in the Nephrology Teams at UHNM and County Hospital. Several years ago, my father was referred to your services when his kidney began to fail. It was then discovered that his other kidney was small and fairly nonfunctional, and had been providing little or no support to the working kidney. My active 70 year old father turned into an old man rapidly, lacking energy to hardly get out of a chair. To cut a long story short, because of the amazing science of nephrology and it's practitioners at Stoke and Stafford my father has been given his life back for a few more years. He was put on a lot of medication initially and his blood pressure was taken under control. After each blood/urine test his medication was tweaked and altered until now, he is on hardly any medication, his energy levels are more or less back to normal (for his age) and his very feeble kidney is managing, for the time being, to keep him going. We know that if he lives much longer he will need to go onto dialysis, but again, isn't this amazing treatment/procedure better than the alternative? He can be a difficult - though I hope not rude - patient... "they don't understand; it's impossible for me to go onto dialysis because I'm so busy!!" ;) but I know that he also appreciates the amazing treatment he has been lucky to receive. I also know that there has always been support and advice readily available to him whenever he had a query, which is why I include the support staff in my message, not just the expert practitioners. Thank you all.

Visited in May 2016. Posted on 02 June 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Stoke University Hospital has not yet replied.

Barbara Jones gave Cardiology at Royal Stoke University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

my husband's heart problems

Over the past 4 weeks my husband has been admitted as an emergency 3 times due to heart problems. leading to a number of 'procedures' The care and attention received each time while in CCU and ward 220 have been second to none., We should be very proud of all the staff working there from consultants down to the smiling face with the tea trolley. Thanks to their skill and care he is still with us.

Visited in April 2016. Posted on 02 May 2016

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals of North Midlands replied on 26 May 2016

Dear 'Barbara Jones'
Thank you for your feedback on your experience at University Hospitals of North Midlands.
We are pleased that the care and attention your husband recieved was second to none and that he has made a full recovery.
Thank you and best wishes

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo