University Hospital Lewisham

020 8333 3000 Lewisham High Street , London, SE13 6LH
http://www.lewishamandgreenwich.nhs.uk

3.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 179 ratings for this hospital

3.5 Stars

3.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 179 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(171 ratings)

Staff co-operation

3.5 out of 5 stars

(171 ratings)

Dignity and respect

3.5 out of 5 stars

(173 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

3.5 out of 5 stars

(167 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(129 ratings)

Reviews

377 total

Cbr gave Podiatry at University Hospital Lewisham a rating of 5 stars

Foot health service

As a newly diagnosed diabetic I was concerned about a wound on my foot and I very reassured and grateful to receive an appointment within a week at the Waldron clinic. I was thoroughly impressed by the service I received and felt very well informed, got excellent treatment and advice and didn't feel rushed at all despite it being the end of the day. One of the best services I have come into contact with since being diagnosed. Many thanks!

Visited in March 2017. Posted on 01 March 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Lewisham replied on 03 March 2017

Thank you for the kind comments about your recent visit to the Waldron Clinic.

We are working very hard to provide the highest standard of care possible and it is a pleasure to hear such positive feedback about our staff. This will be shared with everyone on the team and will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

Patient Experience Team

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General Medicine at University Hospital Lewisham a rating of 1 stars

Absolutely disgusted

My mum visited a & e with early signs of septic shock and was nearly sent home from a & e without even a blood test despite her being hypotensive, tachycardic, febrile and delirious. It is only as I am an ITU nurse and asked for further tests that revealed she had a pyloneohritis with extremely high infection markers in her blood. I challenged a nurse in a & e who had not rechecked my mums low blood pressure and was told I had an 'aggressive attitude', the nurse checked the blood pressure which required further action in the form of fluids. We got her discharged last night as we felt she would be safer at home. We had to push for a chest x ray despite Her being a non smoker with a persistent cough and phlegm of yellow colour and blood for 3 weeks. A constant battle. As a medical professional myself I am very aware of the correct practices and will be taking this to the CQC formally. My mum is still unwell but as I said I feel she is safer at home. I feel sorry for all those people who don't have anyone to advocate for them. An absolute disgrace.

Visited in March 2017. Posted on 08 March 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Lewisham replied on 10 March 2017

I am sorry to read your comments about your Mother’s recent visit to A&E. All staff are trained to carry out their duties with due care and professionalism. I do apologise that this has not been your experience on this occasion.

Please be assured that all the concerns you have raised are acknowledged. I will be highlighting these points to the whole team involved so that we can learn from this with the aim of improving the future level of care we provide to our patients.

If you would like your concerns investigated further and receive a formal response please contact the Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) team on 020 8836 4592. Alternatively you can contact me on lg.patientexperiencelgt@nhs.net

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

Rachel Sugarman
Patient Experience Manager
Lewisham & Greenwich NHS Trust

Report as unsuitable

Daphne reviewed Gastrointestinal and Liver services at University Hospital Lewisham

Unfinished tests

Referring my appointment's to Gastroenterology department,I am very very disappointed,I was waiting 4 months to be seen when actually I didn't even received a letter regarding my appointment on the 09/03/ recently,lucky my gp called and told me.reception nurses always chatting and gossiping,never smiling,always rushing you and lot off chaos between staffs.been seeing two doctors,a nice doctor actually who really wanted to get on my case and I was looking forward to be seen by them again.unfortunately i been told that they left the department.i been seen by another doctor who i didn't not been pleased by their way of talking and the end of diagnostic who give me.very unpleasant and unprofessional.i been left actually to suffer regarding my case,and been discharged.the first doctor wanted to-do more tests,but this happens when you always are seen by different doctors.very disappointed.

Visited in March 2017. Posted on 13 March 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Lewisham has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at University Hospital Lewisham a rating of 5 stars

Very good

Went in for some tests, staff were very friendly and the doctor was thorough and helpful. Facilities were clean and comfortable, had a good experience as far as these things go.

Visited in March 2017. Posted on 16 March 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Lewisham replied on 17 March 2017

Thank you for the kind comments about your recent visit to the Accident and Emergency Department.

We are working very hard to provide the highest standard of care possible and it is a pleasure to hear such positive feedback about our staff. This will be shared with everyone on the team and will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

Patient Experience Team


Report as unsuitable

Francesca Meloni gave Maternity services at University Hospital Lewisham a rating of 5 stars

Amazing!!!! We love you!!! How should be better???

In the 15th of March we had a nice boy and today the 20th of March, we are living at home from the maternity intensive Dept.

The staff was great, amazing, lovely, friendly, professional and you can use other words but the only one think that we can say is: from the delivery each part of the team was incredibile.
Thanks thanks thanks!!!!
Stefano, Francesca and Niccolò-Jamie xxx

Visited in March 2017. Posted on 20 March 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Lewisham has not yet replied.

SarahN gave Ear, Nose & Throat at University Hospital Lewisham a rating of 1 stars

Appointment Line is never answered

I have been trying to reschedule my appointment for the past 5 weeks. I have tried calling at different times of the day and the number just rings for 20 minutes with no answer. I know the NHS has people not turning up but it is galling when I am trying to be pro-active and re-schedule. There is no other communication information such as an email address and when I went through the outpatients appointment line they said Audiology operate their own which is clearly staffed by Invisible people

Visited in February 2017. Posted on 27 February 2017

Report as unsuitable

Lewisham and Greenwich NHS Trust replied on 14 March 2017

I am very sorry for the problems you have encountered trying to get through to the ENT/Audiology department, we are currently reviewing the way telephone lines are managed within the department as we are currently not providing the best service we can to our patients. If you would like to contact me directly on 0203 192 6967 I would be happy to help.
kind regards
Laura Wilkinson
Service Manager ENT, Ophthalmology & Access

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo

Anonymous gave Ear, Nose & Throat at University Hospital Lewisham a rating of 1 stars

Provides poor services to the public

I have been under the ENT department for over 1 year. I have no issues with the care they have provided.
However you can never get through to ENT. They do not answer the phones. There is no excuse for this.
I was desperately trying to leave a message for my consultant. I ended up emailing PALS. I was so shocked to get a response that i was not known to the service for 7 years! I emailed back and said this was incorrect and please double check.
No response from PALS!!
Its been over a week and ive just been ignored.
I emailed a complaint to PALS. No response.

I ended up speaking to central admissions who confirmed my appointment and reassured me that i am still under the care of ENT.

Im so disgusted with PALS and no direct access to the ENT department

Visited in February 2017. Posted on 14 March 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Lewisham replied on 16 March 2017

I am very sorry you had problems getting through to the ENT department, we are aware of these issues and are working with the whole team to improve patient experience.

The PALS Manager is sorry that you have not received a response from the PALS service in respect of the complaint or the information that they originally provided. If you wish to pursue this matter please contact our Complaints Team on: 020 8836 5912.

Kind regards

Service Manager ENT, Ophthalmology & Access
Complaints and PALS Manager

Report as unsuitable

Suzan gave General Surgery at University Hospital Lewisham a rating of 5 stars

Riverside day surgery staff are amazing.

I came in for a biopsy, I was on my own and dreading it, having had bad experiences in the past. The staff were very attentive, nothing was too much trouble. They did everything to make me feel at ease.I was very impressed by how clean and organised everything was. The ward had an air of calm which I found a great benefit as I recovered. Well done to all involved.

Visited in February 2017. Posted on 02 March 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Lewisham replied on 09 March 2017

I am very pleased to hear that you had a positive experience within our Riverside Treatment Centre..

We endeavour to try provide a service tailored to the specific needs of our surgical patients.
I appreciate the time you have taken to comment on your recent visit.

Your comments have been passed onto the staff who cared for you.

Neil Fraser
Theatre & Recovery Coordinator
Lewisham & Greenwich NHS Trust

Report as unsuitable

Janet Mapleston gave Orthopaedics at University Hospital Lewisham a rating of 5 stars

Wonderful caring staff

Our son was a patient on Cedar Ward for many weeks. He had fantastic care and we as a family had huge support. Everyone was so kind and I am sure this helped in part to his recovery. The ward was spotless too as is the rest of the hospital. There seemed to be such a happy atmosphere on the ward. Many many thanks!

Visited in February 2017. Posted on 27 February 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Lewisham replied on 16 March 2017

Thank you for the kind comments about your son’s stay in the hospital. We are working very hard to provide the highest standard of care possible and it is a pleasure to hear such positive feedback about our staff. This will be shared with everyone on the ward and will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

Patient Experience Team

Report as unsuitable

Jen gave Accident and emergency services at University Hospital Lewisham a rating of 4 stars

Pretty good - thank you

Nice receptionist, compassionate nurse, thorough doctor. The waiting time wasn't bad (I was in there for about 2 hours, fifteen minutes overall and this included triage, getting blood taken, and getting results) and I felt listened to throughout. My only feedback would be that - this being winter - there were a lot of people coughing all around me...some coughing up into tissues. Having seen BBC documentaries on how microbes travel, as and there were quite a few people in a smallish space, it made me think I might catch something. Might it not be a good idea to give these people 'catch it, bin it, kill it' advice as they entered, along with a packet of those virus killing tissues and some hand sanitiser, and tell them to only cough into the virus killing tissue, then bin it and sanitse their hands? And maybe tell them not to sit so close to other people? Overall though, I'm so grateful we have this NHS system and grateful for the hard work of the people working at Lewisham hospital.

Visited in February 2017. Posted on 01 February 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Lewisham replied on 07 February 2017

Thank you for your positive comments and taking the time to offer this feedback. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will be shared with the A&E team.
Also thank you for your thoughts on avoiding the spread of germs in A&E. These have been passed to our Infection Control team who will be providing some information posters and looking into what else can feasibly be done.
Kind regards
Patient Experience Team

Report as unsuitable