West Cumberland Hospital

Telephone: 01946 693181
Address: Homewood, Hensingham, Whitehaven, CA28 8JG
Website: http://www.ncuh.nhs.uk

4.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 67 ratings for this hospital

4.5 Stars

4.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 67 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(68 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(69 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4.5 out of 5 stars

(69 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(67 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(61 ratings)

Reviews

111 total

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at West Cumberland Hospital a rating of 3 stars

Great care, so sad that the hospital was very very dirty.

Fantastic care all round, couldn't fault the staff in any way! But.. A dirty tissue in the corner of the lift was still there 24 hours later. The floor of the Patterdale ward near the bed was dirty with thick dust and bits under the bed. Wondered if the cleaners where on strike??

Visited in July 2014. Posted on 19 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

West Cumberland Hospital replied on 22 July 2014

Than you for contacting us regarding your recent experience in Emergency care at West Cumberland Hospital, I am pleased to hear that you found the care to be of such a high standard.
I am sorry to hear your comments regarding cleanliness on the day of your visit; this is not our usual standard. Thank you for drawing it to our attention, I will ensure that this is addressed.
With best wishes for your on going recovery
Regards
Alison
Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

Keith Gibson reviewed Accident and emergency services at West Cumberland Hospital

Unplanned Admission

I went to WCH at about 2015 on Thursday 10/7/2014 with severe chest pains, admitted to A&E, and cared for faultlessly. Ongoing heart attack was diagnosed, and I was transferred to Carlisle by ambulance and had a stent fitted and was on the recovery ward before midnight!
Absolutely first class, and fantastic co-operation between WCH, ambulance service and Cumberland Infirmiary.

Visited in July 2014. Posted on 18 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

West Cumberland Hospital replied on 22 July 2014

Dear Mr Gibson
Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent care at our West Cumberland and Carlisle Hospitals . I am delighted that you found the care to be so well coordinated , and satsfactory, it must have been a worrying time for you.
I am sure that the teams would want to join me in sending good wishes for your on going recovery
Regards
Alison
Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

Ally gave Urology at West Cumberland Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Overwater 2 - wonderful

Admitted as elective surgery April/May. Despite a mix up over the ward I was originally admitted to (expeditiously dealt with by the friendly nurse on Skiddaw Ward) I can honestly say the care and treatment I received was outstanding. From the cleaners to consultants, every staff member treated my fellow patients and I with warmth, compassion, dignity & respect even though their work loads were phenomenal. I was particularly grateful to the healthcare assistants for their kindness.
The theatre staff were supremely efficient and considerate and the anaethetist and his team were first class (no after effects at all).
The consultant was a personable and patient gentleman, tolerantly addressing my concerns and always respectful during the examinations before going the extra mile in surgery (thank you again). Having been unlucky to have an unusual illness I consider myself very fortunate that there was such an experienced and skilled surgeon locally.
I don't think I can ever fully express how grateful I am to the staff involved in my care but nevertheless, thank you :)

Visited in May 2014. Posted on 06 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

West Cumberland Hospital replied on 07 July 2014

Dear Ally
Thank you so much for taking the time to contact us about this recent experience.
I am so delighted that you found the care to be of such a high standard by all staff in the teams that you encountered , and hope that you have had a successful outcome and good recovery .

I will ensure that the team are made aware of your comments, I am sure that they will be very graified to know that the standards of care to which they aspire were so evidently met .

Many thanks again
Best wishes for you on going recovery
Alison
Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

Mz gave Respiratory Medicine at West Cumberland Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Paterdale and honistor ward

I was admited to hospital on the 3rd of march after going to my doctors with sever shortness of breath and chronic pain in my ribs i was on paterdale ward and the quality of care was amazing it was very stressfull been in when you can barely breath but all the staff kept me calm and dealt with the treatment and care telling me what was happening all the way threw my stay on this ward and treating the lung infection i had,i then was transfered to honister and had the same amazing care of all the staff there for the month i was in. I would like to say a great big thank you to all the staff on both wards that looked after me they are all one in a million

Visited in March 2014. Posted on 12 June 2014

Report as unsuitable

West Cumberland Hospital replied on 17 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments about your recent experience at West Cumberland Hospital . The teams will be very pleased to hear this positive feedback about thier care.
With best wishes for your on gong recovery
Alison
Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Geriatric Medicine at West Cumberland Hospital a rating of 1 stars

one word awful

My father aged 90 was admitted to jenkin ward after 10 hour wait in casualty. Total miscommunication ageism at its finest. Awful experience from start to finish.
Father lost nearly 1 stone in 2 weeks. Staff couldnt care less and no they wernt busy just couldnt be bothered.

Visited in May 2014. Posted on 10 June 2014

Report as unsuitable

West Cumberland Hospital replied on 17 June 2014

I am so sorry to hear of this . The standard that you describe is not typical .
I will draw this to the attention of the teams to see what lessons can be learned.
In the meantime you are welcome to get in touch with our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) team at the West Cumberland Hospital to explain your experience in more detail, so that we can better understand the situation. You can reach the PALS team on 01946 523818 .
With kind regards and thanks for getting in touch

Alison
Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Gastrointestinal and Liver services at West Cumberland Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Daughter in pain

My daughter is currently on overwater ward in this hospital. She is in agony with gallstones. So far they have given her tramadol, morphine and oxycodone. She is still in constant agony and yet the only thing the consultants are prepared to do is to change her pain relief to "find one that works" so they can discharge her. Surely getting the gallstones out would give her instant relief but nooooooo, far to easy. Instead she must go through more agony so she can be kicked out of the hospital to wait on the waiting list for a slot. Shocking!

Visited in June 2014. Posted on 07 June 2014

Report as unsuitable

West Cumberland Hospital replied on 10 June 2014

I am sorry to hear that your daughter is unwell, this must be an anxious time for you all . I would encourage your daughter to discuss her care plan and rationale with the medical team on the ward.
Alternatively you may wish to contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) team at the West Cumberland Hospital to explain your experience in more detail. You can reach the PALS team on 01946 523818
Thank you for getting in touch

Regards
Alison
Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Geriatric Medicine at West Cumberland Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Geriatric care

My mum was in the hospital for two weeks. For eight days she wasn't helped to shower leaving her dirty. She was left waiting when she needed the toilet. Handled roughly when she messed the bed. We felt she was left in a corner and ignored because she is old. There was no joined up thinking with care and attempting to find out what was happening at a distance was difficult, and you felt dismissed.

Visited in May 2014. Posted on 03 June 2014

Report as unsuitable

West Cumberland Hospital replied on 10 June 2014

Many thanks for contacting us about the experience of your mother recently at West Cumberland Infirmary. I am sorry that this was not satisfactory , the standard which you describe is not one that would be acceptable.
We would clearly like to learn more about what happened and would welcome you to get in touch with our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) team at the West Cumberland Hospital to explain this particular experience in more detail. You can reach the PALS team on 01946 523818.

With many thanks for getting in touch
Alison
Patient Experience


Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at West Cumberland Hospital a rating of 2 stars

daughters x rays

M y daughter had fallen off her bike and was obviously in a lot of pain so I immediately took her to the casualty department.This was Wednesday the 29th may 2014.She was x rayed in due course due to a lot of pain in right arm.The results we were assured to be clear with no sign of fracture.I took her home and that night and the following day she continued to be in a lot of pain.On the morning of Friday 30th may I was dissatisfied with the swelling in her arm,and with the obvious pain my daughter was experiencing so I decided to return to hospital for a second opinion.My daughters arm was x rayed again and the conclusion was that yes the arm actually was fractured.The explanation to why this wasn't seen on the previous visit was that the fracture was on the back of her arm and that area hadn't been x rayed.I cannot believe that anyone would be so un-thorough as to not investigate all possible areas for damage.My daughter is only three years old and to be honest the thought of the unnecessary pain she endured due to this makes my blood boil.Who are we meant to trust.I am only glad that I did trust my instincts and return my little girl to the hospital,rather than take the word of staff doing half a job.Kate now has a temporary cast on .She returns next week to get other and to be honest my faith in the hospital is minimal.

Visited in May 2014. Posted on 31 May 2014

Report as unsuitable

West Cumberland Hospital replied on 09 June 2014

I am so sorry to hear that your daughter's care was not satisfactory.
I will draw this to the attention of the team as a priority, and will ensure that lessons are learned for the future . I do hope that she goes on to make a good recovery

Very many thanks for getting in touch with us
Alison
Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Cardiology at West Cumberland Hospital a rating of 5 stars

CCU Gable ward.

Our mum had a stroke 26/05/14, after A&E she was transferred to CCU Gable, the staff at all times were very helpful polite but most of all professional in every way.
Thanks to all in CCU who helped with Irene's care, now transferred to the Stroke ward still on Gable and the care, is still of the same high standard. on a very busy ward well done to all the staff. We feel very confident in the care given. Not forgetting the paramedic and the ambulance crew who got to us within 10mins of the call and made the care journey possible.

Visited in May 2014. Posted on 31 May 2014

Report as unsuitable

West Cumberland Hospital replied on 09 June 2014

Very many thanks for contacting us about the recent care of your mother at West Cumberland Hospital . I am pleased to hear that it was satisfactory on so may fronts . I will pass your comments on to the team.
With best wishes
Alison
Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

susan gave Gynaecology at West Cumberland Hospital a rating of 5 stars

hysterectomy, overwater 1

i live in carlisle and was a bit nervous about going to whitehaven but from the moment i stepped foot into the hospital i was put at ease.i had a hysterectomy and was on overwater 1 i really cant praise all the staff enough they were fantastic.if i had any worries at all there was always a member of staff i could talk openly to day or night.so all i can say is thank you to all the other staff that made my stay as comfortable as it was.

Visited in April 2014. Posted on 19 May 2014

Report as unsuitable

West Cumberland Hospital replied on 19 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to contact us with this positive feedback, it is greatly appreciated.
I will ensure that the team at Whitehaven are made aware.
With best wishes for your on going recovery

Alison
Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable