University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust

0300 303 1573 University Hospitals of Leicester Headquarters, Level 3, Balmoral Building, Leicester Royal Infirmary, Infirmary Square , Leicester, Leicestershire, LE1 5WW
http://www.leicestershospitals.nhs.uk

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 18 ratings for this trust

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 18 ratings for this trust

Reviews

22 total

Alisonegypt gave University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

THE PURELY AMAZING MR B

I recently had my Gall Bladder removed at Glenfield Hospital Ward 24.
My Surgeon was purely brilliant, i cannot thank them enough.
At every Out Patients Appointments i managed to see My Consultant.
They even turned up to do My ERCP Procedure, and removal of Bilary stent as well.
All the Nursing Staff on ward 24 at Glenfield Hospital were totally amazing.
Thank you also day case unit i and 2 at LGH for your wonderful care over the past 6 months.
Cannot leave without thanking the surgeon's Secretary, you are truly amazing as well.

Visited in October 2017. Posted on 12 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust replied on 13 October 2017

Dear Alison,

Thank you for sending in your review. We are delighted to hear that you are pleased with your experiences at both Glenfield Hospital and Leicester General Hospital. We hope that you are continuing to recover well following your procedures. Your kind messages will be sent on to the teams involved in your care and they will be thrilled to read them.

We would like to wish you all the very best.

Kind regards,
Communications Team
Leicester’s Hospitals

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

thank you

just like to send a note to all the staff at the .a.e dept and doctors ect that came to Carole,s aid on Monday morning if it was not for the Ambulance team and staff Carole would not have made it and also the staff on ward 16 that then took over with her care.you are al very wonderful people.she has since been moved to Glenfeield hospital and is doing very well, there was so many of you saying wish you well and hope all goes well.now you know she is so much better after the care you gave her .Thank you all once again.
roger.carole also says thank you all xxxxxxxx
thank you all at the Glenfeild hospital wards 16 and hdu for the care that you are giving Carole so as to aid her recovery.

Visited in September 2017. Posted on 06 September 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust replied on 14 September 2017

Dear Roger,

Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback. We are sorry to hear that Carole has been admitted to hospital but are happy to hear you are pleased with the care Carole has received at Leicester Royal Infirmary Accident & Emergency and Ward 16; and subsequently HDU at Glenfield Hospital. We would like to pass on our very best to both Carole and yourself and we will make sure to send your message of thanks to all of the relevant departments who will be delighted to receive it.

Best wishes,
The Communications Team
Leicester’s Hospitals

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous reviewed University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust

ERCP UHL

I have had two ERCP at LGH .
The first procedure was aborted half way through due to patient distress .as the IV diazepam did not sedate me what so ever.
I had to return 6 weeks later for the same procedure to be done under profol.
I had a sphinectony and the placement of a plastic stent fitted into the bile duct.
7 weeks post Lapcholy I have to return to the hospital tomorrow for removal of stent via ercp but with liight sedation .
I have told them then that the procedure will be aborted again due to the sedation not being enough to relax me I have rang at least 6 times to state that I will need the procedure done under profol but nobody is listening to the Patient in my case.
In this case patient centred care is just not happening no decisions made about me without me in my case nobody is listening.
But apart from this utterly excellent care .
But please listen to your Patients nobody knows their own body more but the patient themselves.

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 08 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust replied on 13 October 2017

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you have been having trouble receiving a response from the Gastroenterology department at Leicester General Hospital to your sedation query. In order for us to look into this for you, we will require some additional information from you. If you are happy to, please email communications@uhl-tr.nhs.uk with your full name, address, date of birth, hospital number, procedure date(s) and a brief summary of your query and we can investigate this further.

Kind regards,
Communications Team
Leicester’s Hospitals

Report as unsuitable

Jan Smith reviewed University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust

Good when you can find it!

I transported a friend to emergency at LRI on Saturday last. The signage was dire - I followed the signs for A&E and saw a sign pointing back the way I had come on a one way street. I asked for help from a warden and drove round the block and had to cut across a bus lane to access the hospital. I was able to drop my friend at Emergency and she was dealt with very efficiently and extremely well but the nearest blue badge parking was Havelock Street which was much too far away for me to walk. Had I been on my own I don't know what I would have done.
I suggest the old signs should be removed and replaced with new ones which are early enough to be useful.
There should be some disabled parking at the new Emergency department.
It should be made clear that you can use the bus lane to access the hospital.

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 14 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust replied on 16 August 2017

Dear Jan,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.
We're really sorry to hear that you had difficulty finding out Emergency Department at the Royal Infirmary. Signage is still under review and we take on board your comments which will be forwarded on to the appropriate teams.
Thank you for raising this to our attention.
Kind regards
Communications Team
Leicester's Hospitals

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Tanya gave Diabetic Medicine at University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

No wait time at all very efficient service

Was seen by a consultant for my initial consultation and an SHO for the follow up appointment; both times there was virtually no waiting. At the follow up appointment I was seen the moment I walked into the clinic. Highly efficient service with friendly staff and competent professionals, very impressed.

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 24 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust replied on 30 August 2017

Dear Tanya,

Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with your recent experience in Diabetic Medicine. You kind comments will be passed on to the department who will be very appreciative.

Best wishes,
Communications Team
Leicester's Hospitals

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Fine staff and good treatment

I was discharged last Sunday from Ward 22 at the LRI following major bowel surgery. I cannot speak too highly of the care I received from all the staff--medical, nursing and ancillary. They all coped with the extreme heat wave we had and kept us all as cool as possible. Yes, there were times when a few language problems occurred, and , yes, not all staff were equally as good, but overall I am more than pleased with the service I was given--save for one thing only! The quality of NHS cuisine remains appallingly low and poor in choice--why, for example the nasty yoghurts with no ice cream as an alternative, while much of the fish tastes as if it left the Ark before Noah! That apart, well done to one and all--you looked after me with patience and dignity and were there when needed--and I will admit I was not always an easy patient.

Visited in June 2017. Posted on 25 June 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust replied on 27 June 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted to hear about the care you received. We are, however, sorry to hear about your concerns regarding the food. We will pass on your feedback to the teams involved who will take on board your comments so that we can improve our service for the future.

Kind regards,

Communications Team
Leicester's Hospitals

Report as unsuitable

JennieF gave University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Endoscopy department LRi

I visited this department this morning for an endoscopy which I was absolutely dreading. The staff were all friendly and caring, talked me through the procedure and made the whole experience a lot less unpleasant than I imagined it would be.

Visited in May 2017. Posted on 11 May 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust replied on 18 May 2017

Dear Jennie, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for the Endoscopy Department. We are pleased to hear that whilst nervous about the procedure, all went well and you found our staff very supportive.

Your comments are appreciated and will be circulated to the teams involved in your care. Best wishes, Communications Team, Leicester's Hospitals.

Report as unsuitable

Kathleen Rowley reviewed at University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust

Ankle class physio

I have recently attended the ankle class as a result of breaking my ankle last November.
I was due to attend this week on 6th June at 10 am. I was ill all over the weekend and come Monday I was still really ill so I knew I wouldn't be able to attend the following day. Like I said I was really poorly with the flu, I mean the real flu where you ache so much you can't move, severe shivering and sweating, throat like razor blade and being in bed for 4 days ( not just a sniffle) I tried to inform someone as best I could first thing on Monday morning bearing in mind I could not speak so I emailed. I received a reply on Tuesday afternoon about 3 pm asking me for some information . By this time my appointment had come and gone so I was marked as a no show.
When I was well enough to speak I telephoned to explain why but no-one was interested, I was just a no show and I would have to go back to my doctor for a new referral. Have you tried to get a doctors appointment these days. How is my ankle ever supposed to get better.
I am very disappointed and feel rejected by the system
K Rowley

Visited in May 2017. Posted on 08 June 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust replied on 22 June 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Firstly we're sorry to hear that you have been unwell and sorry that when you called staff seemed unhelpful and disinterested - this is not acceptable and we would like to look into this for you. If you could please email: communications@uhl-tr.nhs with your name, address, date of birth and hospital number then we can pass this onto the relevant team to see if we can sort out another appointment for you.

Kind regards

Communications Team
Leicester's Hospitals

Report as unsuitable

Andy gave at University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust a rating of 4 stars

Injections

I have still's disease which l understand is very rare. My consultant is brilliant, very supportive as are all the staff.
My only problem is this: l have methotrexate injections every week. Not unusual as many people with rheumatoid arthritis use them but the problem is where do l take my sharps bin when full. The first rheumatology nurse told me to call the council but they said they won't take them. Then l was told to go back to the pharmacy but they said no. Then l was told main reception at the royal. Then A & E. Finally l was told to take them to rheumatology and when l got there l was told l should have asked the council to collect. That was 6 months ago and when l took the latest sharps box back to rheumatology today again l was told they wont take them. There must be hundreds of us in Leicester who inject ourselves so l dont understand the confusion. Eventually the receptionist got advice and l was told on this occasion to leave it with them. When asked if l could have a complaints form they didn't have any. I dread going through this every time.

Visited in March 2017. Posted on 20 March 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust replied on 30 March 2017

Dear Andy,

Thank you for your feedback. We will contact the team to find out where you need to go and ensure that this is clearly signposted for all patients. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, it will help us improve our service.

Kind regards,

Communications Team
Leicester's Hospitals

Report as unsuitable

Zara gave Diabetic Medicine at University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust a rating of 2 stars

Second procedure

My daughter who is 3 had tonsils and adenoids removed due to breathing difficulties snoring and sleep apnoea.
This was in October. After the operation no one came over and told me anything. Instead she was discharged even though she became very poorly.
My child did not eat or drink for about 11 days and a walk in centre gave her oramorph for pain but didn't deal with the fact she wasn't eating or drinking.
As time went on she got better roughly took us 4 weeks to get her back to normal.
She then started having more difficulties again with her breathing. I have now been told it's possible her adenoids have enlarged again. And to check this they would need to put her anaesthetic and check and if they find its enlarged they will remove it. My child who is still 3 has to once again be put under anaesthetic. Surely this isn't good for a 3 year old considering her adenoids may not be the issue and it could be something else. They wont do any scans/X-rays but would rather admit her and put her under anaesthetic to check.
I then get told my daughters the 3rd case in 15 years to have a second procedure and it could mean it wasn't removed properly in the first place.
My child has suffered for nearly 4 years with other health problems and and royal infirmary have still not got any diagnosis or found what is wrong with her.
Im so shocked and apalled by the service given. And not only that but how they make a young child go through this and traumatise her. Even after making numerous complaints all I get is that they will give feedback and speak to staff. The amount of issues I've had is unreal. And they wont let us get referred to a different hospital even though I'm willing to travel.

Visited in March 2017. Posted on 22 March 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust replied on 30 March 2017

Dear Reviewer,

We are very sorry to hear about your concerns regarding your daughter's treatment. We would like to investigate further so as to be able to provide a full response. Could you please send her details (name, date of birth, address and NHS number) to communications@uhl-tr.nhs.uk along with the details of your complaint. Alternatively please contact our complaints team https://www.leicestershospitals.nhs.uk/patients/patient-welfare/patient-information-and-liaison-service/contact-form/.

Kind regards,

Communications Team
Leicester's Hospitals

Report as unsuitable