Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

0161 276 1234 Trust Headquarters, Cobbett House, Manchester Royal Infirmary, Oxford Road , Manchester, M13 9WL
http://www.cmft.nhs.uk

3.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 15 ratings for this trust

3.5 Stars

3.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 15 ratings for this trust

Reviews

23 total

Anonymous gave Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 1 stars

Not nice experience

I checked in at A & E 12.40 midnight and came out 8.35 in the morning! After 8 long hours I came home with an advice to and see GP. Staff ware not helpful and day shift reception staff were rude. Can't say anything nice this time. Not recommended to anyone

Visited in December 2016. Posted on 13 December 2016

Report as unsuitable

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust replied on 28 December 2016

Mrs Catherine Bartlett, Lead Nurse for Urgent Care at the MRI is sorry to read your comments regarding your attendance to the Manchester Royal Infirmary Emergency Department (ED) and that your experience was not as positive as she would have expected. It is important to us that comments are heard and are seen as an opportunity provided to the service to make changes and improvements wherever possible.

Lead Nurse Bartlett notes that it is very difficult to respond to the specific concerns you have raised due to the anonymity of the posts on NHS choices. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about your experience when you visited the Emergency Department. This would also enable us to identify the specific staff you are referring to. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk quoting reference number PO16/0298, they will be able to discuss this with you.

Lead Nurse Bartlett has explained that whilst the department strives to meet the 4-hour Department of Health quality indicator time for all patients, the key priority for all staff is to ensure the safe and effective care of patients. During times of increased demand on urgent care services, and limited availability of beds throughout the hospital, this can cause delays for patients. Lead Nurse Bartlett is sorry that as a result of department pressures you experienced a long wait. The function of the ED is to provide emergency care to patients who may need urgent review due to a critical condition. The ED is often a gateway for patients to be admitted to the hospital for specialised care which requires them to be an inpatient to receive treatment. Unfortunately there are only a limited number of inpatient beds and therefore if the treatment patients require can be provided via their GP, or on an outpatient basis, the ED team will sign post patients to these services or make the necessary referrals. Lead Nurse Bartlett is sorry that this information was not provided to you during you attendance to the MRI ED and this has subsequently left you disappointed with the service that you received.

In response to your feedback regarding the staff behaviour, Lead Nurse Bartlett would like to apologise on behalf of the department for the unhelpful and rude behaviour that you report. This is not the standard of behaviour she would expect. We would expect all staff in the ED to be aware of the importance of good communication, good standards of care and to strive to deliver care that is considerate to the needs of patients. All staff within the department attend 'Customer Service Training' as part of their continual development. Within the Trust we also provide dedicated training sessions for staff in all areas and all disciplines in relation to the Values and Behaviours that the Trust expects staff to demonstrate in each and every interaction with patients. Lead Nurse Bartlett has confirmed that all ED staff have undertaken this training, and apologises that you experienced rude and unprofessional behaviour.

Lead Nurse Bartlett will share your comments with the staff in the department to ensure they are aware of the impact of their behaviour.

The Patient Experience Team.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 5 stars

Colonoscopy team

I can't overestimate how professional the Colonoscopy team were in dealing with my procedure. They were kind, courteous and explained everything so clearly. What was an invasive procedure, resonant with apprehension was made much more comfortable. A profound thanks to the receptionists, nurses and doctor who were involved.

Visited in October 2016. Posted on 30 October 2016

Report as unsuitable

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust replied on 09 November 2016


Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on the NHS Choices webpage regarding the positive communication and courtesy shown to you by all members of the Colonoscopy Department. We will ensure your comments are shared with the Divisional Manager and the clinical team involved.

Report as unsuitable

M Jane Small reviewed Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Poor care at the ManchestervDiabetes Centre

Another poor patient journey. Needed support but can't see the nurse for nearly 3 months. No drop in clinnic - what is the point?

Visited in August 2016. Posted on 08 August 2016

Report as unsuitable

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust has not yet replied.

JAN ANDREW gave Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 5 stars

ICU

i and my family cannot thank the staff on icu for the care and medical treatment my mother received whilst in your care . The staff were professional, caring and compassionate .The communication skills were outstanding . Thank you.

Visited in July 2016. Posted on 06 August 2016

Report as unsuitable

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust replied on 11 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment complimenting the staff on the Intensive Care Unit at Manchester Royal Infirmary. We were pleased to read that you found our staff to be professional and compassionate. We aim to provide our patients with a high standard of care and we were happy that the care of our staff helped during what must have been a difficult time. Its is always good to receive feedback which highlights the hard work and dedication of our staff. We were also very pleased that you felt informed and that the communication skills of our staff contributed to a positive experience. We will ensure that your feedback is passed on to the Lead Nurse of the Intensive Care Unit so that it can be shared with the wider team.

The Patient Experience Team.

Report as unsuitable

Sarah gave Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 5 stars

Emergency department

Fantastic care today for my 90 year old
Mother.
My mum has dementia- every member of the staff treated her with dignity and respect- fantastic care delivered with warmth and care- and all on a bank holiday. Well done

Visited in May 2016. Posted on 02 May 2016

Report as unsuitable

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust replied on 04 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comment on the NHS Choices Website. We were pleased to read that your mother was treated with respect and dignity whilst visiting the Accident and Emergency Department at the Manchester Royal Infirmary. Maintaing the Dignity of all patients is of the utmost importance to the Trust. We were especially pleased that you felt that your mother was provided with a good level of care and that our staff contributed to a positive experience for you both. We will pass your feedback on the the Operational Manager of the Accident and Emergency Department so that it can be shared with the wider staff.

The Patient Experience Team.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 5 stars

Intensive Care Unit MRI

My father had a heart attack and spent 11 days in ICU. He eventually passed away. I cannot speak highly enough about the care he received. All staff were compassionate and did everything they could to care for my dad and to make things as good as they could be in the circumstances for us. From the receptionists, through to the nurses and doctors, all the staff are a credit to the MRI and the NHS. Their dedication, hard work and above all communication skills made life a lot easy for my family at this traumatic time.

Visited in April 2016. Posted on 14 June 2016

Report as unsuitable

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust replied on 20 July 2016

Thank you taking the time to post your kind comment on the NHS Choices website, we apologise for the delay in providing our response, unfortunately we did not receive notification of your posting. We were sorry to read that your father has passed away, but we were glad to know that you had a positive experience with Intensive Care Unit Team at the Manchester Royal Infirmary. We understand that this must have been a very difficult time for you and your family and we were very pleased to read that the compassion and dedication of our staff contributed to a good standard of care for your father. We will pass your feedback on to the Lead Nurse of the Intensive Care Unit so that it can be shared with the wider team.

The Patient Experience Team.

Report as unsuitable

GoingPrivateSoon gave Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 1 stars

I thought it was me that was deaf not you

The Audiology department of this hospital is an absolute joke. There are two phone numbers printed on appointment letters which state "If you are unable to attend your appointment, please contact us on 0161 276 4367 or 0161 276 4099" Yet they never, ever answer the phone. I have been trying for days to get through. I've complained to PALS but they are useless and don't make any difference. Not only do they never answer the phone but it doesn't divert anywhere and there is no opportunity to leave a message to ask for anyone to call you back. What kind of a department is it that never answers the phone to it's patients.

Visited in April 2016. Posted on 15 April 2016

Report as unsuitable

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust replied on 16 May 2016

We were very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices / Patient Opinion website about your difficulty when contacting the Audiology department at the Manchester Royal Infirmary as this is not the standard that would we expect. We would always expect telephone calls and enquiries from patients to be answered as promptly as possible and we must apologise that this has not been your experience. We understand that this is very frustrating and your comments will be passed on to the department concerned. Having spoken with Audiology we understand that there has been an issue with the line and that this is now resolved. Audiology can be contacted on the following extension: 0161 276 4613.

We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about the specific difficulties that you experienced. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you.


That Patient Experience Team

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous reviewed Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Do you have a receptionist?

I have been trying to contact the main number 0161 276 1234 for the last 2 weeks and not one person has answered!

Visited in April 2016. Posted on 19 April 2016

Report as unsuitable

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust replied on 29 April 2016

Mrs Mitchell, Deputy Head of Facilities Management, would like to apologise that you have experienced problems contacting our switchboard recently. There have been some Manchester wide failures at the BT Exchanges over the last few weeks and these may have affected you; however, whilst the Trust does have a standard to answer calls within 30 seconds, but we know that we only achieve this approximately 70% of the time. We are currently in the process of installing new switchboard technology which will improve how the calls are managed and improve the service delivered, including call answering time.

The Patient Experience Team

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 3 stars

my 18 yr old son discharged himself as no vegan food!

my vegan son was admitted due to an accident with his leg, he didnt have a phone to contact us parents money or even a jacket. noone suggested they could ring home for him, we live 5 hours drive away. but we would have come as quickly as possible, he was cared for well, yet they couldnt provide him with anything more than a few lettace leaves and a slice of tomato, ater his op, he discharged himself due to being very hungrey,

Visited in March 2016. Posted on 15 March 2016

Report as unsuitable

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust replied on 16 March 2016


Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on the NHS Choices website regarding your son’s experience

We were extremely sorry to hear about your son’s experience which is certainly not the standard we expect to provide.

We take all issues surrounding patient experience very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about your son’s experience as it is difficult to respond fully to the specific concerns you have raised without being able to investigate these in detail. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be able to discuss this with you.

The Patient Experience Team

Report as unsuitable

Moira Robb reviewed Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Bed Blocking

My sister had an operation to clear the arteries in her leg. The operation was a great success and she should have left the ward within a few days, however, she is still in there and deteriorating each day. The nursing care has been fantastic, they could not have been kinder or more caring, however, they have decided that she is no longer safe to live on her own. This is very strange as she was happily living on her own and managing very well before she went into hospital. Talking to Consultant friends, the anesthetic may well have affected her but I, and all the friends who visit her, think she would be so much better back in her own flat. As it is, the hospital is pay for an agency nurse, whose sole duty is to sit with my sister all day and ensure she does not leave the ward. The whole situation is ludicrous, every day I am told they are waiting for a bed in Trafford Hospital, every day she takes up a bed which could be used by somebody on the waiting list and, worst of all, she is deteriorating mentally and physically. Please can something be done.

Visited in March 2016. Posted on 15 April 2016

Report as unsuitable

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust replied on 29 April 2016

We are very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices / Patient Opinion website about your sister's experience at the Manchester Royal Infirmary. Unfortunately, it is very difficult to be able to respond to the specific concerns you have raised and offer an informed explanation regarding the care and management of your sister's condition without being able to investigate in more detail. In order to do this, we would need your sister's permission to investigate any concerns she may have regarding her care and also her personal details.

We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you.

The Patient Experience Team

Report as unsuitable