University Hospital Of North Tees

01642 617617 Hardwick Road , Stockton-on-Tees, Cleveland, TS19 8PE
http://www.nth.nhs.uk

4.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 134 ratings for this hospital

4.5 Stars

4.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 134 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(138 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(136 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4.5 out of 5 stars

(139 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4.5 out of 5 stars

(134 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(119 ratings)

Reviews

391 total

McBride gave Orthopaedics at University Hospital Of North Tees a rating of 5 stars

Excellent Treatment from staff on ward 32

The staff on this ward have been looking after a relative since the 14th December 2016. The Ward Matron and other staff have been very helpful when dealing with the relative (who has dementia) and she has been very well looked after. The Ward Matron has always been very approachable, taken time to alleviate any concerns and for all the treatment given to our relative we are extremely thankful to all staff.

Visited in January 2017. Posted on 06 January 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Of North Tees replied on 16 January 2017

Thank you for leaving a comment on NHS Choices. Your kind comments will be forwarded to the team involved in your care. Please accept our good wishes for the future.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at University Hospital Of North Tees a rating of 5 stars

Care and respect during difficult decicions

I have recently miscarried and medicine did not work ! I was given the option of surgical proceedure which i was petrified of i had read online blogs etc but was my only option . I arrived at 7am to be taken straight to my bed and settled in , all nursing staff friendly even though i was a crying wreck , they put me at ease and was took to surgery , the doctor was reassuring and their fellow staff kept me busy talking and next thing i know im waking up ! Surreal experience for me but felt well cared for and cant praise the team that prepped , transported, put me to sleep, woke me up , transported me again , and provided a well welcomed cup of tea back on the ward . i have heard mixed reviews of this hospital but they were brilliant with me and thankyou ward 30 and the womens health team you made a difficult time alot easier for me , many thanks but hope not to see you again for a very long time no offence x?

Visited in December 2016. Posted on 02 December 2016

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Of North Tees replied on 07 December 2016

Thank you for leaving a comment on NHS Choices. Your kind comments will be forwarded to the team involved in your care. Please accept our good wishes for the future.

Report as unsuitable

Gary Musgrove gave General Surgery at University Hospital Of North Tees a rating of 5 stars

Surgical Decisions Unit

I had to take my mam to SDU today and I was delighted with the units friendly nursing and medical staff. She was seen immediately and on way home within 4 hours or so. Only one minor negative comment I would say is that the patients who could drink were not offered a jug of water or a cup of tea. Being in the profession myself, it was nice to experience excellent NHS care from a patient / relative perspective. Well done and thank you to all staff on duty on 10th November 2016.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 10 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Of North Tees replied on 17 November 2016

Thank you for leaving a comment on NHS Choices. Your kind comments will be forwarded to the team involved in your mother's care. Please accept our good wishes for the future.

Report as unsuitable

Darren Wilson gave Colorectal cancer services at University Hospital Of North Tees a rating of 5 stars

Nothing but praise

Recently underwent a colonoscopy and had polyps removed. Whilst this is a potentially undignified and intrusive procedure I cannot praise all the staff enough for their professional and above all friendly approach to their work. Not necessarily something I would want to repeat often but at least if I do I know I will be treated by professional and friendly staff. Well done all

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 23 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Of North Tees replied on 29 November 2016

Thank you for leaving a comment on NHS Choices. Your kind comments will be forwarded to the team involved in your care. Please accept our good wishes for the future.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at University Hospital Of North Tees a rating of 5 stars

A and E visit

Hi I attended the department at 3.30 am this morning with abdominal pain.Unlike all those who moan about the service I found I was treated quickly and appropriately. I was impressed at the speed of obtaining analgesia and soon felt much better. Luckily once my symptoms resolved I was free to go home. Every one I spoke to was friendly and polite,despite being at the end of a twelve hour shift. They also took my opinion on board.The only slight issue was that I was in the one room with no door, just a curtain, this did reduced your confidentiality as I was able to hear every word during handover for most patients in the department.

Visited in October 2016. Posted on 19 October 2016

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Of North Tees replied on 28 October 2016

Thank you for leaving a comment on NHS Choices. Your kind comments will be forwarded to the team involved in your care. Please accept our good wishes for the future. We have also forwarded your comments regarding the room with no door and confidentiality, if you would like to discuss this further, please contact the Patient Experience Team on 01642 624719.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Surgery - Breast at University Hospital Of North Tees a rating of 5 stars

Breast Clinic

After attending routine breast screening I was recalled for further investigation. I was contacted promptly and treated with dignity and respect in a warm and friendly manner. I could not fault any of the whole experience from start to finish. I was informed throughout of the treatment which was necessary and given advice on who to contact for further support if needed.

Visited in October 2016. Posted on 28 October 2016

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Of North Tees replied on 09 November 2016

Thank you for leaving a comment on NHS Choices. Your kind comments will be forwarded to the team involved in your care. Please accept our good wishes for the future.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at University Hospital Of North Tees a rating of 5 stars

Emergency visit

Thank you to every one of the staff who looked after me during my recent visit to A&E and admission to EAU. Every one put me at my ease and explained everything. Well done, even the food was good!

Visited in October 2016. Posted on 29 October 2016

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Of North Tees replied on 09 November 2016

Thank you for leaving a comment on NHS Choices. Your kind comments will be forwarded to the team involved in your care. Please accept our good wishes for the future.

Report as unsuitable

Lucy Turner gave General Surgery at University Hospital Of North Tees a rating of 5 stars

Excellent stay in hospital after surgery

My stay at north tees hospital from before my surgery till my discharge 4 days later was absolutely excellent , all staff who looked after me from start to finish were friendly professional and very caring . I was extremely nervous to have my surgery as it was the only time I've had an operation under anethestic , the staff involved in my care made sure everything was explained clearly and made the experience really calm and not as bad as expected. I was involved in every part of my treatment and understood everything that was going on . My care on ward 31 and then 33 was fantastic felt really comfortable and cared for from the domestic staff to the surgeon who performed my operation which all I can say about them is that what they do is amazing and I've had quite a major op with the tiniest scar on my abdomen can't believe how brilliant that is . I felt compelled to write this review as a lot of people moan about our nhs and the care they are given when I have found it the complete opposite fantastic staff who are brilliant at what they do I would definitely be recommending north tees to anyone who asks me in the future , thank you to everybody who looked after me and keep doing the amazing job that you are already doing , thanks again xxx

Visited in October 2016. Posted on 05 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Of North Tees replied on 09 November 2016

Thank you for leaving a comment on NHS Choices. Your kind comments will be forwarded to the team involved in your care. Please accept our good wishes for the future.

Report as unsuitable

Rebecca gave Gynaecology at University Hospital Of North Tees a rating of 3 stars

Hospital stay after hysterectomy

I felt my operation went well and was cared for well by the night staff who were on duty for the 2 nights I was in. They were very caring and considerate. I found the day staff much less so. My pump for pain was taken down the day after my operation which left me In considerable discomfort. I felt I was rushed out as quickly as possible by the Doctors who visited me. I was discharged on a Sunday and as the physios don't work over the weekend (why?) I was not seen by them at all to help with mobilising. This is a very emotional operation and the caring and empathy aspect post op was just not there. I ended up in A&E a day after I was discharged as I was in a lot of pain and was also diagnosed with a chest infection. The Doctors were amazing in A&E, much more caring and understanding, and I felt much more confident once I left A&E later that day. Perhaps if I hadn't been rushed home Doctors and ward staff would have discovered the chest infection and got my pain under control and it may have been less costly to the NHS than an ambulance having to take me from home to A&E once I'd been discharged?

Visited in September 2016. Posted on 23 October 2016

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Of North Tees replied on 28 October 2016

Thank you for contacting NHS Choices. To enable the Trust to investigate your concerns could you please contact the Patient Experience Team on 01642 624719 or email patientexperience@nth.nhs.uk.

Report as unsuitable

Bengreaves89 gave Accident and emergency services at University Hospital Of North Tees a rating of 1 stars

The NHS - A Mythical Creature

So we wonder why the NHS seems to be going to the dogs on a daily basis, and we wonder why we hear all the terrible stories. Well I hate to tell it to you guys but the system is nothing but a white whale. Something we like to believe is around us, always there to help. What proceeds is only one mans experience but shows a majority of underlining flaws in the system.... My partner and I had recently found we were pregnant with our first child, only 6-7 weeks but still exciting times . My partner started to experience heavy pains, sickness and diharea. Me being ever the pessimist (and a workaholic) decided if do a quick google as I was half way through a shift. You can never be to careful of course but my prognosis suggested that these were normal cramps and pains for a woman of this condition and the diharea linked to an ongoing case of IBS and spicey rice. Despite this and explaining my case to my partner , she insisted we attend North tees hospital. We arrived at 5:20 and were seen in record time (20 minutes), questions, blood pressure , Heart rate and temp all taken aswell as urine . Que 1 hour wait... After getting seen again, and taking BP, HR and temp again! We waited in a room for 45 minutes, to be told we'd be moved upstairs in no time. Que 15 min wait. Another nurse then comes to take .. You guessed it .. HR, BP and temp before another 15 minute wait for a porter who insisted we had to use a wheelchair citing health and safety.. (What a useless waste of resources) . We were sent upstairs and ... You'll never guess what ... HR, BP , temp & another urine sample. Now my thoughts are in 2hrs 35 mins ... Very little will have changed , and despite all the information being written down still did the minor tests. ( again the rate at which these were done I believe it to be a huge drain on the system) ... Again we waited 1 hr 30 mins to finally see a gynaecologist who'd forgotten about us. Finally we get in to see the doctor. The ends in sight ! It must be . 'We'll send you for a scan, it will be a bit of a wait mind you' ..... I'm speechless at this point ... I've waited 4 hours and the only information you can give me that the pains my now distressed, upset, hungry and tired partner is getting are probably all normal part of pregnancy. But as a precaution they'll send us for a scan. To me , I'd already got this basic information and you can imagine my anger that waiting over 4 hours to be told something I already knew to me was like trying to get a conversation out of a stone Buddha I have sat in my garden. I'ts now 9:58pm exactly and we still don't know if we are going for a scan or not! 4hrs 32 minutes !!! If you find a hungry looking skeleton, clutching a pregnant blonde girl in a few weeks time , It's probably me , I'm just waiting to be seen still. What a total and utter drain on my taxes. A joke of a system that doesn't work.

Visited in September 2016. Posted on 23 September 2016

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Of North Tees replied on 05 October 2016

Thank you for contacting NHS Choices. To enable the Trust to investigate your concerns could you please contact the Patient Experience Team on 01642 624719 or email patientexperience@nth.nhs.uk.

Report as unsuitable