Kent and Canterbury Hospital

01227 766877 Kent and Canterbury Hospital, Ethelbert Road , Canterbury, Kent, CT1 3NG
http://www.ekhuft.nhs.uk/kentandcanterburyhospital

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 158 ratings for this hospital

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 158 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(154 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(154 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(151 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(151 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(116 ratings)

Reviews

313 total

David baker gave Urology at Kent and Canterbury Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Urology department

Stayed in clark ward.absolutely amazed with the quality of care and compassion given to me from all staff,including cleaning staff (auxiliary).to anybody on the government side,we must never loose this.after feeling anxious and worried on arrival I was put at ease through out.proud to have our n.h.s.

Visited in June 2017. Posted on 03 June 2017

Report as unsuitable

Kent and Canterbury Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Rheumatology at Kent and Canterbury Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Rude and dismissive not caring and compassionate at all

I have had several appointments cancelled one of which was by the consultant, without even seeing me, saying the appointment was not needed as i had seen a consultant privately. The letter was rude and abrupt even my GP was shocked by it. I was then told today that i needed to see a neurologist ..why had this not been advised in the cancellation letter from this consultant ? I only saw a consultant privately after 4 weeks of waiting as i had had no response from the nhs despite being referred on an urgent 14 day referral. I was in such severe pain i could not stand it any more.. Today i waited 20 mins and was dismissed in 5 mins. This consultant didn't care was unhelpful and rude. I work for the nhs and i am disgusted at the service. I now have to wait for the letter from consultant to get to GP then GP to refer to neurology so more weeks waiting for some help.
I will be reporting this to the gmc and hospital complaints dept

Visited in June 2017. Posted on 07 June 2017

Report as unsuitable

Kent and Canterbury Hospital has not yet replied.

Kate550 reviewed Kent and Canterbury Hospital

Amazing Volunteers : )

I was running late for my appointment and it was my first visit to your Hospital. As soon as I entered the Hospital I was greeted by a friendly volunteer asking if I needed help. I was so grateful for directions to the Dermatology area as not only was I late, I did not know where to go.
I want to say a massive thank you for all their help by driving his mobility scooter round to show me where to go. I am so grateful & you made me feel so welcome & reassured me as I was worrying I was late. Amazing guys they do an excellent job: ) Thank you.

Visited in June 2017. Posted on 08 June 2017 using Patient Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo

Kent and Canterbury Hospital has not yet replied.

Emma gave Therapy services at Kent and Canterbury Hospital a rating of 5 stars

hydrotheropy

I was to say a massive thank you to two members of staff in hydrotheropy department my son got sent there and he was a very quiet shy boy my son was very lucky to have 1 2 1 support from one member of staff it was his last session today and i was sad to say bye my son had come out of his self thanks to this person, who is so friendly and welcoming same as the other member of staff, but they built a great bond with my son made him feel so at easy my son looked foward to it every week these 2people are what make the nhs thank you
P.s if you read this you will no who it is xxxx

Visited in June 2017. Posted on 09 June 2017

Report as unsuitable

Kent and Canterbury Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous reviewed Diagnostic Imaging at Kent and Canterbury Hospital

Awaiting results. Virtual c.t. Colonoscopy

having had a virtual ct colonoscopy on the4th May and having been given a information sheet stating that I would receive the results in 10 days I am surprised that 32 days later I am still awaiting my results . This is of particular concern Sat the 12th I was called for a emergency blood transfusion , having had a blood test that day. All of this remains in explained. This is causing a great deal of stress.

Visited in May 2017. Posted on 05 June 2017

Report as unsuitable

Kent and Canterbury Hospital has not yet replied.

Mrs Suitably Underwhelmed reviewed Kent and Canterbury Hospital

My father was admitted to Kent and Canterbury hospital on Wednesday 10th May...

My father was admitted to Kent and Canterbury hospital on Wednesday 10th May 2017 by ambulance when he collapsed at home and my mother called for help. They responded very swiftly and I was able to speak to one of the paramedics on the phone who told me he was going to be taken to hospital. Unfortunately I live a three hour drive away so I needed clear information as to how serious his condition was. The paramedic said "well he's still here" to my question on if it was life threatening and suggested I phoned the hospital an hour later.
On the first time of calling the hospital I was put through to "Resus" and was told me he had a chest infection and pneumonia and was waiting for a consultant to see him. The second time I called about 4. 45pm and was put through to the operator after the extension number given to me by Resus didn't work and was put through to AMU. The staff member in AMU was extremely rude and dismissive and refused to give me any information on my fathers condition even when I explained how far away I live and that I also needed to give my mother an update. All they said was that they couldn't tell me anything and neither could anyone else. I feel this is ridiculous as for all I know he could be dying and I need to get there straight away or I can take a bit of time to make a strategic plan of how to support my mother and father as well as dealing with other commitments rather than making a knee jerk reaction and rushing to the hospital. Also this is at odds of being given information from someone in Resus.
This is completely different to the experience I had with my father in law who was admitted for a triple heart bypass to the Queen Elizabeth hospital in Birmingham where both myself and husband could phone whenever we wished to get updates from the nurse caring from him in the intensive care unit or, later when he returned to the ward.
I feel this interaction did not meet the hospital's values of "people feel cared for as individuals" - I felt they spoke to me like a piece of dirt on their shoe, "people feel safe, reassured and involved" - I don't at all feel reassured, "people feel teamwork, trust and respect sit at the heart of everything we do" - I certainly did not feel respected by them and they did not I still me with trust and "people feel confident we are making a difference".
Fortunately as I am typing this a doctor phoned to give me an update and so I now know more information and can make an informed decision on the best course of action. The doctor did also say that only doctors can give certain information. With the pressure on the nhs as it is it seems a bit ironic that even more doctors time will be taken up with speaking to concerned relatives when this could be dealt with by a suitably qualified nurse. I am hoping that my conversation with this nurse was recorded so it can be reviewed and if it is dreamed necessary further training given to this member of staff.

Visited in May 2017. Posted on 10 May 2017 using Patient Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo

Chief Nurse and Director Of Quality, East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust replied on 13 May 2017

Thank you so much for contacting us and giving us this important feedback. I am so sorry for the interaction you had with the nursing staff in AMU. I will ask Matron Paula Knights to share this posting with the staff so that they understand the importance of courtesy and giving relevant information to worried families. I am so sorry that this added to your stress.
once again, thank you for letting us know.
Sally

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo

Anonymous gave at Kent and Canterbury Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Couldn't ask for more

I went to hospital after being informed by 111 to go up in the middle of the night. The computers were all down due to the hack but the doctors still saw me quite quickly. Got everything done and checked swiftly and everyone was very friendly. Thank you NHS!

Visited in May 2017. Posted on 13 May 2017

Report as unsuitable

Chief Nurse and Director Of Quality, East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust replied on 13 May 2017

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. I will make sure the staff receive this.
I hope you continue to make a good recovery and are feeling better.
Sally

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo

Anonymous gave Pharmacy available on-site at Kent and Canterbury Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Pharmacy

I felt I had to write a review of the service I received at the Kent and Canterbury pharmacy. I arrived on a Saturday morning to drop a prescription in for my daughter. Very helpful staff who said they had everything in stock and would get it ready straight away. Normally we have a problem with certain items being available for her condition.
I am very concerned that if the downgrade/ closure goes ahead for this hospital then then only equivalent service, even for just obtaining medicines, is over 15 miles in both directions!
She used to be seen in Canterbury outpatients but now has to travel to Ashford who didn't have the medicines in stock and the waiting time at that pharmacy was over two hours!

Visited in May 2017. Posted on 21 May 2017

Report as unsuitable

Kent and Canterbury Hospital replied on 02 June 2017

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the KCH pharmacy. I would like to assure you there will be no changes to the service the pharmacy offers or their opening hours.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Kent and Canterbury Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent care given to my father at the end of his life.

My father was admitted to hospital on 23/05/17 in the end stage of his battle with cancer. We thought that the staff in the Acute ward were excellent in the treatment they provided. They were professional and compassionate towards my father and us. We were particularly grateful for their efforts in arranging a phone call to ensure that my sister was able to say "goodbye" to my father. Once again thank you.

Visited in May 2017. Posted on 31 May 2017

Report as unsuitable

Kent and Canterbury Hospital replied on 02 June 2017

I am so glad the care and communication was so compassionate at such a difficult time for your family and would like to offer heartfelt condolences to you and your family.

Report as unsuitable

Peter H gave Urology at Kent and Canterbury Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent care

I recently spent three days in the Clarke unit for a TURP operation I was extremely pleased with the whole experience, all the staff were very professional and helpful and I felt well cared for and looked after. The only complaint I have was the about the information leaflet I was given when I opted for surgery rather than further medication. The information had obviously been photocopied many times and alternate pages in my copy were printed upside down. I felt that at a time when I was obviously somewhat anxious about what was going to happen I needed clear well produced information not poorly produced and confusing literature which I had to try to read.
Apart from that I have no complaints whatsoever and would like to thank all the staff who treated me and its not that I don't like you all but I hope that we don't have to meet again in the near future.

Visited in April 2017. Posted on 09 June 2017

Report as unsuitable

Kent and Canterbury Hospital has not yet replied.