Check here for alerts

Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital

01603 286 286 Colney Lane , Norwich, Norfolk, NR4 7UY
http://www.nnuh.nhs.uk

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 217 ratings for this hospital

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 217 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(216 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(218 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(218 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(217 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(183 ratings)

Reviews

716 total

Melanie Picton gave Plastic surgery at Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

EASTON AND EARSHAM WARDS

I was admitted to the emergency surgical assessment unit with cat bites.Staff were fantastic, reassuring, caring and kind. My husband was treated with care too, concerned for his journey back home in the fog. The ward was very noisy during the night, but the staff were so busy, I can't see that this could be avoided. The whole team was brilliant, domestics, nurses, doctors and all! I was the taken to Plastic surgery and given a warm welcome, again the whole team were amazing, clearly had so much work to do and did it with positive, friendly and enthusiastic attitudes. The food and choice of menu was excellent.. much improved from 5 years ago when I had abdominal surgery...but you still need more pillows! Thanks to all for looking after me so professionally and sending me safely back home.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 04 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Sarah Eastwood, PALS Manager, Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust replied on 08 November 2016

Dear Patient
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent inpatient stay. I am pleased to read that staff on Easton and Earsham Wards were reassuring, caring, kind, positive and friendly. I was pleased to read that your husband was also treated with care.
I hope that you are recovering well.
We will share your comments with the staff involved in your care.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
With kind regards
Sarah Eastwood
Patient Advice and Liaison Service Manager (PALS)

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo

Maureen gave Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Wonderfull care and attention in all departments

Wonderful care and attention from admission,appointments,pre.op care after care ,and care on the ward.surgeon and anthiatist very kind and reassuring.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 06 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Sarah Eastwood, PALS Manager, Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust replied on 08 November 2016

Dear Patient
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your care in the hospital. I am pleased to read that staff were kind and reassuring. I hope you are recovering well.
We will share your comments with hospital staff. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
With kind regards
Sarah Eastwood
Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Manager

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo

Jason Burgess gave Maternity services at Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Maternity Services

My wife gave birth by C-Section on 5th November to a beautiful baby girl, who was only 34 weeks, so is currently in NICU.

There have been so many people involved in my wife's (and baby's) care, from Radiography, Antenatal clinic, Delivery suite, Cley ward, Blakeney ward and Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, during her stay and over the previous visits. I can't single any one person out, as the standard of care has been so high. I couldn't imagine it could've been any better had it been private healthcare.

The only qualms I have about this hospital is the way the frontline staff are seemingly treated by administration. They have to at time tell patients and family some difficult things, for which they may receive flack from the people they are explaining it to. Please remember it's the decision makers who make these decisions. Some are stupid red tape, but some are there for good reason. The staff didn't know of the recent car parking revisions. It was on the news, but the staff didn't get informed and I didn't bother with the news whilst my wife and baby were in hospital.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 08 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Sarah Eastwood, PALS Manager, Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust replied on 11 November 2016

Dear Family Member
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the care your wife and daughter has received at the hospital. I am pleased to read that they received a high standard of care and I hope that they are both doing well.
We will share your praise and feedback with hospital staff. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
With kind regards
Sarah Eastwood
Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Manager

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo

daveace reviewed Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital

Best Service Ever

Arrived for my appointment on time was greeted straight away by a friendly helpful receptionist, by the time I had completed a small form I was called into gastro area by another very friendly nice nurse, got changed, then was taken by another wonderful friendly nurse to the treatment room, the Doctor doing the procedure could not have been any friendlier or gentle, all over quickly. Got changed went home. A wonderful experience with the best hospital staff I thank you all so very much.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 10 November 2016 using Patient Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo

Sarah Eastwood, PALS Manager, Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust replied on 11 November 2016

Dear Patient
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your experience in the Gastroenterology Department. I am pleased to read that staff were friendly, helpful and gentle. I hope you are recovering well.
We will share your comments with staff in the department. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
With kind regards
Sarah Eastwood
Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Manager

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo

Emma Heath gave Respiratory Medicine at Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Palliative care

I have spent the last week at this amazing hospital .I came in sad times to be with my aunt in her last days .Myself and my sister were overwhelmed with the care ,compassion ,dignity , respect and support offered by AMU and Colishore ward . From sisters ,staff nurses ,support staff ,cleaners ,security .Every single person was so lovely .It was summed up one day in the queue for lunch in your restaurant / cafe . My sister commented that she was surprised to pay for a sachet of vinegar , a person behind us maybe ambulance staff , said they agreed "but what was free at this hospital was love " no truer a word was spoken !!!!Thank you xxxx

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 13 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Sarah Eastwood, PALS Manager, Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust replied on 14 November 2016

Dear Family Member
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your aunt's care and treatment at the hospital. I am pleased to read that staff treated her with compassion, dignity and respect.
We will share your comments with all staff involved with your relative's care in the hospital.
Thank you for taking the time to write your thanks and praise.
With kind regards
Sarah Eastwood
Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Manager

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo

Henry Linford gave Neurology at Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

A Very Satistied customer,

I was rushed here Sunday evening 20 th November, I am now leaving four days later I have been looked after every minute of the day, every person from top to the cleaners just go out of their way to look after you, Nothing is too much trouble, to my way of thinking they should all get more money, Thank you all from the bottom of my heart.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 24 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Sarah Eastwood, PALS Manager, Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust replied on 30 November 2016

Dear Patient
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your experiences in the hospital from the Neurology Team. I am pleased to read that staff were caring. I hope you are recovering well following your inpatient stay.
We will share your comments with senior staff in the department. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
With kind regards
Sarah Eastwood
Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Manager

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo

brian debbage gave Urology at Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent Treatment

Many thanks to all the teams in the Urology pre-assessment clinic, and the Urology Department at the Arthur South Day Procedure Unit for excellent treatment a few days ago. I did have a bit of a wait being last on the list for a Urolift procedure, but it was well worth the wait, as the benefits are already being noticed. I would say to anyone needing treatment in this department, that you treated with the utmost dignity and respect from all the staff.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 26 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Sarah Eastwood, PALS Manager, Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust replied on 30 November 2016

Dear Patient
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your experiences in the hospital from the Urology Department and the Day Procedure Unit. I am pleased to read that you were treated with dignity and respect and you had excellent care. I hope you are recovering well following your procedure.
We will share your comments with senior staff in the department. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
With kind regards
Sarah Eastwood
Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Manager

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo

Chris gave Gastrointestinal and Liver services at Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Gastroenterology dept

Today I have had a Gastroscopy and a Colonoscopy procedure. I was apprehensive about this as I had had the latter done before(at a different hospital) and it was not a nice experience. However, today was totally different - I arrived in dept to friendly and welcoming reception staff - I was taken by a nurse to do consent forms and listen to the procedure/s fully explained, the nurse was very friendly and easy to talk to - I was taken to the area where I had to change and the nurse stopped on the way to pick up two larger, more comfortable gowns for me, this I really appreciated. The staff were busy in the unit but smiley and chatty, it was a very reassuring atmosphere - once in the procedure room all was explained again and I was spoken with throughout and put at ease. Thank you for making something rather unpleasant easily bearable.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 29 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Sarah Eastwood, PALS Manager, Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust replied on 30 November 2016

Dear Patient
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your experiences in the hospital from the Gastroenterology Unit. I am pleased to read that you were treated with dignity and respect and you had excellent care. I hope you are recovering well following your procedures.
We will share your comments with senior staff in the department. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
With kind regards
Sarah Eastwood
Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Manager

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo

Sophie gave Cardiology at Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital a rating of 2 stars

afraid to leave my brother overnight

My brother was taken to this hospital a&e and then intensive care. His heart stopped and he was in induced coma. The staff were brilliant there. I couldn't not thank enough. But when they transferred him to coronary/kilverstone ward he was on his own. I've been staying with him and in 6 hours no one show up to check his blood pressure or simply ask if he is ok. We asked for pain killers twice as he had headache but no one got back to us. After his heart injury he's got short term memory loss and couldn't tell us if he saw a doctor or not. When we asked for information ourselves not much was given . Very disappointed with the staff and still in unknown future

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 29 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Cardiology at Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Cardiac Care

The care I received from all staff was superb. Both from as an outpatient to being rushed in after a heart attack and subsequent catheterisation. I am over 80 and at all times was treated i with dignify and respect. It would be difficult to pick out any one person as they were all exceptional. I cannot thank everyone enough.Throughout the whole of my treatment every aspect is explained in simple words. Although very busy on the ward there was always time for me. Prior to this admission, I have always received private care. I must point out that NHS care is more than comparable. Thank you to all for the kindness shown.

Visited in October 2016. Posted on 29 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital has not yet replied.