Check here for alerts

Scunthorpe General Hospital

01724 282282 Cliff Gardens , Scunthorpe, DN15 7BH
http://www.nlg.nhs.uk/hospitals/scunthorpe

3.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 242 ratings for this hospital

3.5 Stars

3.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 242 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(233 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(235 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(235 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(234 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(193 ratings)

Reviews

478 total

Anonymous gave Orthopaedics at Scunthorpe General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

thank you everyone

I was injured in October 2015 while in the Peak district and my care was transferred to Scunthorpe once I returned home. I have attended the trauma clinic on several occasions, yes sometimes it was a long wait but on those occasions the doctors were dealing with emergencies. Was referred for mri and once diagnosed referred to surgeon and eventually physio while waiting for my operation. In the meantime a very helpful member of staff kept me up to date with how long I would be waiting so that I could prepare for someone to cover at work. Despite the months that passed they remembered their promise to keep me fully informed. Surgery took place this week, the surgeon seemed very pleased with the outcome. The staff on ward ten were great throughout. I have a lot more appointments and physio ahead of me but will eventually be back out there doing the outdoorsy things I love including cycling with my daughter. Thanks to everyone involved, nurses, health care assistants and other ward staff, x Ray, mri and all at blue sky imaging, doctors, anesthetists, surgeons, staff in recovery, physio , pharmacists, admin and anyone else who has so far contributed to my treatment so far.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 11 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Scunthorpe General Hospital has not yet replied.

Kimberley Robinson gave Gynaecology at Scunthorpe General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Endometrial biopsy

Today I was in for a endometrial biopsy. The staff were absolutely brilliant, so reassuring and kind, one of the staff members even held my hand because they could see I was nervous. everything was explained to me, and I was consulted on where I felt I wanted to go next with my problem. The staff in this department have all been lovely, both on todays visit and previously. In addition, I was was seen 10 minutes early :) Thank you for taking such good care of me. xxx

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 15 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Scunthorpe General Hospital has not yet replied.

CLARE LUSBY gave Scunthorpe General Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Parking / safety of road users and pedestrians

Having came to visit my mum on numerous occasions this week and finding it impossible to get parked within the hospital grounds or on the near by brant road, I feel its very distressing and frustrating to all. What with the traffic overflowing on to the main road blocking other road users view it wont be long before there is a serious accident there. Needless to say whoever thought it would be a good idea to change the visiting times hasn't accessed the safety of the public before doing so. The safety of others should come before the visiting times! The visiting times have always worked in the past, why fix something if it isn't broken? Also all of the emissions from the cars waiting to get parked are beneficial to nobody's health!

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 24 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Scunthorpe General Hospital has not yet replied.

Wendy England gave Orthopaedics at Scunthorpe General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Torn tendon in shoulder

I don't know what it was that the Consutant injected into my shoulder but it has been an absolute miracle! Not only has my shoulder been easier, I have not suffered back pain, feet aching and indeed my knee is definitely more manageable. Thank you so much. I have been for a long walk today. Most enjoyable.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 24 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Scunthorpe General Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Scunthorpe General Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Staff rushed off their feet, and rude because of it

Overheard a doctor telling a nurse their patient had been waiting for care for 5 & a half hours their response was 'I've been here all night', also over heard one nurse telling another 'you shouldn't have listened to them im your boss!' Reception staff rude first thing they said to me was 'yes I'm inputting something at the moment!' without eye contact, instead of Hi there I will be with you in a second. Barely any security to be seen, staff rushed off their feet moaning about how they'd been at work 12 hours and was sick of it. Just not very good care overall due to obvious staffing problems, I hope I'm not in the need of care in scunthorpe and I don't ever have to go to A&E.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 27 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Scunthorpe General Hospital has not yet replied.

Peter gave Ear, Nose & Throat at Scunthorpe General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent fast and curtious service

From the Doctors referral to collecting My hearing aid could not have been any faster, the nurse who attended in the hospital made me feel very settled and kept me informed as to the whys and wherefores of the tests and diagnosis

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 28 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Scunthorpe General Hospital has not yet replied.

Janet gave Gynaecology at Scunthorpe General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Very caring staff

Following recent surgery I would like to pass on my thanks to the staff of ward 19, theatres, anaesthetists, consultants and all other staff involved in my care. At all times I was treated with the utmost care and respect. From admission to discharge I could not have asked for better care and treatment.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 28 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Scunthorpe General Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Orthopaedics at Scunthorpe General Hospital a rating of 3 stars

Even the clinics are running late

It's a shame that my 9 year old daughter has to wait for over two hours before been seen in Fracture Clinic, pathetic service.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 30 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Scunthorpe General Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Scunthorpe General Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Lack of information and treatment

I was admitted to SGH emergency department on 1 October in the early hours due to a suicidal risk however I have a burn on my right arm that I was referred to Pinderfields regional burn unit previously. I asked twice for this to be redressed as the dressing had slipped to which I was told someone would be with me shortly, I know this was unrelated to my admission however I need to protect this injury from infections and I have the appropriate supplies at home from Pinderfields. This is became an infection risk that I highlighted but to no avail and was just told they would be with me shortly, I was quite concerned as I have had to have a skin graft previously and I am very aware of infection in relation to burns etc, the team seemed very uninterested and as I mentioned previously I could have redressed the injury at home with supplies from Pinderfields, I appreciate an ED is a busy department however when I approached the nurses station everyone was sat back, laughing and joking. I understand staff need a break but it was over an hour still waiting with a risk of infection which could lead to me having another skin graft that i absolutely don't want. I takes literally 2 mins to redress as I experience at Pinderfields.

Visited in October 2016. Posted on 01 October 2016

Report as unsuitable

Scunthorpe General Hospital replied on 27 October 2016

Hello, I'm sorry to hear about this, please could I suggest you raise these issues with our patient advice and liaison team? You can contact them on 01472 290132 or nlg-tr.pals@nhs.net
Kind regards
Sarah Mainprize

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Maternity services at Scunthorpe General Hospital a rating of 2 stars

Poor communication and lacking concern

Rushing bloods through would suggest to me that results would be notified within 5 hours. Not the case as I write on behalf of my wife in ward 26. Just spoken to a third person, I'm not too sure the previous two acted upon my kind requests, and was met with a similar attitude I have poor memories of from our time in ward 26 four years ago.

Visited in October 2016. Posted on 05 October 2016

Report as unsuitable

Scunthorpe General Hospital has not yet replied.