Scunthorpe General Hospital

Telephone: 01724 282282
Address: Cliff Gardens, Scunthorpe, DN15 7BH
Website: http://www.nlg.nhs.uk/

3.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 179 ratings for this hospital

3.5 Stars

3.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 179 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(180 ratings)

Staff co-operation

3.5 out of 5 stars

(182 ratings)

Dignity and respect

3.5 out of 5 stars

(183 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

3.5 out of 5 stars

(179 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(153 ratings)

Reviews

248 total

Michelle Hazell gave Gastrointestinal and Liver services at Scunthorpe General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Endoscopy with sedation

I visited the endoscopy unit with the same worrys as many coming for this procedure for the first time.

At first I met the receptionist who was a little abrupt and
and a little lacking in the caring side of things.

However the nurses and endoscopist were second to none! They were very caring, upbeat, jovial and totally reassuring!

I was taken down to the room where I had my procedure, I had a cannula put in but didn't feel a thing due to the Emla cream I had put on both hands a few hours before.
The sedation was enough to make the endoscopy bearable and was no where near as bad as I had imagined it would be. (The team were fab and I could not fault them in any way)

Afterwards I was wheeled into recovery feeling a bit woozy from the sedation but ok.
I had my cannula removed but must apologise to the nurses because I managed to faint due to my phobia of needles........sorry!

So overall it was a very good experience with fantastic staff that looked after extremely well!

Thank you from Michelle H

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 05 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

Scunthorpe General Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Geriatric Medicine at Scunthorpe General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

stroke care/ unit

Your staff in this unit are not only highly trained, they care. My husband was treated with the utmost respect he understood everything the staff explained about what and why they were doing various tests etc at every point I was included and put at ease about telephoning when I couldn't be there ie outside visiting hours. Could not have asked for better care.
Not same sex but in this unit so what dignity was preserved at all times and my husband was too frightened, scared and poorly to care!

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 07 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

Scunthorpe General Hospital has not yet replied.

Nicki gave Accident and emergency services at Scunthorpe General Hospital a rating of 1 stars

It's a bit of a joke

I'm currently sat waiting for the out of hours GP, we have been here for 2 hours, the wait time for A&E to was 1 and a half hours long, I feel we should've taken that route, I am here for my girlfriend who is in a lot of pain. We rang 111 and they referred us here. She is in obvious pain and discomfort, we should have been seen by now. I found out that they only have 1 GP on shift, I get that staff shortages are a problem, but it's a problem that should be fixed, right now, somebody is bound to be on call right? This hospital is pants, if I had another option I would be there.

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 08 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

Scunthorpe General Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous reviewed Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Scunthorpe General Hospital

Facilities

Could not find details of the Park and Ride Hospital Bus on the Web site.

(this is about the web site, not the hospital.)

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 05 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

Scunthorpe General Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Ophthalmology at Scunthorpe General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Magical cure

I had an appointment with the consultant because the cataract surgery created fog gibes at the back of the new lens. The appointment was on Monday and I was told that the laser treatment would be in four to six weeks. Wednesday eveningI received a phone call asking if it was OK to go to have the laser surgery the following Sunday at 9am. It was.
Sunday the consultant lasered my eye and the result was instant. Even with drops in the eye it was seeing better than it had for years.
It seems that the hospital, in an attempt to get the list reduced, had decided to do the surgery on a Sunday morning and the consultant was free.

Thank you. My sight us now as good as it ever has been.

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 10 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

Scunthorpe General Hospital has not yet replied.

Charlotte Wenban gave Accident and emergency services at Scunthorpe General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent Service

I attended the A&E at Scunthorpe General Hospital late on a Friday night/Saturday morning in Feb 2015. I would like to thank all of the staff working that night for their high standards of care and bedside manner. I was seen by triage within 10 minutes and by a doctor within 30 minutes - a true testament that even with struggling resources, it is still possible to run an efficient Emergency Department. Every single member of the team from the triage and reception staff, to the nurses, radiologists and A&E doctors were excellent communicators and really put me at ease.

The staff in this department are a true credit to the NHS. What a privilege it is in this country to be injured in the middle of the night, but to have the world's optimum emergency care readily available. I cannot thank you all enough! Please continue to be incredibly competent practitioners and don't be disheartened by recent nationwide criticisms of your field. I could not fault your service!

No more patient experience review postcards were available on Friday night, but I would certainly recommend you to all of my local family and friends.

Best wishes from a very satisfied patient.

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 15 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

Scunthorpe General Hospital has not yet replied.

Littlemo51 gave Accident and emergency services at Scunthorpe General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Many thanks

Today my husband and I were in the path lab, waiting for our bloods to be taken , my husband is a known epileptic , i noticed he was becoming unwell, I informed one of the staff members the lighting appeared to be affecting my husband, the response was amazing they apoligised to other people waiting so we could be fast tracked ,those people I Thank you , the person took my husband blood, and said she would help me get my husband back to my car with me, but unfortunately we got as far as the a transport desk, and my husband had a seizure and collapsed to the floor, everyone including paramedic were immediately there to assist my husband , the member of staff from path lab stayed with us she was amazing, my husband was immediately transferred to the A/E , where again we received first class attention , from the bottom of my heart!! I would like to thank you all that assisted in the events of today, you were all amazing, and I am greatful to you all, a special thanks to the member of staff from pan lab, you are a special person, overal Scunthorpe General Hospital are remarkable Thank you so much

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 16 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

Scunthorpe General Hospital has not yet replied.

Cassie livesey gave Maternity services at Scunthorpe General Hospital a rating of 1 stars

maternity and delivery suite

I gave birth to my little boy and was disgusted with the care after....was left for six hours after giving birth in the dirty sheets and all that I gave birth on....
The midwife who delivered my little boy was really great an nice...but when she went off her shift....I was left alone in a very dirty room with my little boy... When they eventually took me down to the ward...the midwife's on the ward where very horrible and its like they didn't even care or wanted to be there....I was very discussed with the care I received ...and will be taking the action further...

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 18 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

Scunthorpe General Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Scunthorpe General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Happy with Disney Ward

Just want to say a huge thank you to all the staff on Disney Ward after our Dr referred my son Lewis straight away with suspected Meningitis. All staff, drs were so thorough and checked for bacterial meningitis. Thankfully it was viral but monitored him overnight. Once again huge thanks for making our stay as pleasant as possible xxx

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 23 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

Scunthorpe General Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Urology at Scunthorpe General Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Nurse in urology dept

Today my husband visited urology dept an out patient. While we waited our turn an elderly patient using 2 sticks was having problems, the nurse told us all in no uncertain terms that we should inform her if we were with anyone as this gentleman could have fallen, (he wouldn't have). When another outpatient tried to explain the gentlemans friend was there she wouldn't listen. She later came out the consultation room to try to appologise (unsucessfully i thought). when we were called in the consultant was explaining my husbands results when the same nurse said quite loudly "do you still work at sainsburys?" i replied yes but thought this was not the time or the place she continued with "are you still there?" again i replied yes but it was not relavent or the place, thought she would be asking me what the offers were next!!!!!! When we came out the room she again tried to appologise for her earlier outburst about being with patients. I told her if I spoke to customers teh way she spoke to us I would have been disiplined. I am fully expecting her to come into sainsburys to discuss mt husbands prostate while I scan her shopping!!!!!

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 23 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

Scunthorpe General Hospital has not yet replied.