Check here for alerts

Luton and Dunstable Hospital

01582 491166 Lewsey Road , Luton, Bedfordshire, LU4 0DZ
https://www.ldh.nhs.uk/

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 201 ratings for this hospital

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 201 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(198 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(199 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(200 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(193 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(152 ratings)

Reviews

452 total

Anonymous gave Imaging services at Luton and Dunstable Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Experience at Xray dept.

Fast, effeicent, courteous, amazing. Thank you.

Visited in December 2016. Posted on 02 December 2016

Report as unsuitable

Luton and Dunstable Hospital replied on 06 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are pleased your experience has been a positive one and will pass your comments on to department managers and team.

Report as unsuitable

Rose Mac reviewed Luton and Dunstable Hospital

Fantastic treatment

I would like to thank all, the staff for the quick, efficient and brilliant service from start to finish. I arrived for my initial appointment at 8. 30 am were seen by the nurses and had both eyes lasered by 10am. This was the NHS at its very best. Keep up the fantastic work you do.

Visited in December 2016. Posted on 05 December 2016 using Patient Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo

Luton and Dunstable Hospital replied on 06 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are pleased your experience has been a positive one and will pass your comments on to department managers and team.

Report as unsuitable

Pat Allcroft reviewed Accident and emergency services at Luton and Dunstable Hospital

Not a positive experience

My 94 year old father was admitted to A&E at around 5.45pm on Friday 2nd Dec. He was showing signs of sepsis from a chest infection.It took over 3 hours before he was looked at. He eventually was given a saline drip and intravenous antibiotics. But only after he deteriorated spectacularly and was choking on his own vomit.At 11pm he was transferred to a holding ward.By then he was extremely poorly and so exhausted he was semi conscious.Staff in this ward showed little compassion or interest in him which saddened me greatly.If he has to return to A&E at some point in the future as an emergency I would be worried about his care.

Visited in December 2016. Posted on 05 December 2016

Report as unsuitable

Luton and Dunstable Hospital replied on 06 December 2016

We are very concerned to hear that your experience has been an unpleasant one. Please be assured that we will investigate this matter as much as we can from the information given.

We would encourage you to contact our Patient Affairs Office directly on 01582 497 002, or email complaints.officer@ldh.nhs.uk if you would like us to address any of your concerns further.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Luton and Dunstable Hospital a rating of 1 stars

A&E experience failed elderly patient

My elderly, frail relative was taken to A&E by ambulance following a fall at home. The doctor who treated her seemed inexperienced and anxious to send the patient home asap. Patient was sent home with antibiotics that were unsuitable for her, left without offfer of help to get down from bed in a&e (has decreased mobility)into a wheel chair. No offer of help for patient's 84 year old partner to push the patient (dressed just in night dress) in the wheelchair to the car park in pouring rain. Overall impression was lack of care and disinterest in patient.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 05 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Luton and Dunstable Hospital replied on 10 November 2016

We are very concerned to hear that your experience has been an unpleasant one. Please be assured that we will investigate this matter as much as we can from the information given.

We would encourage you to contact our Patient Affairs Office directly on 01582 497 002, or email complaints.officer@ldh.nhs.uk if you would like us to address any of your concerns further.

Report as unsuitable

Diane King gave General Surgery at Luton and Dunstable Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Day surgical unit

I went in to L& D for an operation and was very nervous and apprehensive. All the staff were amazing and completely put me at ease. The care was first rate and it was (almost) a pleasant experience.... as much as having an op can be. My last op was at a private hospital and this experience was as good as my previous procedure in a private setting. Well done to all the staff and the consultant's team. Thank you very much for you great care and attention.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 07 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Luton and Dunstable Hospital replied on 10 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are pleased your experience has been a positive one and will pass your comments on to department managers and team.

Report as unsuitable

michelle ludford gave Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Luton and Dunstable Hospital a rating of 3 stars

Was sent home

I waited 4 months for an appointment at max fax today. I arrived on time to a 50 minute delay. I had been booked in with a surgeon. When I was called by a nurse I was told I should have been seeing a different surgeon. As they had operated on my jaw and was sent home! This is not the first time this has happened in this department. I have to get a bus in and it was a waste of my time and money not to mention the pain I'm in hence the appointment. I now have to wait again to be seen by the correct surgeon.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 10 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Luton and Dunstable Hospital replied on 18 November 2016

We are very concerned to hear that your experience has been an unpleasant one. Please be assured that we will investigate this matter as much as we can from the information given.

We would encourage you to contact our Patient Affairs Office directly on 01582 497 002, or email complaints.officer@ldh.nhs.uk if you would like us to address any of your concerns further.

Report as unsuitable

Steve J gave Accident and emergency services at Luton and Dunstable Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Walk In Centre

Had a need of their services on a weekday afternoon and - I kid you not - I was in and out in 25 minutes! I waited longer in Pharmacy for my prescription. We'll done to all of you.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 15 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Luton and Dunstable Hospital replied on 18 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are pleased your experience has been a positive one and will pass your comments on to department managers and team.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Maternity services at Luton and Dunstable Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Awful department

Firstly I left 8 messages for my consultant as my docs told me I needed to see them as I'm preg and have kidney stones. I had to report to complaints and get a emaerangcy doc referral to get a appointment. 2nd I'm in hospital and waiting 2 days for the doc to see me to discharge me as I have passed stones and the whole 3days I've been here not one urology team has been to see me. I have told ward 32 to chase the continually for pass 2days and am still waiting at 5pm on day 2 so looks like another no show. This is awful Pacient care and I will be reporting again

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 17 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Luton and Dunstable Hospital replied on 21 November 2016

We are very concerned to hear that your experience has been an unpleasant one. Please be assured that we will investigate this matter as much as we can from the information given.

We would encourage you to contact our Patient Affairs Office directly on 01582 497 002, or email complaints.officer@ldh.nhs.uk if you would like us to address any of your concerns further.

Report as unsuitable

TJP gave Imaging services at Luton and Dunstable Hospital a rating of 5 stars

MRI scan

I've just had a brain and ear scan and, being rather claustrophobic was not looking forward to it. It was out in the car park in a mobile unit. The staff were terrific; very accommodating and helpful. One of them could see I was apprehensive so stayed in with me and kept their hand on my leg for reassurance. The machine is quite noisy, like being in an arcade machine, but you get used to it quite quickly and each scan only last for three or four minutes. If you've had your patio dug up with a drill, this is much easier to listen to. Helpful desk staff, the hospital is pretty well signposted and, like I said, the MRI team were brilliant. I've been to the L&D for various things over the years and they've always been great. 5*

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 19 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Luton and Dunstable Hospital replied on 21 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are pleased your experience has been a positive one and will pass your comments on to department managers and team.

Report as unsuitable

Sue kerin gave Gastrointestinal and Liver services at Luton and Dunstable Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Wonderful care and compassion

Our beauriful brother Martin Nolan died this afternoon after many months of care on ward 11. Our parents who are 79 and 80 have played a huge role in visiting their son, as has his brother, sisters and friends...the staff on ward 11 have been fabulous, going beyond their normal level of care to support, hug and often kiss us all to show their compassion, empathy and understanding of our challenging situation...Martin had huge respect and fondness of all the kind nurses who cared for him... Our Martin was loved so much by so many people and his passing today is heart breaking, we all have so many lovely memories of the staff who cared so much for him... We would like to say so much more than just a thank you...Im sure we will ensure santa visits the ward next month with a little thank you from the Nolan family.. Xxx

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 22 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Luton and Dunstable Hospital replied on 28 November 2016

We are very sorry to hear of the sad loss of your Brother and offer our sincere condolences.
We really appreciate you taking the time to thank our staff at such a difficult time for you and your family.
Your kind comments will be passed on to our staff on ward 11.

Report as unsuitable