Whipps Cross University Hospital

Telephone: 020 3416 5000
Address: Whipps Cross Road, London, E11 1NR
Website: http://www.bartshealth.nhs.uk/

3 out of 5 stars

Based on 265 ratings for this hospital

3 Stars

3 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 265 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

3.5 out of 5 stars

(252 ratings)

Staff co-operation

3 out of 5 stars

(261 ratings)

Dignity and respect

3 out of 5 stars

(255 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

3 out of 5 stars

(254 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

3.5 out of 5 stars

(190 ratings)

Reviews

374 total

Anonymous gave Diagnostic Imaging at Whipps Cross University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

I visited the Endoscopy Unit twice in December - excellent treatment , the...

I visited the Endoscopy Unit twice in December - excellent treatment , the Staff were so supportive and friendly , which is what you need in that situation !

Visited in December 2014. Posted on 28 December 2014

Report as unsuitable

Whipps Cross University Hospital has not yet replied.

Charith & Roshani gave Whipps Cross University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Maternity - Very impressed with the care we received

First of all we were bit worried about the reviews on the web about the maternity ward, but we decided to select whips cross hospital since its very close to our home. My wife went to labour on 31st December and she had 18 hours of very hard labour. We had an excellent midwife and the doctor was extremely good and caring. My wife gave birth to a baby baby boy on 01.01.2015.

We had to stay in the hospital for 7 days since my wife had and infection which is very common in labour. All the staff in the hospital were extremely good and caring. Very very experienced. The amount of care we received is unbelievable.

I want to say a big thank you to all the Doctors, midwifes, house keeping & catering staff etc, who gave us a great comfort. We couldn't ask for more. Once again tank you all and bless you all. xxxx

Do not hesitate to select this hospital. Highly recommended.

Visited in December 2014. Posted on 24 January 2015

Report as unsuitable

Whipps Cross University Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Whipps Cross University Hospital a rating of 2 stars

My partner accidentally ate a cake containing nuts which he is severely...

My partner accidentally ate a cake containing nuts which he is severely allergic to.After taking piriton he was still reacting some 10 minutes later-lips swelling,breathing becoming harder and chest pains,so I decided to take him to Aand E.
It was a Saturday night and understandably very busy but after seeing the triage desk and given a red card we were still waiting to be booked in some 40 minutes later.By this time my partner was still having chest pains and finding it hard to swallow.Eventually we were booked in by the only desk that was open,and sent round to Majors,where there was a large queue of people.There were no doctors or nurses to be seen and we waited and waited and waited.After a further 45 minutes the symptoms seem to subside slightly and my partner decided to leave so he could go home and take more piriton.
This experience left me both shocked and horrified to think that my partner was having a severe allergic reaction yet did not even get to see a nurse let alone a doctor...an absolute disgrace.
This department needs a major overhaul-maybe a few more desks open to book people in..or a few more doctors.
If he ever has a reaction like that again,i will not hesitate to call an ambulance...maybe then he will be treated.

Visited in December 2014. Posted on 06 January 2015

Report as unsuitable

Whipps Cross University Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous reviewed Neurology at Whipps Cross University Hospital

Making contact with the doctor

I have spent nearly 1hr trying to reach the doctor at Whipps Cross Hospital in connection with my daughter who is being treated by him after she offered a TIA in October 2014.I feel really upset particularly by the attitude of one of his junior Drs who couldn't give me her name or advise how to contact him. As a retired Paediatrician myself I am really alarmed by the fact that the woman I spoke to seemed to have no way of reaching her consultant for advice.
I will continue to pursue this and have spoken now to his secretary who deals with his private practice but also seems to have problems reaching him. I It concerns me that my daughter was advised to contact him if there were any concerns. She lives on her own with 2 small children . She does have concerns but we are at a loss as to how to access advice.

Visited in December 2014. Posted on 12 January 2015

Report as unsuitable

Whipps Cross University Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Whipps Cross University Hospital a rating of 4 stars

A&E

Thank you so much the most amazing A&E ever! The doctors and trainee doctors were amazing! They were quick, funny, supportive, decisive and helpful! Thank you Whipps Cross!

Visited in December 2014. Posted on 18 December 2014

Report as unsuitable

Whipps Cross University Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Urgent care centre at Whipps Cross University Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Very smooth trip to the doctors

So as a newbie to East london I have had heard so much about the over crowding and disrespectful people but I was suprisingly amazed that the whole process was really nice. I was just there less then an hour, the doctor was really nice and helpful and gave really quick and clear advice. I think you should not hestitate to go. You should remember that the staff are trying their best and you should be sure that you may be waiting for some time and be patient.

Visited in December 2014. Posted on 18 December 2014

Report as unsuitable

Whipps Cross University Hospital has not yet replied.

Little Lil gave Endocrinology and Metabolic Medicine at Whipps Cross University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Colonoscopy procedure

I was admitted for an exploratory Colonoscopy on 19 December and was found to have Diverticulosis. I was given the utmost care and consideration and the staff were very kind, the only criticism is that although I was given leaflets about my condition I was not advised what action I should take to help myself and what changes I should make in my diet. I have researched this myself on the internet so now I know what to change about my diet, although it has always been pretty good. However I cannot fault the care I was given at the hospital and the Nurses and the Doctors deserve all the support they can get. Well Done.

Visited in December 2014. Posted on 20 December 2014

Report as unsuitable

Whipps Cross University Hospital has not yet replied.

L roberts gave Gynaecology at Whipps Cross University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Maternity - very positive birth experience

I gave birth at whipps on 12 december 2014 and am still overwhelmed by the fantastic treatment i received during the labour and delivery. Unfortunately i dont know the second names but want to say again a huge thank you to my midwife and the student midwife from south bank university - who were with me for the whole 12 hours. I ended up needing the ventouse to help baby out and the doctor was also amazing. Not all experiences are negative and more people need to report on the positive as i was scared before going in. Thanks again to my team xx

Visited in December 2014. Posted on 30 December 2014

Report as unsuitable

Whipps Cross University Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Whipps Cross University Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Horrendous

I attended the whipps Cross on the advise of my doctor and physio. Having had surgery on my knee 8 days ago I developed a lump at the back of my knee with swelling and pain in my calf and needed to be sure that it wasn't a DVT.

The person at the checkin desk was very dismissive and non engaged and did not even look up from her paper.

There was only one member of staff at the second checkin desk who continuously left there post leaving the desk unattended and a que building up.

I arrived at 9.24pm and did not get into triage until 1.45am. Triage was desperately slow seeing only 1-2 people an hour, at one point a full hour went by without anyone being called in to either of the two triage rooms.

There was a customer service announment that said the A&E is extremely busy and we apologise however if your injury is getting worse and you're concerned, please ask the triage nurse. The only problem with that is that there was no triage nurse to ask, countless people knocked on the door without a response.

My knee needed to be elevated post op especially with a possible DVT I asked the person at the desk for a chair to put my leg up on and explained why and was simple told no. I found another member of staff (after searching whilst on crutches and in pain) and eventually someone bought me a chair.

When I eventually got into triage and explained my condition, they did not do the vital thing necessary which was to check my knee before deciding to give me an injection, it wasn't until I said are you going to actually examine the knee first that they took a look at it. The nurse or doctor did not introduce themselves to me or explain what they were doing and I got told I had to come back in the morning to get a scan, when I asked why this couldn't be done now, I was told to ask the government.

I eventually left the hospital at 2.30am a total of 5 hours spent in a dirty hospital with rude, unpleasant and unprofessional staff.

I would not recommend this hospital to anyone, disgraceful

Visited in December 2014. Posted on 31 December 2014

Report as unsuitable

Whipps Cross University Hospital has not yet replied.

Sergio gave Orthopaedics at Whipps Cross University Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Lack of attention

I came with an ankle fracture for a review and a new full-cast plaster. There was a delay of more than one hour and finally I just had a paper which said I needed my plaster to be changed. The doctor never saw me.

Afterwards, a doctor assistant asked me for my phone number and sent me to x-ray. She told me doctors would check my case and I would have a call during the following days to let me know if I required surgery or any further treatment. I am still waiting for this call and I can't contact anybody in orthopaedics department, so I don't know when should I come back to have my plaster taken off...if I don't need surgery!!

Visited in December 2014. Posted on 05 January 2015

Report as unsuitable

Whipps Cross University Hospital has not yet replied.