East Lynne Medical Centre

Telephone: 01255 220010
Address: 3-5 Wellesley Road, Clacton-on-Sea, Essex, CO15 3PP
Website: http://www.eastlynnemedicalcentre.co.uk

2 out of 5 stars

Based on 16 ratings for this GP surgery

2 Stars

2 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 16 ratings for this GP surgery

Telephone access

2.5 out of 5 stars

(18 ratings)

Appointments

2 out of 5 stars

(18 ratings)

Dignity and respect

2.5 out of 5 stars

(18 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

2.5 out of 5 stars

(18 ratings)

Providing accurate information

3 out of 5 stars

(13 ratings)

Reviews

25 total

Anonymous gave East Lynne Medical Centre a rating of 1 stars

not 100% right even now.

Slow to sort out medical problems, i.e. had breathing problems back in Sep 2013 and still to date my breathing is still a problem.

Also not much choice in doctor.

So all in all not much choice. Unfortunately the one good Doctor has left, they would actually listen to what you are telling them and one could talk to them quite easily.

Visited in March 2014. Posted on 14 April 2014

Report as unsuitable

East Lynne Medical Centre has not yet replied.

Anonymous reviewed East Lynne Medical Centre

A complete disgrace!

To have elderly people in their 80s and 90s queuing up outside first thing in the morning to then be told there are no appointments available is a complete disgrace. Try phoning for an appointment and it's even worse. You can't get through for hours, then, when you do, you are told there are no appointments available. The reception staff are so rude it is unbelievable. The online appointments system is a sham designed to make it look as if you can get an appointment - you cannot. It is impossible to register with another doctor in the area as 'if you already have a doctor in Clacton' no other surgery will accept you. So the upshot is: If you are registered at the east lynn surgery, you have no healthcare at all.

Visited in November 2013. Posted on 10 April 2014

Report as unsuitable

East Lynne Medical Centre has not yet replied.

David Griggs gave East Lynne Medical Centre a rating of 1 stars

Disappointed

Firstly the online appointments seems to be a waste of time, because if you can actually get into the system the appointments available are usually only for one or two of the doctors and for about 3 weeks in advance.
Secondly some of the attitudes of the doctors are such that they make patients feel uncomfortable - arrogant and non caring.
Thirdly there is only one lady doctor available and she is now only part time.
Lastly and more importantly there are no follow up appointments made i.e. where diabetics or heart attack patients are concerned.
At least some new members on the front desk we have found to be more caring and helpful.
Since losing two of the best doctors this practice has gone downhill.

Visited in October 2013. Posted on 28 November 2013

Report as unsuitable

East Lynne Medical Centre has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave East Lynne Medical Centre a rating of 1 stars

waste of time surgery

I dont often make appointments to se gp unless I realy need to as dont like to waste gp time , but was discusted when I tried to book appointment asap as had symptoms of a kidney infectioni I called the surgery at 2 pm when they come back from there 2hr break, I called 32 times before I finally through to the surgery only to hear there was no appointments and that I should call back tomorrow or stand outside in the morning and wait, so I called in the morning and again took around 25mins to get the same answea, am still trying to get appointment with symptoms getting worse seem like even telling the reception its for an emergency is a waste of time still got the same sorry call back no appointments so 6days later still no appointment. think the way this practice is run is a joke and I intend on taking this further.

Visited in May 2013. Posted on 20 November 2013

Report as unsuitable

East Lynne Medical Centre replied on 10 January 2014

East Lynne Medical Centre is an extremely busy surgery and our phone lines are at their busiest at peak times. 8.00-10.00 am and 2.00 pm-3.00pm. We offer same day availability with a doctor for patients who consider they need to be seen that day. A kidney infection would certainly fulfill this criteria and we can only assume that you did not inform the receptionist that this was a genuine emergency appointment. Have you considered using our on line booking service? We also offer some walk in appointments from 8.00am. We are commited to offering a fist class service and as a Practice we now only have three full time doctors and one part time lady doctor. This is due to severe recruitment issues within the area but please rest assured that we are doing the very best that we can for all our patients

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave East Lynne Medical Centre a rating of 1 stars

Extremley poor front desk service

Most unhelp when asking what happened to my perscription. Being "fobbed" of with exscuses. I has happened time and time again.

Visited in August 2013. Posted on 04 September 2013

Report as unsuitable

East Lynne Medical Centre replied on 29 October 2013

We are sorry that you are feeling unhappy with our prescription service but without specific details it is very difficult for us to investigate. Whilst we are not perfect there are many reasons outside of our control why a prescription may not have been issued or reached it's intended destination. Should you have further problems with your prescriptions please contact Linda Smith, our head receptionist, and one of our more experienced prescribing clerks who will be happy to investigate matters for you. Assuring you of our best attention at all times.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave East Lynne Medical Centre a rating of 1 stars

Poor in Patient Care & Follow-Up

Very poor in the following ares even old fashioned. As follows: Repeated medical perscriptions, lost, never recieved, missed, dont bother near "bank holidays". Staff seem (desk) seem unable to cope. Poor archaic system.

Doctor calling system okay if you are not hard of hearing, but poor, sometimes, "jumbled" sound. Needs upgrading to a board Showing patients name. Room Number

After care and on-going disorders. Poor, especially, for cancer patients, diabetic patients.

Blood tests, (Warfarin) Why cant the do these "in-house" rather than sending them to hospital. Needs a big up grade this surgery.

Visited in July 2013. Posted on 01 September 2013

Report as unsuitable

East Lynne Medical Centre replied on 29 October 2013

This Practice is not commissioned to offer blood taking for Warfarin monitoring and this is something that has been explained to specific patients in the past. Some of whom are no longer registered with us. For reasons of confidentiality this practice does not endorse the use of Jaytex (display boards) although we do admit that by using a call system we are creating an anomaly but our defence unions do support call systems. We are concerned to note that you feel that the care we offer some of our patients is poor and we would strongly refute this comment. If there are any specific incidents that you wish to bring to our attention please do so.

Report as unsuitable

elizabeth boyle gave East Lynne Medical Centre a rating of 5 stars

The best so far

We signed on with this surgery when we moved to Clacton 15 years ago and have always found the Doctors proactive, the receptionists generally take time to
explain and sort out problems, the only down side can be trying to get an urgent appointment
for that day - it necessitates dialling multi times before eventually reaching a live person.

Visited in June 2013. Posted on 12 July 2013

Report as unsuitable

East Lynne Medical Centre has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave East Lynne Medical Centre a rating of 5 stars

Kind helpful experiences

Have been a patient for 18 years and always been offered convenient apointments. Phone lines do get very busy but continuous redialling for a few minutes and I've always got through to polite, helpful receptionist.
Thank you for looking after me and my family so well.

Visited in October 2012. Posted on 23 June 2013

Report as unsuitable

East Lynne Medical Centre has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave East Lynne Medical Centre a rating of 4 stars

getting appointments

it seems to be easier to get appointments than it was with the new people workiing here.but I usually prefer to see one particular doctor and they seem to be very busy all the time,even first thig on a monday morning. While the facvt that it is now open earlier helps there is still a long queue sometimes.

Visited in June 2013. Posted on 10 June 2013

Report as unsuitable

East Lynne Medical Centre has not yet replied.

Anonymous reviewed East Lynne Medical Centre

Bad to the Bone

My elderly mother is a patient at this practice and I am appalled at the difficulties she has in getting an appointment. On many many occasions she has phoned the surgery first thing in the morning and it has taken her well over half an hour to get through using constant redial only to be told the appointments are all gone and she will have to call again at 2pm. So she goes through it all again at 2pm and can then find that the pm appointments are all gone and she is told to call again in the morning. All this stress when she is unwell is very upsetting for her. When I contacted the surgery about these difficulties I was told that my mother could always come and queue at the door at 8am for an appointment. It didn’t seem to occur to them that an 82year old unwell lady who doesn’t drive might find that a bit of a problem! They really need to review their appointment system with some urgency.

Visited in October 2012. Posted on 11 May 2013

Report as unsuitable

East Lynne Medical Centre replied on 29 October 2013

We do appreciate that as an exceptionally busy surgery it can be frustrating for patients to sometimes to get an appointment. We have a wide range of differing healthcare professionals within the Practice and it is not always necessary for a patient to see a doctor. Sometimes our nurse specialist who has lots of experience in caring for the older patient may be a better option for your mother. She has direct links into doctors as well as social care. We do not like to see patients distressed as a result of not being able to get an appointment. Please make your mother known to us so that we can review her records and maybe offer a solution. You can write to Pauline Mackenzie, the Practice Manager.

Report as unsuitable