Top diets review for 2014

With so many diet options to choose from it can be hard to find a weight loss plan to suit you.

To help, the British Dietetic Association (BDA) looks at the pros and cons and gives its verdict on the some of the most popular diets.

 

5:2 diet

The 5:2 diet is based on a principle known as intermittent fasting (IF) – where you eat normally five days a week and fast on the other two days. On top of losing weight, fans claim the 5:2 diet can improve lifespan, brain function and protect against conditions such as dementia and Alzheimer’s. However, evidence on the effectiveness of the 5:2 diet is limited when compared to other types of weight loss techniques.

One 2010 study found that women placed on a 5:2 diet achieved similar levels of weight loss as women on a calorie-controlled diet and were also less likely to develop chronic diseases such as type 2 diabetes. A 2012 study suggested that the 5:2 model may help lower the risk of certain obesity-related cancers, such as breast cancer. If you are considering it then you should first talk to your GP to see if it is suitable for you. Not everyone can safely fast.

Many of the diets listed here are quick fixes and may not be sustainable or healthy in the long term. They could make your weight more likely to fluctuate or ‘yo-yo’.

Find out how to lose weight the healthy way with our 12-week weight loss plan.

 

Pros:
Sticking to a regimen for two days a week is more achievable than seven days so you are more likely to persevere with this way of eating and successfully lose weight. Two days per week on a restricted diet can lead to greater reductions in body fat, insulin resistance and other chronic diseases.

Cons:
The non-restricted days do not mean unlimited feasting. While you don’t need to be as strict about your calorie consumption, you still need to make healthy choices and be physically active. Skipping meals could make you feel dizzy, irritable, give you headaches and make it hard to concentrate, which can affect work and other daily tasks. Other reported side effects are difficulties sleeping and daytime sleepiness, bad breath and dehydration.

BDA verdict:
The 5:2 is a simple way to reduce calorie intake. There are lots of versions of this diet, with some less safe than others. Many studies on intermittent fasting are short-term, involve small numbers of subjects, or are animal-based. If you choose to follow it, choose an evidence-based plan based on healthy, balanced eating and written by a dietitian like the "2-Day Diet". It’s vital for your health to avoid nutritional deficiencies, dehydration and overeating on non-fast days. Never attempt to delay or skip meals if you are pregnant, have had, or are prone to, eating disorders or diabetes.

 

Dukan diet

The Dukan diet is a low-carbohydrate (carb), high-protein diet. There’s no limit to how much you can eat during the plan’s four phases, providing you stick to the rules of the plan. During phase one, you’re on a strict lean protein diet. This is based on a list of 72 reasonably low-fat protein-rich foods, such as chicken, turkey, eggs, fish and fat-free dairy. This is for an average of five days to achieve quick weight loss. Carbs are off limits except for a small amount of oat bran. Unlike the Atkins diet, Dukan’s phase one bans vegetables and seriously restricts fat. The next three phases of the plan see the gradual introduction of some fruit, veg and carbs and eventually all foods. The aim is gradual weight loss of up to 2lb a week and to promote long-term weight management. There’s no time limit to the final phase, which involves having a protein-only day once a week and taking regular exercise.

Pros:
You can lose weight very quickly, which can be motivating. It’s a very strict and prescriptive diet and some people like that. It’s easy to follow. You don’t need to weigh food or count calories. Apart from keeping to low-fat, low-salt and high-protein foods, there’s no restriction on how much you can eat during your first two weeks.

Cons:
At the start of the diet you may experience side effects such as bad breath, a dry mouth, tiredness, dizziness, insomnia and nausea from cutting out carbs. The lack of wholegrains, fruit and veg in the early stages of the diet could cause problems such as constipation.

BDA verdict:
Rapid weight loss can be motivating but it is unsustainable and unhealthy. The Dukan diet isn’t nutritionally balanced, which is acknowledged by the fact that you need a vitamin supplement and a fibre top-up in the form of oat bran. There’s a danger this type of diet could increase your risk of long-term health problems if you don’t stick to the rules. The diet lacks variety in the initial phases so there’s a risk you’ll get bored quickly and give up.

 

Paleo diet

The paleo diet, also known as the caveman diet, was Google’s most searched-for weight loss method in 2013. The diet consists of foods that can be hunted and fished – such as meat and seafood – and foods that can be gathered – such as eggs, nuts, seeds, fruits, vegetables, herbs and spices. It’s a regime based on the supposed eating habits of our hunter-gatherer ancestors during the paleolithic era before the development of agriculture some 10,000 years ago. That means cereal grains including wheat, dairy, refined sugar, potatoes, salt – as well as anything processed – are strictly off the menu. There is no official "paleo diet" but it is generally seen as a low-carb, high-protein diet with some variations on carbohydrate and meat intake. Advocates say the paleo diet is a long-term healthy eating plan that can help you lose weight and reduce your risk of diabetes, heart disease, cancer and other health problems. Most studies on the paleo-type diet are small and more long-term research is needed to show conclusively whether or not it is as effective as some people claim. One 2008 study suggested that the paleo diet “could help reduce the risk of heart disease”. However, several limitations in the study meant it was not possible to say whether the paleo diet was any more effective than any other low-calorie diets.

Pros:
The paleo diet encourages you to eat less processed food and more fruit and vegetables. Reducing your consumption of high-calorie foods will reduce your calorie intake and help you to lose weight. The diet is simple and doesn’t involve calorie-counting. Some plans go by the “80/20” rule whereby you’ll get 99% of the benefits of the paleo diet if you adhere to it 80% of the time. This flexibility can make the diet easier to stick to so you are more likely to be successful.

Cons:
There are no accurate records of the diet of our Stone Age ancestors so the paleo diet is largely based on an educated guess and its health claims lack scientific evidence. Most versions of the diet encourage large amounts of meat, which runs counter to current health advice on meat consumption. Many versions ban dairy products and whole grains, which form part of a healthy balanced diet. Like all high-protein diets, the paleo can be expensive depending on your choice of meat cuts. It's impossible to follow without eating meat, seafood or eggs so it’s not one for vegetarians!

BDA verdict:
Most versions of the paleo diet exclude key food groups, raising the potential for nutritional deficiencies unless careful substitutions are made, and dietary supplements may be necessary. The diet has some positive aspects, so an adapted version that doesn't ban any food groups such as whole grains, dairy and legumes would be a better choice. The diet lacks variety so there’s a risk you’ll get bored quickly and give up. If you want to copy Paleolithic man, you’re better off mimicking his activity levels rather than his alleged diet.

 

Atkins diet

The Atkins diet is a low-carb, high-protein weight loss programme. You start with a low-carb diet designed for rapid weight loss. This lasts at least two weeks depending on your weight loss goal. During this phase, you’re on a protein, fat and very low-carb diet, including meat, seafood, eggs, cheese, some veg, butter and oils. In contrast to the Dukan diet, Atkins allows unlimited fat and some veg, such as peppers, cucumber and iceberg lettuce, during phase one. During the next three phases, the weight loss is likely to be more gradual, and regular exercise is encouraged. More carbs, fruit and veg are introduced to your diet with the aim of working out what your ideal carb intake is to maintain a healthy weight for life. Phase one is designed to help you lose up to 15lb in two weeks, reducing to 2lb to 3lb during phase two.

Pros:
You can lose weight very quickly, which can be motivating. The diet also encourages people to cut out most processed carbs and alcohol. With its diet of red meat, butter, cream, cheese and mayonnaise, it’s one of the few diets out there that appeals to men. 

Cons:
Initial side effects can include bad breath, a dry mouth, tiredness, dizziness, insomnia, nausea and constipation from cutting out carbs and fibre. The high intake of saturated fat may increase your risk of heart disease and there are concerns that a lack of fruit, veg and dairy products and a high protein intake may affect bone and kidney health in the long term.

BDA verdict:
Rapid weight loss can be motivating but it is unsustainable. The Atkins diet isn’t nutritionally balanced. By limiting fruit and veg it contradicts all the advice on healthy eating that we have tried so hard to pass on to people. The meal choices are limited so there’s a risk many people will get bored quickly and drop out or take a "pick and mix" approach. 

 

Alkaline diet

The alkaline diet, whose celebrity fans reportedly include Gywneth Paltrow, Jennifer Aniston and Victoria Beckham, is based on the idea that our modern diets cause our body to produce too much acid. The theory is that excess acid in the body is turned into fat leading to weight gain. High acidity levels have also been blamed on conditions such as arthritis, osteoporosis, tiredness, kidney and liver disorders. The diet recommends cutting back on acid-producing foods such as meat, wheat and other grains, refined sugar, dairy products, caffeine, alcohol and processed foods in favour of “alkaline foods” – foods that reduce the body’s acidity levels – basically plenty of fruit and vegetables. The idea is that an alkaline diet helps to maintain the body’s acidity at healthy levels. There are different versions of the alkaline diet. Some followers adopt the "80/20 rule" consisting of a diet based on 80% fruit and veg and 20% grains and protein. Originally developed to help prevent kidney stones and urine infections by using diet to adjust the acidity levels in the urine, there is little evidence to support the diet’s more recent health benefits. The weight loss observed among followers is more likely down to eating plenty of fruit and vegetables and cutting down on sugar, alcohol and processed foods, which is standard healthy weight loss advice.

Pros:
The diet contains plenty of good healthy eating advice such cutting down on meat, avoiding sugar, alcohol and processed foods and eating more fruit and veg, nuts, seeds and legumes. This means that you will be cutting out foods you may normally eat and replacing them with healthier choices, which will also reduce your calorie intake.

Cons:
Your body regulates its acidity levels regardless of diet. When cutting down on dairy products such as milk, cheese and yoghurt you need to find other calcium substitutes, as cutting out an entire food group is never a good idea. Getting to grips with what you can and can’t eat on the diet can be time-consuming, particularly in the beginning.

BDA verdict:
The theory of the alkaline diet is that eating certain foods can help maintain the body's ideal pH balance (acidity levels) to improve overall health. But the body maintains its pH balance regardless of diet. The diet lacks evidence and some versions that advise cutting out entire food groups should be avoided. The more balanced versions of the diet provide variety and include all the food groups. If you are going to try the alkaline diet choose a balanced plan, stick to it to the letter and stay clear of supplements and other diet-related gimmicks.

 

Cambridge diet

The Cambridge Weight Plans are based around buying and eating a range of meal-replacement products with the promise of rapid weight loss. There are six flexible diet plans ranging from 415kcal to 1,500kcal or more a day, depending on your weight loss goal. There is also a long-term weight management programme. The bars, soups, porridges and shakes can be used as your sole source of nutrition or together with low-calorie regular meals. While on the programme, you receive advice and support on healthy eating and exercise from a Cambridge adviser.

Pros:
Many people on very low calorie diets (VLCDs) find the weight loss to be sudden and quite dramatic. The meal replacements are all nutritionally balanced so you're likely to be getting all the vitamins and minerals you need, albeit not from real food.

Cons:
Initial side effects can include bad breath, a dry mouth, tiredness, dizziness, insomnia, nausea and constipation from cutting down on carbs and fibre. The hardest part of the plan is sticking to it. Giving up normal meals and swapping them for a snack bar or a shake can be boring and feel socially isolating. This isn’t a plan you can stick to in the long term.

BDA verdict:
You need to like the meal replacement products to stay with the plan. Rapid weight loss can be motivating but it is unsustainable. A VLCD that involves eating 1,000 calories a day or fewer should not be followed for more than 12 continuous weeks. If you are eating fewer than 600 calories a day, you should have medical supervision.

 

South Beach Diet

The South Beach Diet is a low-GI diet originally developed for heart patients in the US. There’s no calorie counting and no limits on portions. You're encouraged to eat three meals and two snacks a day and follow an exercise plan. People who have more than 10lb to lose start with phase one. This is a two-week quick weight loss regime where you eat lean protein, including meat, fish and poultry, as well as some low-GI vegetables and unsaturated fats. Low-GI carbs are re-introduced during phases two and three, which encourage gradual and sustainable weight loss.

Pros:
If you can avoid phase one and start on phase two, there are fewer dietary restrictions in the rest of the plan than some other popular diets. After phase one, the diet broadly follows the basic principles of healthy eating. No major food groups are eliminated and plenty of fruit, veg and low-GI carbs are recommended.

Cons:
The severe dietary restrictions of phase one may leave you feeling weak and missing out on some vitamins, minerals and fibre. You may initially experience side effects such as bad breath, a dry mouth, tiredness, dizziness, insomnia, nausea and constipation.

BDA verdict:
The first two weeks are the most difficult to get through. We’re concerned that this diet promises such a large weight loss, up to 13lb, in the first two weeks. This, though, won't be all fat. Some of the weight loss will include water and carbs – both of which will be replaced when you begin eating more normally. Once you get past the initial phase, the diet follows the basic principles of healthy eating and should provide the nutrients you need to stay healthy.

 

Slimming World diet

Slimming World’s weight loss plan encourages you to swap high-fat foods for low-fat foods that are naturally filling. You choose your food from a list of low-fat foods they call "Free Foods"', such as fruit, vegetables, pasta, potatoes, rice, lean meat, fish and eggs, which you can eat in unlimited amounts. There’s no calorie counting, no foods are banned and you’re still allowed the occasional treat. You can get support from fellow slimmers at weekly group meetings and follow an exercise plan to become gradually more active. The plan is designed to help you lose about 1lb to 2lb a week.

Pros:
No foods are banned so meals offer balance and variety and are family-friendly. The portion size from each food group will vary depending which plan you follow. The "Body Magic" booklet they provide gives ideas to help you raise your activity levels. Meeting as a group can provide valuable support.

Cons:
Slimming World doesn’t educate you about calories. Without having learned about calories and portion sizes, you may struggle to keep the weight off in the long term when you come off the programme.

BDA verdict:
The group meetings encourage members to share successes, ideas and recipes with each other but they may not appeal to everyone. While the meal plans may lack some flexibility, they are generally balanced. However, without learning about calories and portion sizes, you may struggle to make healthy choices once you’ve left the programme.

 

Slim-Fast diet

The Slim-Fast diet is a low-calorie meal replacement plan for people with a BMI of 25 and over. It uses Slim-Fast’s range of products. The plan recommends three snacks a day from an extensive list, including crisps and chocolate, two meal replacement shakes or bars and one regular meal, taken from a list of recipes on the Slim-Fast website. You can stay on the diet for as long as you want depending on your weight loss goal. Once reached, you’re advised to have one meal replacement shake a day, up to two low-fat snacks and two healthy meals. The plan is designed to help you lose about 1lb to 2lb a week and you can follow the diet for as long as you want.

Pros:
Meal replacement diets can be effective at helping some people to lose weight and keep it off. The plan is convenient as the products take the guesswork out of portion control and calorie-counting. No foods are forbidden although you are encouraged to eat lean protein, fruit and vegetables.

Cons:
On their own, meal replacement diets do little to educate people about their eating habits and change their behaviour. There’s a risk of putting the weight back on again once you stop using the products. You may find it hard to get your 5 A DAY of fruit and veg without careful planning.

BDA verdict:
If you don’t like the taste of the meal replacement products, you won't stay with the plan. The Slim-Fast plan can be useful to kickstart your weight loss regime, but it’s important that you make full use of the online support to learn about the principles of healthy eating and how to manage everyday food and drink.

 

LighterLife diet

The LighterLife weight loss plans combine a very low-calorie meal replacement diet with weekly counselling. With LighterLife Total, for people with a BMI of 30 or more, you eat four "food packs" a day, consisting of shakes, soups, mousses or bars, and no conventional food. LighterLife Lite, for those with a BMI of 25-30, involves eating three food packs a day plus one meal from a list of approved foods. You stay on the plans until you reach your target weight. The meal plans can lead to very rapid weight loss and you’re advised to see your GP before starting. How long you stay on the diet depends on how much weight you have to lose.

Pros:
The counselling can help you understand your relationship with food, so hopefully you can make lasting changes to keep the weight off for good. With the meal replacements, there’s no weighing or measuring, so it’s a hassle-free approach to weight loss.

Cons:
Initial side effects of the diet can include bad breath, a dry mouth, tiredness, dizziness, insomnia, nausea and constipation from cutting down on carbs and fibre. Surviving on a strict diet of shakes and soups and other meal replacements isn’t much fun and can feel socially isolating.

BDA verdict:
Rapid weight loss can be motivating but it is unsustainable. LighterLife’s VLCD and its counselling component may work for some, particularly people who have struggled to lose weight for years, have health problems as a result of their weight and are clinically obese with a BMI of more than 30. A VLCD that involves eating 1,000 calories a day or fewer should not be followed for more than 12 continuous weeks. If you are eating fewer than 600 calories a day, you should have medical supervision.

 

WeightWatchers diet

The WeightWatchers plan is based on the ProPoints system, which gives a value to foods and drink based on protein, carbs, fat and fibre content. It is essentially a calorie-controlled diet where you get a personal daily ProPoints allowance, which you can use how you like. There’s no limit on the amount of fruit and most veg you can eat. You also get a weekly ProPoints safety net in case you go over your allowance, and an individual exercise plan. The weekly meetings and confidential weigh-ins provide support and extra motivation to encourage long-term behaviour change. The plan is designed to help you lose up to 2lb a week.

Pros:
No foods are banned so you can eat and drink what you want providing you stick to your points allowance. The ProPoints system is easier to follow for some than calorie counting and less restrictive than other plans. This is because it introduces a safety net of points, which can be saved up for a special occasion, such as a night out, a small amount of alcohol or treats.

Cons:
When you begin, working out the points system can be just as time-consuming as simply counting calories. Some people feel pressured into purchasing WeightWatchers branded foods.

BDA verdict:
The ProPoints plan is generally well balanced and can be a foundation for long-term changes in dietary habits. The support group approach can help keep people motivated and educate them about healthy eating. But it’s vital that you make the connection between the points system and calories if you want to avoid putting the weight back on once you leave the programme.

 

Rosemary Conley diet

Rosemary Conley’s Diet and Fitness plans combine a low-fat, low-GI diet with regular exercise. You can follow her recipes or buy from her range of calorie-controlled ready meals and snacks. You’re encouraged to eat food with 5% or less fat, with the exception of oily fish, porridge oats and lean meat. A network of local Rosemary Conley clubs offers weekly exercise classes, support and motivation. You learn about calorie counting and portion size, which can help you sustain your weight loss beyond the programme. The diet is designed to help you lose a stone in seven weeks. How long you stay on the plan depends on your weight loss goal. 

Pros:
The programme is based around calories, with a focus on cutting fat. The "portion pots" – which are used to measure foods such as rice, cereal, pasta and baked beans – teach you about portion control. Physical activity is an integral part of the weight loss plan, with exercise sessions suitable for all ages, sizes and abilities offered at their weekly classes with trained leaders.

Cons:
Some low-fat products aren't necessarily more healthy because they can still be high in sugar and calories. It is unrealistic to expect people to go out with their portion pots and, therefore, portion control may be more tricky away from the home.

BDA verdict:
The diet and exercise plans offer a balanced approach to weight loss that teaches you about portion size, the importance of regular exercise for weight management and making healthier choices. The educational element is very useful for long-term weight management once you have left the programme.

 

Jenny Craig diet

The Jenny Craig programme has three main features: one-to-one support, a meal delivery service and tailored exercise plans. The weekly, personalised telephone consultations provide advice, motivation and support. The diet adviser assesses your reasons for gaining weight and, over the course of the programme, helps you to change your behaviour. The meals and snacks are packed into single-sized portions to suit your weight loss needs. You need to add certain fresh fruits, veg and low-fat dairy products. The programme is designed to help you lose between 1lb and 2lb a week until you reach your target weight.

Pros:
All the meals, including snacks, are calorie-counted, portion-controlled and delivered to your door. You eat real food, receive telephone support and learn about portion size, calories and exercise, which can all help you make healthier choices beyond the programme.

Cons:
The meals don’t contain fruit, veg or dairy, which will be an additional expense. This isn’t an approach that you can stick to in the long term so it’s vital to learn how to prepare or choose healthy food yourself rather than relying on someone else.

BDA verdict:
If you don’t like the Jenny Craig meals then this diet won’t work for you. If you want a diet where most of the work is done for you then the Jenny Craig programme can be a good solution. The concern with pre-packaged meals is whether dieters will realise there is no magic trick and whether they'll be able to replicate the meals, with the same portion sizes and calories, once they are on their own.

Page last reviewed: 20/12/2013

Next review due: 20/12/2015

Ratings

How helpful is this page?

Average rating

Based on 616 ratings

All ratings

Add your rating

Comments

The 34 comments posted are personal views. Any information they give has not been checked and may not be accurate.

Atifs said on 16 October 2014

I believe all of these popular actually work but its usually us that give up on them too soon. There is a mental side to losing weight as well as the physical. Both need attention to succeed in my experience.

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

slimmeddown said on 16 August 2014

Well I have been on the 5:2 since 31 January and in 30 weeks have steadily lost 12 kilos, BMI now 23. I am nearly 64, female. I skip breakfast on fast days and just have weak tea or black coffee. For the day I boil 4 litres of water with carrots and green veg of all kinds cut into cubes. I add Himalayan salt, tons of shredded herbs, crushed garlic and grated ginger, and sometimes tomato puree, saffron, cumin, Tabasco, turmeric. No fat. I am strict on the calories and weigh everything out, so the 4 litres and veg come to no more than 300 calories for the whole thing. I have 3 bowls at lunch and 3 at supper and feel very satisfied. Then I have 300 cals left for milk in tea, coffee, and maybe a very tiny bit of black chocolate. The overall effect is I feel very full and satisfied, more like a cleanse than a fast. My body says "thank you" and feels relieved. occasionally I have less vegetable stew, and a green salad with vinegar and herbs and garlic and ginger instead. But I prefer hot food.
I am now able to exercise again, at last, and feel 10 years younger. I have dieted before and never been successful till this one. Now I am at my target weight - 10 stone - and will happily fast one day a week for the rest of my life. Another big benefit of the 5:2 diet for me is that on NON fast days, I find I no longer want the sugar, fat and alcohol that I used to. It's been a double win as it really has affected the rest of my appetite to be much less greedy than before - like I just don't want it any more. Weird. Thanks.

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

IncaTrail said on 09 July 2014

I have been using the Cambridge weight plan step 3 for the last 9 weeks and lost 1.5 stones, taking me to the middle of healthy BMI.
I would not recommend stage 1 or 2 as they are too extreme and as a mum I wanted to eat a meal in the evening with my family, not model poor habits with food. I have tried Weight Watchers but think it misses the point. Our relationships with food are down to more than points - we need to educate ourselves to think differently.
I tried slimming world but nobody at home would eat the weird combinations in the recipes.
By doing step 3 Cambridge I find that I now have a healthy breakfast, fruit, a shake, soup for lunch and fish or meat with vegetables or salad for dinner. We are eating salmon and tuna, chicken thighs, and pork and have discovered harissa paste, Ainsley Herriott couscous and belazu balsamic vinegar in the process. It is easy, I kid you not, and I now see that my portion sizes and love for fat and sugar were really bad for us all.
My Cambridge adviser is a lovely woman, and as I only pay for products I buy, not consultations, it is by far the cheapest "diet" I have found, and cost neutral compared to the weekly shop.
I would suggest giving it some thought - but start at 3 - make it attainable and realistic. Best wishes

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

scrummyyummy said on 28 June 2014

I do not agree with the bit about Slimming world! I have lost 8 stone with slimming world. They always have picture/boards up showing you what your plate must look like at every meal. I have been a target member for nearly 2 years now. Slimming world is not a diet it is a life style change that you can follow for life!

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

putiantoes said on 04 June 2014

Also have to disagree with the negative comments about Slimming World. It's not a fad diet at all. Its about changing habits and eating in a way that's possible for life. It gives a solid foundation and allows for building by encouraging being creative with food. Cooking meals from scratch is maybe one of the main attractions to it for me, and to see the weight come off consistently is excellent. It incorporates fitness into it also but there's no pressure, you decide when or even if you are ready. The motivation comes naturally with each loss or even the occasional gain.
Perhaps where people fall with this plan is by under eating. There's so much freedom but within a strict plan. Eating a pile of fruit and avoiding calories to try and speed ahead will only disappoint. You wont lose weight. This diet is the long haul, but the one that is consistent and doesn't make you absolutely miserable!

My advice to anyone is: w hen you've given up on cereal diets, protein diets, starvation diets etc etc give this go. Get over the quick fix ideas and think 'i can spend a year eating wonderfully and lose weight or i can be as i am in a years time, still overweight, unhappy and sick of horrible diets'.

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

johanh said on 02 June 2014

First of all, sorry for my English, I'm Dutch so occasionally there may be some weird phrases in it ...
We find out more and more that each person varies greatly from the next person,we are unique physically and mentally. So generally, what diets works for a person can be a disaster for the other one ...
I searched what best works for my DNA profile, and on the basis of these data, and found a dieet what works great for my kind of body. This in my opinion works the best, if only because you are aware is going on with your diet

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

cbt4me said on 20 May 2014

These diets are commonly known as fad diets offering "quick fixes", promising fast weight loss with little effort. The reality is that weight or fat loss takes time and is more a mental issue than many realise. Read the "No-Weigh" Programme, it take a three pronged approach to fat-loss for life.

it looks at the addictive side of food and how we can help ourselves overcome it.

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

Freaky frog said on 07 May 2014

Hi all, I'm new here, I would like to point out that not everyone is able to do exercise to loose weight.
I have put on weight because I've gone from a very active life to not being able to be active for any length of time due to health issues. I'm going to give the low carb diet a go and see if it helps.
If anyone has ideas for exercise that would help I'd love to give that a try as well. (Can't do cardio)

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

TraceyV said on 06 April 2014

Trying the 5.2 Fasting diet. The book is really impressive and a must to read. Very impressed with the health benefits. Fasting for 2 days a week gets easier to do. Lossed 4 lbs in 3 weeks and feeling excited to continue. Eat normally for 5 days a week but stick to healthy choices most of the time and have my normally treats like wine, basically eat what the family are having. Great!

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

kayleighhope said on 05 April 2014

I don't really think there is any secret to dieting. As far as I am concerned it is everything in moderation, eat your fruit and veg and exercise.
I have tried Slimming World, which worked for a little while but I found it didn't teach me what I feel I needed to learn- which was portion control.
Everybody is different, so some things will work better for others.
Personally I prefer to know what I am eating and how much- I have a very snobby tummy that doesn't react well to shakes etc...!
I lost 4 stone on Weight Watchers and feel that this is the best plan to follow. It is most definatley a lifestyle choice- I feel the online tools are great and when you can be an online member for £6.95 a month I can't see why you wouldn't follow it.
I have also found that Weight Watchers are more 'modern' than Slimming World. With their app which contains so many pro-points values of every day foods PLUS recipes and eating out guides this provided all the assistance you could possibly need in day to day life.
I think this article was really useful- however it just confirmed what I already knew. If you can lose 1-2lbs a week eating what you want rather than replacing a meal with a shake, it only seems sensible to eat rather than suffer!
Because at the end of the day, thats why we're all here- to lose weight and be healthy!

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

Nicholas Polo said on 25 March 2014

Sugar, not fat, is the enemy.

Obesity is now the norm and not the exception in many parts of the world. Recent study shows that by 2050 the obesity level in children in the UK will jump from one in four to an astonishing one in two! And most of it is down to the sugar hidden in almost everything we eat or drink. Fat does not make you fat. Sugar does. And that’s a fact.

For those who want to shed off some fat, the Atkins diet or some variation of it, which eliminates carbs and sugar, will help with some quick results. That, in parellel with H.I.I.T. (High Intensity Interval Training) will help get you there faster in as little as 10 days.

Once you drop you body fat percentage (BF%), you can concentrate on healthy eating and training for maintenance. Train first thing in the morning and use H.I.I.T. in boxing, body combat, resistance training, calisthenics, etc.

Eat protein with every meal to help muscle bulding. Shift all good low G.I. carbs like sweet potato, etc. to the morning and lunch (i.e. up to 4-6 hours from training) and good fatty food like salmon to dinner. Always use portion control. Remember, your stomack is smaller than you think!

Drink at least 8 cups of water every day and with meals to avoid eating more than you need. Nuts can be a great snack so have some by your desk at your office or at home or your bag.

Preparation, is half of the work!



Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

dannyLondon said on 27 January 2014

I haven't eaten any carbs now for a month. I have lost 24lb since January 1st. When I first started this diet it was to lose weight but the secondary benefits have meant I will stay on this diet for life.

1. I feel fantastic. I am full of energy and never feel tired throughout the day. Possibly due to the lack of insulin spikes from high GI foods.
2. I have arthritus in my shoulder that is very painful. This pain has now almost gone after 1 month! Apparently this is due to eating non inflammatory foods (back to the high G.I foods)
3. I have no water weight as I am not eating carbs so my stomach is more solid than it's ever been.
4. I am never hungry (I used to be hungry all the time). No sugar, no carbs, no spikes in insulin and crashes. I now force myself to eat to get the nutrients in me.

Do some research on high fat diets and you'll see over and over again that the medical world is changing their minds fast. I eat 65% fats and lose weight on a daily basis, I also eat as much as I want. I see the N.H.S keeps telling everyone that Wheat is so important in our diet. 20,000 years ago it would of poisoned us.

I am writing this to let you know, We do not need carbs.

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

karen04 said on 23 January 2014

I know of a number of people who have lost several stones using Sliming World. However, Slimming World didnt suit me and after 3 weeks i was heavier than when i started. My own personal choice is Weigh Watchers, but every one is different and not all diets will suit you

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

User137970 said on 22 January 2014

I would be interested in a review by the NHS Choices team of the Shape-up programme. It is available on the www.weightconcern.org.uk website. The programme was put together by Psychologists, Dieticians and Fitness experts. It uses CBT strategies to assist in making life long changes to behaviour towards both food and activity.

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

jak_ula said on 21 January 2014

I get the impression that this was written by somebody in a rush. Slimming World is not supposed to be something you 'leave', it is a healthy-eating plan which you can stick to for life as there is a huge amount of variety on the plan. There is some very misleading information in this report.

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

megs31 said on 08 November 2013

Best possible diet, calorie intake of 1400 per day, enjoy treats but dont go over 24g of fat, try gentle exercise until you build up to mpore intense such as walking then turn that into jogging, possibly join a gym or look out for special offers for classes such as bootcamps. detoxes such as body blitz's are good for quicker weigh loss, not starvation diets however include exercise and dietary support for a certain period of time hwich might steer you in the right direction. better than 5:2 diets or starving yourself. its easy to find fitness classes or detox diets in your area if you search for them or do it yourself by limiting calories and fat intake and doing exercise on a daily basis.

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

Overweightgoneslim said on 16 October 2013

Seriously, reviewing all these 'diets' is complete rubbish and the NHS knows it. Bottom line, you need to be 3,500 calories deficient to lose a single pound. You can achieve that anyway you want (run a marathon, cut down your calorie intake, live on bacon sandwiches, whatever). This summer I cut down my daily calorie intake to about 2/3 of what I needed to maintain my current weight and did some exercise (swimming, cycling) on top. Some days you fall off the wagon, some days you don't, but bottom line . . .
Anyway, cutting my consumption was hard (but there's just no way round it I'm afraid), instead of eating sometimes I had a cup of tea etc. However sticking to this side of the equation actually means that eventually your stomach shrinks and you both can't eat as much, nor do you want to eat as much. Exercising just accelerates the weight loss (obviously).
I have lost about 18 lbs (BMI from 25 to 18) need to lose a few more and then be careful not to have a relapse ('bounce') until my body has stabilised at the new weight. Hard work, willpower, discipline. No way round it, forget diets, tricks and quick fixes.

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

David Colquhoun said on 19 September 2013

The details of the diets are interesting, but the lack of detail about their efficacy is very disappointing. How many of them have been tested by RCTs? What's the evidence? As it stands, I find the review quite unhelpful.

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

Shukor said on 18 September 2013

Hi Steuart2305,

Please click on 'contact us' to get in touch with me to discuss what type of information you're looking for. I'd love to hear your suggestions.

Steven, Live Well

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

Steuart2305 said on 21 August 2013

Unfortunately this article is clearly aimed at women as I have never bought a diet book or looked at these diets. I understand most women seem to find in womens magazines. I have only heard about these diets from women and I can only assume the NHS are only interested in womens dieting issues (unless I wish to change my lifetime habits and start buying womens magazines. Little surprise Imen dont really bother with the NHS then.

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

brighton21 said on 12 April 2013

Dieting is unhealthy and most of the time does not work!!! I ended up in hospital repeatedly as a result of dieting because I suffered from tachycardia due to the rapid weight loss. The best thing to do is to be healthy and that means a balanced diet and exercise. If you go for a jog/run every other day and do home work outs eg. pilates, stretching and weights (if you have them) every day then you get fit and toned. Cycling is particularly good as it doesn't strain knees etc as much as running, is a good form of transport and is suitable for most age groups. If you need to lose a significant amount of weight then couple exercise with a cut down on fatty foods, portion control use and eat 3 balanced meals a day. Set diets like the atkins etc are not healthy and can do more long-term damage to your body than good. Why do you need to eat that much protein unless you are a body builder? Diets like that result in malnutrition. Sustainability is the key to weight loss- there is no point rushing and losing weight rapidly if you end up fatter in the long run. Losing weight in a healthy way is not easy but is worth it because not only does it last but it also better for your beauty- it makes your hair, skin and body look healthy and youthful, whereas when dieting you look pallid, you get loose skin and most importantly you lack energy and are grouchy.

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

Matthew Erskine said on 21 March 2013

I disagree with your negative comments about Slimming World. You say that you don't learn about calories, but that is only a means to an end, the end being having enough information to decide what to eat and drink and in what quantities, frequencies etc. I have all of that information without needing numbers of calories. My meals are varied and I know exactly what I need to do to lose weight slowly and steadily and, crucially, what to do when I have reached my ideal weight. I have lost three and a half stones in six months, I have another stone to go, and I'm enjoying losing the weight and getting fitter and healthier.

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

Harvz said on 06 March 2013

Reduced sugar diet:
I have found reducing sugar and keeping carbs to a minimum to be a very effective and healthy weight loss option. In just three months, I have shed 13 Kilograms and now have no trouble maintaining what I eat.
What I have also found great about this method is that exercise has not been part of my weight loss at all.

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

aby385 said on 10 February 2013

i lost lot of weight by just walking for half an hour 5 time a week after dropping my kids of at school but now finding it hard to maintain my weight as my kids go to secondary school and travel on their own and i hate walking alone

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

Skyrim said on 26 January 2013

Well I've tried Rosemary Conley and found it far too strict. I was always hungry. Then I tried Slimming World because everyone raved about and I put weight on. So in the end I joined Weight Watchers. Brilliant!! It's wonderful and it's so easy I don't know why I didn't try it before. Their pro points system is just the best. I never feel hungry. I'm so motivated now and I'm losing weight. Plus it's easy to maintain your weight once you've lost. Best diet ever.

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

Gina Giraffe said on 10 January 2013

Very impressed by these reviews of the various diets.

Can I put in a good word for Weightwatchers? They helped me lose almost 2 stone in 7 months. I feel much better - and more importantly I've managed to maintain the weight loss for 8 months so far. They must have reeducated me! Although they count points rather than calories, they always encourage portion control and you soon learn which foods to avoid.
They also have a programme where you don't need to count, as long as you stick to the right foods.
I stopped going to meetings and paying my subscription when I was still 3 pounds short of my goal weight. I had the idea that if I hadn't quite got there I wouldn't, perhaps, become complacent.
The one downside is that since I stopped paying I have been bombarded with emails and text messages urging me to return. I expect they mean well and I might need to return in the future!

Hope writing this doesn't bring me bad luck!

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

katie1989 said on 09 January 2013

the best diet you can go on is calorie counting , eat plenty of fruit and veg and exercise as much as you can , I lost 5stone in under a year eating 1200 calories a day , I wouldn't waste my money on these diet plans and clubs .

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

Greedy girl said on 09 January 2013

After being morbidly obese for many years having tried Rosemary Conley, slimming world, weight watchers etc I tried Lighter life, what really worked for me was not the low fat, points etc, it was the small groups and exploring the reasons of why (not hunger) we over eat. The people who have re gained their weight did obviously not follow the management plan, once you have done that you can continue going to groups for life, the counselling side to Lighter Life is as important as the soups, shakes, bars, it's the head that hunger comes from not the stomach, myself and many members have kept their weight off for many years, I appreciate if you only have a small amount to lose then this is probably not for you, but if the only alternative is gastric banding then give this a go!

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

xxxxstephxxxx said on 27 September 2012

I joined Slimming World 3 years ago and in 6 months I lost 2.5 stones and got to my target of 9.5 stone. I love my food and so thoroughly enjoy doing the Slimming World plan.......I never go hungry and it has re educated me to choose low fat and low sugar foods. I cook healthy meals that the whole family enjoys and my husband has lost 3 stones without even realising he was doing the plan!! My children also eat everything that I eat so they are healthy too. Slimming World is not a faddy diet it is just healthy eating and I would recommend it to everyone! I have maintained my weight loss and I still go to my group every week as I enjoy the group and we have a good laugh! I think you need to go to a group though as this is where you learn recipes and share ideas..

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

GinnyGinny said on 03 September 2012

Thanks for summing up some of the most recent diets.
I have gone though lots of diets in my life but haven't managed to get and hold the weight I wanted to.
Then I started with the Dukan Diet (in March 2012) and lost about 4 1/2 stone with it. I'm still in phase 2 though I nearly reached my goal of about 9 1/2 stones.
As for me I need restrictions so this diet was/is perfect for me. The initial Phase just takes about a week and is managable. Phase 2 is for the actual weight loss and I'm loosing about 1-2 pounds a week. I'm not bored eating from the resticted list of food but sometimes I'm craving for a slice of bread or a biscuit (but never gave in). As my husband works abroad it is kind of easy for me to cook my own meals without carbs and low fat.
In Phase 3 the carbs are coming back slowly and you are trying to hold your weight for 10 days each kilogramm you lost (that would be about 280 days for me).
After that you should be used to a much more healthier way of living and eating (which after approximately one year it really should work out!) and you only need to do one protein day a week (which isn't too bad at all, really!).
There are some Dukan Diet products online available to help with your diet (like oat bran flakes, flavourings, oat bran biscuits, ...).
I don't like to go to meetings and support groups so this diet is the best option for me.

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

Healthsummaries said on 26 July 2012

Thank you for your valuable information regarding diets . I am using this and other information to provide quick summaries of diets at out health/diet section at http://soilandroots.com

Much appreciated.

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

AliceBlueGown said on 13 July 2012

I lost four stones with Slimming World, the first two on a postal membership (which is no longer offered) and the second two by going to meetings. I was lovely and slim when I went for bowel surgery last year, and my surgeon was certainly happy, as it made his job much easier. Since then, I have struggled to get my weight under control, and last January I gave up SW for several months as I was getting discouraged. I have just had a yearly check-up with the Colorectal nurse at the hospital (following a CT scan) and everything is OK. I asked whether the feelings of hunger I get were due to the surgery. She suggested that I cut caffeine and try to drink more water. I have only been doing this for a couple of days, but I'm definitely feeling better, and not so hungry. Basically, because the bowel is where water from food is absorbed, someone who has lost 2/3 of the large bowel, as I have, needs to drink more to make up for the lack of absorption. I have been puzzling about this for some time, and I am putting this comment on here in case it is helpful to someone else with the same problem. Even for someone who hasn't had surgery, thirst can masquerade as hunger, so it is important to remember to drink enough water. I believe I will now get on much better with losing weight!

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

raspberryjamandtoast1 said on 23 May 2012

I tried Slimming World for two years and it didn't work for me at all. I am vegetarian and this may be part of the reason, but I found myself craving bread (which is very restricted on the Slimming World diet). I also wanted things that are in fact healthy like nuts and avocado. In general, I don't think it's a very sustainable plan- maybe for a few people but judging buy the number of 'returners' there were at my group, I would say it's not that amazing. Even the leader had failed to maintain her weight loss and was on the verge of morbid obesity- not a very good advertisment.
It is worth bearing in mind that something like 98% of people regain the weight lost when dieting - plus more, usually.
I don't diet AT ALL now, and instead am learning intuitive eating - really learning to understand hunger and satiety and the reasons I have overeaten in the past.

This is a long term process and not a quick fix, but I have never felt so normal around food. I have been researching and reading about this for a long time and for me, and many others, it has been a godsend. I am losing weight now, but I don't know how much as I have thrown my scales away. They just cause upset and half the time small weight gains and losses are due to other factors (including inaccurate scales, water retention, dehydration etc ). I have used many books and websites on Intuitive Eating, and joined 'Beyond Chocolate'.

I eat a completely balanced diet now and yes, this does include chocolate and cake when I want it. And I never binge- this is entirely due to learning when to stop eating. No commercial diet plans can teach you this, although some of them claim to. Weight loss is not what you are aiming for- gaining control of overeating needs to be the goal. And there is no such thing a 'bad' food- unless you eat too much of it.

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

Mick G 62 said on 13 April 2012

I've lost over 6 stones with Slimming World and now have a lifestyle that I can maintain for the rest of my life. You may not count calories on Slimming world but you control them through being educated to chose the right foods and right balance of foods with every meal. You can not count calories for the rest of your life and the beuty of Slimming World is it's simplicity meaning you can maintain it for life.

Through attending the groups I have so much about what foods are good for me and what foods are not so good. The amount of ideas and recipes that you gain is staggering.

Having taken statins for 7 years I now no longer need them, saving me the monthly prescription charge and also benefitting the NHS financially. Some NHS trusts run the Slimming World on referall scheme which although a small intial cost can lead to huge savings for both the NHS and the individuals concerned.

Report this content as offensive or unsuitable

Follow us on Twitter

Join more than 150,000 who follow @NHSChoices for the latest and best health news and lifestyle advice

Your NHS Health Check

Millions of people have already had their free "midlife MOT". Find out why this health check-up is so important

What is a Mediterranean diet?

Find out what foods make up a typical Mediterranean diet and how it can benefit your health

Britain: 'the fat man of Europe'

The story of Britain's obesity crisis, including latest statistics, causes and health risks

Superfoods: the evidence

We examine the evidence behind the health claims of the most popular superfoods

Start losing weight

Begin your weight loss journey today with these practical tips, including how to handle snack time and how to fit in more physical activity

How to diet

Learn about fad diets, how they work and the risks involved, and get tips on losing weight the healthy way

Healthy eating

A healthy diet contains food from the five major food groups to give us the energy and nutrients we need

Strength and Flex

Download our Strength and flexibility podcast series and get a free personal trainer

Get running with Couch to 5K

Our C25K plan is designed to get just about anyone off the couch and running 5km in nine weeks